We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it”
Review of Marina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marina Motel
Ranked #114 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Clean rooms, nice staff, free parking, bus stops and restaurants within one or two blocks away. But as aready said the noise is the main enemy. The wi-fi spot is unstable and sometimes slow, so skype calls are almost impossible.

Room Tip: Do not choose a street view room if you're a lightsleeper. Those rooms are cheap but you will de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikhail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013

Read the reviews before booking and they were all correct. Marina Motel is a small motel, very quaint, near the Presidio and Marina. It was an excellent value-- we had a kitchen which made our stay very comfortable. Each unit gets a parking garage (ours was off-street) and the central courtyard is charming with beautiful flowering plants and murals. Our room faced Lombard Street and what the other reviews said is true: it can be loud on that side of the motel, with the traffic going well into the night. But we were prepared and had ear plugs. That would be the only negative we could find. The 30Stockton muni bus is one block away (on Chestnut) and on it you can get to Ghiradelli Square, close to Fisherman's Wharf, and Chinatown. It continues on to Market Street, so the entire city is easy to navigate for $2.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meredith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Delightful motel, like stepping off the city street into a Mediterranean courtyard. Rooms clean, comfortable, small well equiped kitchen and located well for exploring the city. Nice restaurants and shops located in nearby Chestnut st. We used the muni buses rather than drive (free parking in motel) which enabled us to see San Francisco and see all the facets, not just the tourist side of things. Strayed into Turk St when in union square - that walk best avoided! Cable cars great as are other easily accessible attractions such as the golden gate bridge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKrazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Very nice staff, perfectly nice, clean rooms. Room 13 had a lot of street noise from Lombard, which is busy pretty much day and night. Room 19 (only one bed) was far quieter. The plantings make you glad to be alive, they are so bountiful and beautiful. And it was fun chatting in the courtyard with guests from all over the world.

This place has real character. There are plenty of other motels nearby, and maybe they're cheaper (I paid $159/night, which I was told isn't excessive for that area). But I felt happy to have found something a little bit different.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
Thank DanRichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We took a trip to San Francisco in April and stayed at the Marina Motel after reading reviews on trip advisor. What a hidden gem, this place was quiet, clean and oh so charming. We got our own garage to park our rental FREE!! The rooms were great, clean and spacious enough for the four of us on a two night stay with a 10 and 5 year old. I wan t to mention the water pressure in the shower was awesome! Book it! you will not be disappointed :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weliveinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We chose to stay in Marina Motel, for one night, because of the good price/quality relation and the convenient location. We got a quiet room on lombard street, with his own garage. The room was a little bit small but had a kitchen an a nice bathroom. The Motel is located on Lombard street so we got very fast to the Golden Gate Bridge and the Fisherman's Wharf, also when we left San Francisco in the morning the location was perfect to get North to Point Reyes. I would definitely stay at this Motel when I come back to San Francisco.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yannick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We booked a last minute trip to San Francisco that happened to overlap with the San Francisco Marathon. Thus, we didn't have many choices for hotels. We ended up choosing the Marina Motel because it was significantly cheaper than other available hotels and it had free parking. I was pleasantly surprised.

The location is great. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. We were able to walk to the Golden Gate Bridge and Presidio from the hotel. Most of San Francisco's major sites are less than 2 miles away from the hotel. Since the hotel is relatively close to the Golden Gate Bridge, it's really easy to head north out of town to Muir Woods or Sonoma.

The room was clean and decently maintained for an older building. One thing to note, there are very few open power outlets in the room. We had only one in the room and one in the bathroom. We had to plan to make sure we were able to charge our phones, laptop, and camera.

As others have noted, you can hear traffic from the street. We stayed in a courtyard room close to the highway and still could hear the traffic. Plan to bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7HeatherS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Phoenix Hotel SF
#27 of 231 in San Francisco
1,073 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#120 of 231 in San Francisco
889 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#79 of 231 in San Francisco
722 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#141 of 231 in San Francisco
226 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#34 of 231 in San Francisco
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Motel

Address: 2576 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: £106 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel in San Francisco, California Founded by the son of a Calfornia Gold Rush miner, the Marina Motel was built to celebrate the opening of the Golden Gate Bridge in the late 1930's. Designed as one of San Francisco’s first “motor-hotels” for the dawning of the automobile age, each room in this quaint Mediterranean-style motel has a private garage beneath the rooms, (courtyard garages are subject to size restrictions so guest are directed by the front desk to choose a garage that best fits their vehicle). Our 36 guestrooms and three suites are uniquely decorated with warm, stylish touches to make you feel at home. Our quaint courtyard, surrounded by colorful cascading flowers and a cobblestone driveway, offers a relaxing place to chat with friends. Flower boxes overflowing with fragrant blossoms adorn the windows adding European cottage charm. San Francisco’s top attractions are located within walking distance or a short bus ride from the Marina Motel The Marina Motel is still family-owned and operated today by the original owner’s granddaughter. For the past 70 years the Marina Motel has provided a beautiful and friendly place to stay while visiting San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Marina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Motel San Francisco
Marina Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing