We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base to explore San Francisco from”
Review of Marina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Motel
Ranked #101 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A great base to explore San Francisco from”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I doubt I can add anything new to the other reviews. This is a great place to stay. Drive into the courtyard and you're in a different world. Your own private garage secures your car. A complete kitchen with all the basics. Bed and linens were clean and comfortable, good wifi connections, the Comcast TV service works very well. All the staff I dealt with were very helpful and positive. The motel is within walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf, Ghirardelli Square, the Cable Cars. This is a great city to public transit. By a 3 day Muni pass for $22 and ride everywhere. Parking is expensive and scarce another big benefit of staying at the Marina Motel. I think that staying here made my visit to SF a better experience. It is what it is.

Room Tip: We were in the courtyard away from Lombard Street. It is Hwy 111 and busy all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMember06162014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    246
    75
    41
    27
See reviews for
168
259
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno CA
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is our second stay at the Marina Motel. On our first visit we had one of the rooms facing Lombard Street. Much too noisy with one bed and a sofa bed - we would never choose these rooms again. This time we booked a double-double courtyard room and received room #22 which was located in the back corner of the courtyard near the dog run (we brought our dog along with us.) Perfect location!!

This room was excellent and very quiet. The main room had two double beds along with a flat-screen TV, dresser and small closet. The second room had a small full kitchen with seating for three, a stove, refrigerator, microwave, sink and dishes. Perfect for an extended stay. The bathroom was also fairly large. While I thought the beds were much too soft, hubby slept like a rock. Daughter thought they were a bit too soft also.

We thought this motel was a great value considering its location and free parking. It's easily accessible to the touristy areas of San Francisco while giving you a feeling that you're living among the locals. The immediate area seemed very safe so I didn't hesitate walking our dog on my own. I'd highly recommend the Marina Motel for a short stay in San Francisco. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_GO_BLUE_A2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have spent two nights here with friends. The room was spotlessly clean but we have found some weird staff in the drawers what we have thrown to the garbage straight away. Next door there was a party during the whole night wich did not disturb us, we joined them and drunk together.
If you want to have a blind rough surprise night I highly recommend the place
The Golden Gate bridge is just two hundred yards away.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked for 2 nights 3 months in advance and paid at that time for 1 night in full. When we arrived, just after 6p.m., we were told that there was not a room for us. A computer fault was blamed, but it was obvious that our room had been let to someone else. We were sent to another motel and promised a room there, but again there was a computer error, and NO ROOM. When we returned to the Marina Motel, the management could not provide us with a solution to the problem, and by this time we had spent more than 2 hours trying to get a room. Eventually, another guest offered us his room, as he could stay elsewhere in town. This was a poorer room than we had booked, but we were relieved to accept it. No air con. And shabby. Some welcome!!

Room Tip: Stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudithM385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We chose the room for a low price and free parking. We knew we had the cheapest room which ended up being on Lombard but wow was it loud. The room was nice and clean. No breakfast, but a great cheap unique place to stay. Next time I would have paid more for a room in the back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Devin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
991 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Was looking for a nice spot for my last 3 nights of our California road trip and I could not have picked a better spot. From the moment we drove into the grounds I knew it was going to be ideal. Grounds are very pretty and well kept and the whole exterior very inviting. Big bonus is the free parking that comes with the room. Motel is a large 2 floor rectangular affair with a small guest block in the middle. Check in was friendly and very informative. There was no breakfast.

We booked room 40 which was in the inner guest block and on the second floor. The room had 2 queen sized beds, a large TV consul with drawers below it. It also had a large flatscreen TV, a chair, bedside table between the beds, a good sized fridge, microwave and coffee maker. There was a cupboard for hanging clothes and it had an ironing board and iron as well as a fan. The room was "oldie worldie" and in keeping with the motel style.

The toilet/shower was a reasonable size and very clean.

There is a lot of street noise BUT remember you are located on Lombard Street - a major artery of the city. I always wear ear plugs so I was not that bothered - my wife doesn't and she finally ended up putting them in.

The motel did care about tha small things and were always being asked if things were fine. A real nice touch. The staff were very friendly too. Co-owner "Jack" gave us great information on the city, on eating locally and on how to get the bus into town. He even gave us his mobile number incase we got lost and needed help. That is what service is all about!! The motel is not cheap but overall I thought it was value for money - it was a great end to my road trip. It really was a great base for seeing the city - by bus/trolley car.

I would certainly go back.


Local tips - on the corner Chestnut and Divisio there is a mini market for food/beer/wine - it even does take away breakfast. Across the road from it is the terminus for the Number 30 bus that goes into town - and very close to Fishermans Wharf. Near the hotel you can also catch the number 28 bus to Golden Gate Bridge. On Chestnut, just behind the hotel and heading into town there are lots of restaurants and watering holes.

LAST TIP - buy a multi day bus pass - it gets free access to all you busses, trolley cars and really allows you to move around the city quickly and cheaply. The 3 day pass was $44/each - I thought that was high but let me tell you - we soon burned that up - and it turned out to be a great investment.

Room Tip: A room at the rear of the motel might be quieter that those on Lombard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honisoiquimalypense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathrow, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My daughter and I stayed here in July of this year on our mother-daughter trip to California. The hotel is nice and clean and offered great service. It was a bit warm on some days, since we were visiting in July. We kept the windows open and the breeze was nice. This hotel is an older hotel and it does not have air conditioning, but the vintage appeal was very nice. We liked being near wonderful restaurants and the bus line. Thank you for another great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#85 of 229 in San Francisco
585 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#37 of 229 in San Francisco
1,125 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#30 of 229 in San Francisco
1,556 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#140 of 229 in San Francisco
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Motel

Property: Marina Motel
Address: 2576 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel in San Francisco, California Founded by the son of a Calfornia Gold Rush miner, the Marina Motel was built to celebrate the opening of the Golden Gate Bridge in the late 1930's. Designed as one of San Francisco’s first “motor-hotels” for the dawning of the automobile age, each room in this quaint Mediterranean-style motel has a private garage beneath the rooms, (courtyard garages are subject to size restrictions so guest are directed by the front desk to choose a garage that best fits their vehicle). Our 36 guestrooms and three suites are uniquely decorated with warm, stylish touches to make you feel at home. Our quaint courtyard, surrounded by colorful cascading flowers and a cobblestone driveway, offers a relaxing place to chat with friends. Flower boxes overflowing with fragrant blossoms adorn the windows adding European cottage charm. San Francisco’s top attractions are located within walking distance or a short bus ride from the Marina Motel The Marina Motel is still family-owned and operated today by the original owner’s granddaughter. For the past 70 years the Marina Motel has provided a beautiful and friendly place to stay while visiting San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Marina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Motel San Francisco
Marina Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing