We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Charm”
Review of Marina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Motel
Ranked #101 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Corona, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location and Charm”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed in room 44 right on Lombard Street. The room was very clean and all of the appliances in the kitchen looked new. We had no problem parking our car in the garage right on Lombard. Easy in and out even with traffic. Location is convenient to everything. Bus stop right out front. One block over from the charming Chestnut St. with many choices for dining out, coffee, wine bar etc. We found the receptionist at the front desk very helpful and friendly. I will agree the noise on Lombard and even in the court yard (late arrivals) was much more than I expected (even after being prepared after reviews here) but we found running the fan (found in the closet) provided great white noise to block a lot of it out (just wish we thought of that our first night not our last).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARBERTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    246
    75
    41
    27
See reviews for
168
259
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had a very clean suite - a bedroom, kitchen (large) and bathroom. Interesting external decor. The location is ideal for staying in SF, with easy access to local transport - the no 30 bus gets you right into town and for senior people it costs .75 cents.

The only difficulty was that our suite was located on the main road (Lombard Street) and the noise took a bit of getting used to. Nevertheless, we had maid service every day and excellent value for money. We would come back and stay here, if we returned to SF.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room, not one facing onto Lombard Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane_turner53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The furnishings were gorgeous it felt very plush and expensive. The touches of painted flowers were beautiful you would think you were in the Mediterranean. Very helpful staff and great location. Would totally recommend

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chellesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orchard, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. We were just looking for a place in the city that didn't cost a fortune, since we weren't going to be in the room very much. So happy to have found this place. We loved having our own garage. We have a fairly large SUV, but with a little maneuvering, we had no problem getting in and out. Very close to the bus stops that go all over town. We booked one of the rooms right on Lombard St, so we were a little worried about the noise. Had no trouble sleeping whatsoever, as the street quieted down after 11p or so. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Both the gardener and the maintenance man would direct us to the best places to park once we drove into the courtyard( full of beautiful flowers). The motel was extremely clean and I really liked the decorative furniture. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Even if you stay in one of the rooms right on Lombard St., you don't have to park in those garag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coopb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Make sure you book the courtyard, the streetside rooms are super noisy.

Love this flowery mediterranian style motel, clean room with a fully stocked coffee maker.

Free parking lot is the best deal in SF since parking is really a hassle business here. If you check out at 11am, you still can park here for additional couple of hours to stroll around town on foot.

Next to Fine Art Palace, awesome place, I can easily spend 3 hours here.

Cons: too far from the touristy famous fisherman wharf on foot.

But if you have 12hrs exploration plan, here is my recommendation:
Check out 11am,
Start from this motel to Fine art palace - Marina blv - fort mason, there is Safeway & Sbux accross fort mason so you can get your to go lunch/coffee then enjoy it outdoor in this area while enjoying the golden gate/ alcatraz/ greeny park. Better to fuel up yourself here, since everything is expensive in fishermans wharf.
Keep on rolling the coast line untill you reach pier 39, enjoy the street performers and the sea lions. And you will never know it is 8pm already ;)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DodyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Wa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here recently with my best friend and her two daughters and we loved the location in the Marina District. Right on Lombard with a million other hotels and motels, Marina Motel is located near the Presidio which if you love long scenic walks, works great. We rented a unit with a separate bedroom and a kitchen. We had friends meet us from San Jose and we hosted a tiny dinner party and were able to make meals all weekend, which is fantastic if you are travelling with people who have dietary restrictions or little kids. The unit was up to date, and extremely clean. The bed was super comfy and the kitchen was extremely well stocked. The only thing that was a detraction was the street noise. Considering the age of the building, this is to be expected. I purchased some ear plugs from the Walgreens around the corner, and slept like a baby so, problem solved. The desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful and I loved how clean the unit was. Final rave was for the parking. Each unit has it's own little garage so you are guaranteed a spot. Some of the garages can be a little narrow so just be warned. If you are able to secure a court facing room then the street noise is greatly lessened but I think those tend to be the more standard motel rooms (no kitchens) so be sure to call and ask. What a great find and I have already recommended this motel to friends.

Room Tip: The garden court rooms are quieter so if you are not sure what you're getting, be sure to call a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACDSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campinas, SP
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

In the midlle of motels at Lombard street we found this small and very traditional motel. Taking one of the internal rooms we could enjoy a very calm enviroment just off the busy Lombard street. Walking around we found a lot of good restaurants and shops, just blocks away. We just loved our new discovery.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the gardem are quiet and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sicilian45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#85 of 229 in San Francisco
585 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#37 of 229 in San Francisco
1,126 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#30 of 229 in San Francisco
1,556 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#140 of 229 in San Francisco
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Motel

Property: Marina Motel
Address: 2576 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel in San Francisco, California Founded by the son of a Calfornia Gold Rush miner, the Marina Motel was built to celebrate the opening of the Golden Gate Bridge in the late 1930's. Designed as one of San Francisco’s first “motor-hotels” for the dawning of the automobile age, each room in this quaint Mediterranean-style motel has a private garage beneath the rooms, (courtyard garages are subject to size restrictions so guest are directed by the front desk to choose a garage that best fits their vehicle). Our 36 guestrooms and three suites are uniquely decorated with warm, stylish touches to make you feel at home. Our quaint courtyard, surrounded by colorful cascading flowers and a cobblestone driveway, offers a relaxing place to chat with friends. Flower boxes overflowing with fragrant blossoms adorn the windows adding European cottage charm. San Francisco’s top attractions are located within walking distance or a short bus ride from the Marina Motel The Marina Motel is still family-owned and operated today by the original owner’s granddaughter. For the past 70 years the Marina Motel has provided a beautiful and friendly place to stay while visiting San Francisco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Marina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Motel San Francisco
Marina Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing