We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just average for me”

Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop
Ranked #1 of 146 Dessert in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Mission District
NYC
Level Contributor
395 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Just average for me”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have to say that I wasn't that impressed by Bi-Rite. My wait was not long at all, maybe 10 mins. I was with a few people so we all got different flavors and I tried most of what was offered that day. After living in Portland for a few months, and being spoiled by Salt & Straw Ice Cream, Bi-Rite didn't really do it for me. Yes, the ice cream had flavor, was creamy, and you can tell was made with good ingredients it just wasn't mindblowing.

Out of all the places I tried while visiting San Fran, I have to say that Humphry Slocombe takes the gold by FAR!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Va9nessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    140
    40
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hebron, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yummy cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

A little expensive but good. Stood in line for a while but the line moves quickly. If it's rainy or cold you might want to try a different day. While we waited we had a great view of the fog rolling in....but careful ....the temperature dropped about 20 degrees as it arrived!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marylynnduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“20 minutes line, but the best ice cream ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Try the roasted caramel !! its a long line but you cant go to san Francisco without tasting this ice cream!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinole
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BEST HOMEMADE ICE CREAM IN LIFE!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My family was visiting from New Mexico the week before last. The kids said after dinner they wanted ice cream. I said I am going to take you for the best homemade ice cream you have ever had. We packed up the car and headed to San Francisco, 45 minutes from where we live.

I kept telling the kids the line will be around the corner and we will have to wait 30 minutes to get our ice cream but it will be well worth it. They said do you drive 45 minutes for ice cream often and we said, ONLY for the Salted Carmel ICE CREAM at Bi-Rite have we ever done this.

We got there, the line was very long, around the corner and up Delores street it went. I dropped everyone off and drove around for 15 minutes til I found parking. The line was moving pretty quickly. It was a Sunday nite around 9pm and it was packed. They weather was perfect, especially for eating ice cream.

We were a party of 6 of which 2 of us have eaten consistently at Bi-Rite and the other four are newbies. We asked the others to just try the salted caramel ice cream and then they could choose whatever they wanted. Everyone tried the Salted Caramel and everyone ORDERED the Salted Caramel ice cream to eat. We even bought an extra quart to bring home. They have freezer bags they pack the ice cream in and it lasts all the way home, that's a 45 minute ride!!!

I highly recommend this creamery to anyone visiting the city or who lives there and for whatever reason hasn't tried it yet. All the ice creams are hand made and amazing, however my heart goes to the Salted Caramel, UNBELIEVABLY YUMMY!!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaime t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The most amazing ice cream!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Visited Bi-Rite for the first time, and I can't believe it took me so long to get there! They have a wonderful selection of ice cream flavors and baked treats. I ordered a custom sundae - one scoop salted caramel ice cream, one scoop of roasted banana (could eat this every day for the rest of my life), hot fudge, whipped cream and their house-made almond toffee. It was beyond decadent. Also sampled their balsamic strawberry soft serve and their chocolate soft serve - amazing! Visit their website to see all of the incredible options available. They do things the right way, using the freshest ingredients and making everything from scratch.

It is a MUST VISIT destination in the Mission. Don't worry about the really long, strangely segmented, wrap around the corner line - it moves fast, and it is totally worth it. Bonus - Mission Dolores park is across the street and is the perfect place to eat the most perfect ice cream.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CantFindMyBlueBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing