We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow”

Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop
Ranked #1 of 145 Dessert in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Mission District
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

What is there to say about this place other than, WOW! Best pastries I have ever had and its right in the heart of historic San Fransisco. Nothing more to say other than you HAVE to try this place if you are in town!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    140
    41
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boxford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best ice cream ever”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We had read about Bi-Rite, but the glowing reviews still could not communicate just how amazing the ice cream is. Without a doubt, the best ice cream we've ever had --- and we've had a lot. The Dainty Gentleman sundae is an amazing combination of flavors -- unlike anything you have ever had. The salty caramel and the cinnamon with toffee were also off the charts. There is a line -- about a 20 minute wait for us at the time we went --- but well worth it. Not to be missed on a visit to San Francisco!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BoxfordTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best ice cream in San Francisco!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Bi-Rite is without a doubt the best ice cream place in San Francisco!!! It was even worth the 45 minute wait!!!!

I loved thier salted caramel and strawberry flavors!

I cant wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Legnano, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicioussssssssssssssss!!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I've tasted a lot of super ice-creams in Italy and I've always thought it would have been almost impossible find another place where to find something similar....but I was wrong.
Basil ,Ricanelas and Salted caramel ..no words..
The waiting is worth it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LukeBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy ice cream near Alamo Square”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had to try the ice cream - it's rated one of the top 20 in the U.S. We were not disappointed. From basil to burnt brown sugar, this ice cream delivered. We walked with our cones over to Alamo Square and looked at the painted ladies. The perfect way to spend an afternoon!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CMOMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Bi-Rite Creamery & Bakeshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing