We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No fancy ambience and location, but the food is fantastic!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bodega Bistro - Authentic Vietnamese Cuisine

Bodega Bistro - Authentic Vietnamese Cuisine
Ranked #1,624 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No fancy ambience and location, but the food is fantastic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

This restaurant has no fancy ambience and location, but the food is fantastic. The food is mostly Indo-Chine and French. For my meal, we ate mostly Indo-Chine cuisine. The dishes that I like most is the fried spicy crab, roasted pigeon, papaya salad and chicken noddle soup. My family had beef, and they said it is delicious too. ( I don't eat beef, so can't share my experience ). Next time, I'll go back and try the French bistro food, and will share with everyone again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dinernothappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Overall--Best Vietnamese Restaurant in San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

What an excellent meal we had in this medium-sized restaurant in the Tenderloin. Everything we ordered was excellent! I highly recommend it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marty_Darte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value and lovely, generous food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My partner and I went to this restaurant on our first night in SF. I was a bit put off by the neighbourhood at first but, what goes on there is not really a problem if you're just visiting. We never felt threatened at any point.
The staff at the restaurant was polite and attentive.
We started with nems served the traditional way (with salad, mint leaves, fish sauce, cucumber and spring onions). One plate was enough for the both of us.
The seafood Pad Thai I ordered was huge and it was full of delicious fresh seafood! I was nicely surprised as sometimes noodles can be used as an excuse to hide tiny frozen prawns. This one had big shrimps, nicely cooked squids, calamari and even scallops! All for a very reasonable price!
My partner had a spicy soup which he loved, though it was quite hot.
Service was prompt and friendly. We felt very welcome.
Would definitely recommend. You won't be disappointed!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yes it is authentic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Best pho ever. Great service. Love the menu. Don't worry about the neighborhood it's fine.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybugSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“the best Vietnamese restaurant that I found in the US”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

I love this restaurant so much, real Vietnamese taste, everything i just perfect.
I love the papaya salad with beef jerky.
I love the fried bird, crab noodle soup. everything !!!!!!!!
OMG, can;t wait for the next San Francisco trip to go eat in this restaurant

  • Visited November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrieMcphee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bodega Bistro - Authentic Vietnamese Cuisine also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Bodega Bistro - Authentic Vietnamese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing