We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food with a fantastic view along with gluten free options”
Review of Epic Steak

Epic Steak
Reserve with OpenTable
Epic Steak is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: SoMa
Cross street: Harrison and Folsom
Transit: If traveling by MUNI you may take the N-Judah, T-Third, or J-Church lines to the Folsom Station.
Anthem, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food with a fantastic view along with gluten free options”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We couldn't have been happier with the beautiful view and delicious meal. We had a reservation, and they seated us promptly. While they didn't have a separate menu, our server was able to tell me what items on the menu were gluten free or could be prepared gluten free The Julia Childs potatoes are to die for!
I will definitely eat here every time I visit San Francisco.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    248
    76
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wedding rehearsal dinner at it's best”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Starting with amazing bay views as the sun set and the Bay Bridge light show started up, one might forget that Epic has fantastic food! This was the venue for my son's wedding rehearsal dinner. With wedding party, family and close friends we had a fairly large party. The Staff at Epic did a great job at making everyone feel welcome and well service.

The food was fantastic, service equally as good. The staff was very attentive to our needs and everyone was relaxed and comfortable.

Thanks Epic, you truly are!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“San Francisco must”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing views of the bay with an upstairs bar for happy hour and an amazing dining experience downstairs. Started with salad with blackberries and candied pecans to die for... Then oysters and steaks with grilled broccolini ... Great service... We brought our own wine which they corked... An absolute must if you're looking for a fine dining experience

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great view, decent food”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I had prime rib, perfectly done. A great bottle of Argentinian Malbec complemented the meal. We were too full to sample dessert. Serve was impeccable, as was the location/view. A bit expensive, but given it's San Francisco and this steakhouse is located in a prime spot, very justifiable.

My only issue was a mandatory 4% charge on the bill for "mandated employer" contributions to employees. Something about mandatory health insurance coverage mandated by the City of San Francisco. I sort of call bullstuff on this one; clearly folks are doing well on $200 meals, both restaurant owner and employees. Where I come from, we build our costs into our prices, not stick our clients with a bullstuff mandatory surcharge.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glasdriver2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
115 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Tonight was dinner with my daughter and her fiancée. They drove us to the Epic Roasthouse in San Francisco. What a beautiful view of the water and bridge! I hear it is wonderful at night as the bridge lights come on. Could be very romantic! I had the softshell crab & split their salt baked potato with my husband. The crab was coated in a light tempura batter, excellent! Everyone else had a filet, moist tender & cooked to perfection. Wow, one of the best restaurants I have eaten at in a long time. Yum!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Epic Steak also viewed

 

Been to Epic Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing