We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Managaha is fantastic”
Review of Managaha Island

Managaha Island
Ranked #1 of 54 things to do in Saipan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Saipan, Mariana Islands
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Managaha is fantastic”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have been living on Saipan since 1990, and Managaha is still a favorite for my family. The snorkling is excellent, there are no mosquitos, or other pests, and on most days there is a comfortable trade wind. It is fun to take pictures of the sharks, but don't worry, they are only friendly black tips that don't bother anyone.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Valrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    228
    76
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
千葉県
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Fishes”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

The sea is very clean. I saw a lots of fishes. People can do a lots of marine sports. I did snorkeling. They provided snorkeling tour with guides. But it was enough to buy snorkeling glasses and see fishes in the shallows.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Harempercussion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinian, Mariana Islands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So touristy, but pretty”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

It was fun taking a boat out here and riding the banana boat. Snorkeling was so-so...I think too many people have been out there tromping around on the coral. The island is totally overrun with tourists by mid-morning, so get there early if you want to have the place to yourself for a bit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank mystiquemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best beach and sea”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The best beach and sea I ever seen. The best place for swimming and snorkeling. The sands and water are clean and pure in there. In addition, if you want to go to Managaha, you should prepare some food and equipment for diving or exchange clothes. Also prepare the protection in case of sunburn. The restaurants in Managaha were just so so. Take enough food for your adventure.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eeeeeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Real sand and sun”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This weekend was the first time in my 20 years around Saipan that I actually made to Managaha. I have usually poo/pooed it as was so touristy. Well, it is that, but it does have great water, sand and sun.
Unfortunately there have been a number of deaths over that past few months (stupid is as stupid does) and people are limited to swim within the bouys - however that is not were the fish are. To see the fish, you need to swim on the Northern side of the island (the island is very small - you can walk around it in 10 minutes).
It is a tourist island. The boats leave about 3:30 and we stayed until 6:30 (a charter boat). By 4:00 scarcely anyone was there!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Managaha Island also viewed

Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands
 
Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands
 

Been to Managaha Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing