We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something special in Saipan!”

The Shack-Saipan Beach Side Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Saipan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Shack Saipan provides a unique combination of meals that are truly healthy side by side our traditional home cooked meals by mom. We offer Specialty Crepes (savory and sweet), Daily Plate Specials, Salads, Quinoa Boxes, Smoothies, Breakfast Bowls, Cold Beverages, Espresso Drinks, Truly Healthy Desserts and much more!
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Something special in Saipan!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

When we read about The Shack we were very excited that someone had brought crepes to Saipan. We really could not imagine that the crepes could be as delicious as the reviews said they were. But the reviews were absolutely correct! They were delicious. And Glen's mothers carrot cake is delicious as mentioned in another review. The decor of the restaurant is charming as are Glen and Randy the crepe maker. As the restaurant is away from the downtown area and actually in a very tropical setting the mood in the restaurant is very calm and delightful. This is a must do for either breakfast, lunch or dinner! You will not regret your visit!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sealcoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShackSaipan, Owner at The Shack-Saipan Beach Side Cafe, responded to this review, 7 December 2014
So glad you were able to make it into The Shack on your visit! It was a pleasure having you in. Hope to see you back if you are ever on this side of the globe again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    11
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious crepes, amazing carrot cake”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Friendly atmosphere. Delicious crepes made with quality ingredients were the perfect start to our day. No visit is complete without a slice (or two) of the homemade carrot cake.

Helpful?
1 Thank stamfordtraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShackSaipan, Owner at The Shack-Saipan Beach Side Cafe, responded to this review, 7 December 2014
Ah, the Carrot Cake :) Thank you so much for the review! Hope to see you back in here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Tasty! Love the atmosphere too!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I had the Alaskan crepe and loved it! It was so nice to have something different on the island with nice fresh ingredients. The kids loved their crepes. I expected it to be busier on a Sunday morning, but we must have beat the after church crowd. We will definately be visiting again soon!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyingSuperMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saipan, Mariana Islands
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OMG Love it!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

I wasn't expecting the food would be so great because I was thinking like a fast food area, but apparently I was mistaken. I love their crepes and the combination of it because it could either be a dessert or a lunch. Great meal! I love the jungle crepe. The Shack also has a nice ambiance where you'll feel relax and at home. You should try out their dessert their awesome! :)

Helpful?
Thank erihde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garapan, Mariana Islands
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wow!! I mean like, WOW!!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

No other restaurant on Saipan has so exceeded my expectations as the Shack. No other restaurant I have been to on Saipan has demonstrated both in décor and cuisine such profound creativity. Usually when I speak of a restaurant on Saipan as being good, I mean that it is really good for Saipan - but if it were in a place for example like the San Francisco Bay Area it would be only passable. The Shack would be good if it was in San Francisco, New York or Paris. But frankly it is just a plain, simple "order at the counter" café with one of the most creative "order at the counter" menus along with most obliging and personable "order at the counter" service.

As soon as you walk inside you are heat with a warm and homey feeling in what one might describe as a place with a 60esque yet motherly atmosphere. I could easily imagine I had stepped back n time and place to the 70's to the old pre-earthquake Pacific Garden Mall in Santa Cruz, California.

The specialty of the house is crepes and they have all kinds; sweet and savory. For lunch I enjoyed a turkey, cheese and spinach crepe topped with just a little dollop of cranberry sauce - all for a mere $5.75. My beverage was an awesome pumpkin café latte - I topped it all off with the moistest carrot cake imaginable - made fresh daily by the proprietor's mother.

The Shack is located on the beach side of Beach Road just past the intersection where Joeten Motors is located. In fact it is right next door to the Oleai Beach Bar and Grill. They are open every day except Monday's from 7AM to 9PM.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Douglas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shack-Saipan Beach Side Cafe also viewed

Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands
Garapan, Saipan
 
Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands
 
Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands
Saipan, Northern Mariana Islands
 

Been to The Shack-Saipan Beach Side Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing