We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Saipan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saipan Ocean View Hotel
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Saipan
Reviewed 28 April 2013

While this is very much a 3-star hotel, it represents good value for Saipan. Many of the so-called five-star hotels have also seen better days, so the difference in prices for rooms do not represent a fair difference in terms of the quality of rooms, in my opinion.

The Ocean View is well located, in sight of the ocean, and adjacent to the popular DFS shopping plaza, which also houses the Hard Rock Cafe. Next to the hotel is a Chinese grocery store which stocks all the amenities the hotel may not, including bottled water, snacks, toothpaste etc.

The room itself was quite basic, but clean. It had an in-room safe, decent AC (I don’t like AC generally) fridge and old TV with basic channels. The front desk staff seem to be mostly from the Philippines, and are friendly and helpful when approached. They kept my luggage for me for at no charge when I ventured over to neighbouring Tinian island for a few days.

The hotel has a pool which seemed clean and reasonably maintained. The hotel also has on-site self-service laundry facilities. There is a restaurant open for breakfast and lunch, but I never used it.

The vast majority of their guests seem to be from Japan and China, many on group package tours.

There is an unadvertised dive operator on the third floor that seems to cater mostly to Japanese.

Bottom line for me: Fair price, convenient location, everything worked as it should, basic but clean room, and hot water for showers.

Tip: For breakfast, make the 15-20 minute walk to Cafe at the Park by the American Memorial Park. The best breakfast in Saipan. Tony Roma’s is also a popular dinner spot, but get there early to avoid the queue.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OrientHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

This hotel is located across Beach road in Garapan from the ocean. Despite the name your view of the ocean will depend on how high a floor your room is on and which way it faces. The staff is ok. The facilities themselves are tired and worn out. The beds in the room were just marginally better than a camp cot. There is no internet available there. If your room faces Beach road then you should expect to hear traffic all the time. The towels I recycle and use to wash my car are better than the tattered pieces of cloth that pass for a bath towel here. The price is low… so I guess you could make the argument that ‘you get what you pay for’, but even that argument does not hold up when compared to other places I’ve stayed… If you are hungry, take a pass on the restaurant and walk 3 min up the road and go to Round Two. Alternatively there is a MacDonald’s just across Beach Road and down a few hundred meters. Wild Bill’s is just down the street if you want Thai food. The best that can be said about this place is that it located in the middle of downtown Garapan; you can walk to a-lot of places; although there’s really no much to do there unless you are a fan of overpriced stores selling items you can buy for 30% less on Amazon.com

Room Tip: Stay someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichardCebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here in August 2011. We read reviews on trip advisor prior to booking a room and understood that this was an average hotel with a great location. After arriving, we quickly found out that the only thing good about it was the location. It is in the main Garapan district close to resorts, shopping, restaurants, and bars.

The hotel itself is very poor. Both the male and females bathrooms in the lobby were "out of service" the 3 days we were there and looked like it had been that way for a long time. The hallways were very dirty and they have no air conditioning so they smell like mildew. The room had a constant running toilet and a shower that leaked all over the floor. THe room smelled like smoke. The T.V. was very old and lots of static as if it was about to die. Therefore, you could never watch T.V. because the picture never came in clear. The lock to the balcony off of the room was similar to a paper clip and certainly not secure. The bed was very thin as you could feel each spring. Finally, the airport shuttle that is offered to and from the airport is not free. They will charge $20 each way so you are better off renting a car for $40 from the airport. To sum it all up, my wife and I ended up checking out a night early just to switch to another hotel in Saipan. For an additional $25-$35 a night you can get a nice, clean hotel right on the beach. This hotel is not worth the location that it is in.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ayasesensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The hotel is right across from the ocean. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made a point to call us by name. The rooms were a nice size and the water pressure was good. The location is within walking distance to all of downtown Garapan and I felt very comfortable walking alone in the evening even if my husband wasn't with me.
The only negative comments we have is about the beds and the hallways. The hallways were really warm because they're not air conditioned and they kept the windows closed. However, when I asked to open the windows, they immediately had housekeeping open all the hallway windows on our floor. The beds were a little hard but, I'm really picky about my bed. All in all, we'll definitely go back to the Saipan Ocean View Hotel if we're ever in Saipan. Oh, yeah. The pool is very clean and nice. If you have trouble getting wi-fi in your room, ask the front desk. They have two servers and ours was initially turned off.

Room Tip: 5th floor overlooks pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herandx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

great location, good wifi in the lobby. a little pricey for the quality of rooms. clean rooms, safe, a little rund own. great store located next door though for snacks and drinks. didnt try the pool. generally a good hotel as far as whats avail on saipan.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saipan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I visited Saipan in March 2010 with a friend who is really into WW2 history. We picked Saipan Ocean View Hotel during our 4 day stay on the island after we looked up online the hotel's location relative to the main shopping centers/nightlife of the island.

We were skeptical at first because of a few negative - and rather outdated - comments on here, but everything turned out fine. The hotel provided airport shuttle service in the price, and the ride from the airport to the hotel took only 10 minutes. The front desk staff were very friendly (we can talk to them about anything), and I believe the carpet in the hallways were just renewed. The rooms were very standard: 2 beds a small tv with the standard news channels, a balcony facing the swimming pool. The air conditioning wasn't as strong as I was normally used to, but I had no problems with being able to fall asleep. Also, there was free Wifi in the main lobby and the rooms too (much better connection at the lobby though).

Nothing too special about the rooms, but honestly who needs an expensive luxury room when you're only on the island for a few days and out sightseeing for most of the day? The hotel was situated in the center of the downtown/nightlife district. Five minutes-walking time- from hotel to: Mcdonald's, supermarkets, Duty Free and other souvenir shopping centers, and of course Garapan, the "red light district" of Saipan. However, the hotel didn't provide tours for sightseeing, but they did help us get a discount on a car rental nearby.

Well, to conclude, my stay at Saipan Ocean View Hotel was pretty awesome. Great value, but perhaps the best location for the price, especially if you are on a budget or just want to have a decent, convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suzuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

I took my NCLEX exam in Saipan, and the location of the Examination site is near OceanView hotel. I can say that this is a filipino hotel because most of the staffs are filipino, including those in the restaurant. Good Enough

Stayed: April 2006
1  Thank jon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saipan hotels
0.2 mi away
Century Hotel
Century Hotel
#7 of 35 in Saipan
95 reviews
0 mi away
Serenti Hotel Saipan
Serenti Hotel Saipan
#1 of 6 in Garapan
28 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kanoa Resort Saipan
Kanoa Resort Saipan
#5 of 35 in Saipan
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Summer Holiday Hotel
Summer Holiday Hotel
#20 of 35 in Saipan
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grandvrio Resort Saipan
0.2 mi away
Himawari Hotel
Himawari Hotel
#13 of 35 in Saipan
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saipan Ocean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saipan Ocean View Hotel

Address: Beach Road | Garapan, 96950, Mariana Islands
Region: Mariana Islands > Northern Mariana Islands > Saipan
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 35 Hotels in Saipan
Price Range: £71 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saipan Ocean View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Saipan Ocean View Hotel is a 6 stories 3 star Hotel with 90 rooms. Equipped with an elevator. Newly renovated, with it's restaurant on the second floor right across from the swimming pool. All rooms have air conditioning, bathroom, and refridgerator. Front desk is available 24 hours everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Saipan Ocean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing