We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent museum”

Whitehead Memorial Museum
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Del Rio
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Whitehead Memorial Museum was established in 1962 and remains the only full time, public museum in Val Verde County, Texas. The mission of the Whitehead Memorial Museum is to preserve historical and tangible artifacts that reflect the early history, cultures, and economics of Del Rio and Val Verde County.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Uvalde, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“excellent museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Excellent museum depicting the history of Del Rio and Val Verde County. The county has a fascinating history and is a great place to explore.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank brushcountrydweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    4
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yesteryear memories”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

The Whitehead Museum has managed to pack the local history into one enjoyable, learning experience. This isn't your big city, well funded, fancy type of place, but for those who are open-minded, and curious to the struggles, and hardships of those before us, an afternoon here is worth it.
My daughter, father, and I enjoyed the self paced tour, and chatting with the friendly staff in the main office.
The exhibits have been well thought out, and transports one to a different time. History of the first known inhabitants, the railroad, and Laughlin AFB haven't been forgotten, either. Well worth the small admission fee, and dusty displays.
I heard rumors the museum was in jeopardy of closing. I'm hopeful the museum remains to preserve history for the future.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank janm175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A neat, quirky little park and museum.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

I enjoyed an early spring evening and authentic grilled steak pit dinner at the Whitehead Memorial. It's a neat, quirky museum and park in a residential neighborhood in Del Rio. Beautiful old trees, interesting cactus and local sculptures made for a unique and very comfortable setting for a large business cookout. The perimeter of the park is lined with outbuildings, exhibits and aging equipment. Kids and adults alike would enjoy a leisurely walk through this mostly peaceful spot. The only noise - and it's more amusing then annoying - is one very loud and determined parrot. His vocabulary is limited to one very high-pitched scream but he's just demanding your attention. Stop by his cage and he'll quiet down and perform endlessly. Be sure to visit the building housing a locally donated Nativity Scene. I've never seen anything like it. Beyond impressive, it's moving. Remember to bring your camera! There is also an excellent, albeit small, exhibit remembering the important role the Laughlin airbase has played in the history of Del Rio.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JMCurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wow... so much too see!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

The Museum complex is really jam packed with building after building, its very eclectic. The building include fabrications of country store, post office, blacksmith, doctor's office, jail, nativity scene, museum, etc
Plus you can have a wedding and reception in the center area. It was very interesting and fun; however very old and looks unkept in several areas. I wish someone could keep up the buildings and displays.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MOETX12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I wouldn't call it a museum, I call it a joke.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

The review before me says it all. This place is a dump but most of all it is a safety Hazard. I went upstairs of the store to see an exhibit and there was wasp inside there attacking us. The stairs itself feels like it is going to break because the wood is so old.

The grounds was poorly maintained and there was just piles of leaves every where. The San Felipe canal is dried up and dirty. Supposedly people have weddings here, but who wants to marry in a dump like that.

All the exhibits were a joke. All they had was a bunch of dirty mannequins and ugly hand made models and scenery to depict a story. The Nativity scene was a joke too! I was told that it was donated and since there was so much they had to build a room for it. I think they were blessed to get that donation because they need more attractions.

Don't expect a guided tour. You will get a map and a brief explanation to where you will be going. They told me I would spend 2 &1/2 hours in there. I spent 45 minutes because I had a family to slow me down.

Helpful?
4 Thank Honestreview619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitehead Memorial Museum also viewed

 

Been to Whitehead Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing