We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and the bad....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whispering Palms Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Del Rio
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The good and the bad....”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed here last Monday, February 20th. The GOOD was that it was clean, quiet, and cheap. Nice thick towels,good flat screen TV, nice lavoratory and shower. The bad was that my internet connection was terrible. I was only able to get on the internet twice for about 5 minutes each time. Also, the beds were what one would expect from a $50 a night hotel, hard matteresses, and there was no in-room coffepot. No doubt there are better hotels in Del Rio, but not for the $50 price I paid forthis place. I would stay again if it were not for the poor internet connection.

Room Tip: Just make sure you have a good internet connection before settling in for the night, if that is what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wkfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wpidelrio, Manager at Whispering Palms Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Hi there!, first off I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review for our Hotel. We appreciate you staying at our Hotel and we would like to apologize for the slow internet connection which you are talking about. Our system was not working properly due to the change in internet connections we had recently made.I truly hope the rest of your stay was great and once again thank you for the feedback, it helps us greatly and your review was truly helpful. We hope to see you again :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    60
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
67
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We have a very large, corner room with beautiful furnishings. It is an excellent value with a fridge, microwave, and continental breakfast room. We're staying 10 days!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolynlummis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wpidelrio, Manager at Whispering Palms Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you! We appreciate your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansdale, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We are from Iowa and made the long trip down to Del Rio to the motel we booked over the phone with very polite people. We arrived and was greeting by the owners and very welcoming,

We spent 6 days there and the owners, staff we very pleasant and willing to help and give you anything. The owner even offered the use of his grill and spices so we could cook out instead of eating out all the time..We make the trip again we wont even think about staying somewere else......

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wpidelrio, Manager at Whispering Palms Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you! We appreciate your review!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I decided to stay at the Whispering Palms Inn based on it currently (Nov 2011) being the #1 rated TripAdvisor hotel in Del Rio. After having stayed there I would agree that it is a very nice (completely gutted and remodeled from the inside / out) hotel and is for sure the best value in Del Rio.

We only paid $45 plus tax for a two bed hotel room that was nicely finished and had new everything. The flooring was great, the beds were immaculate and well appointed. Nice flat screen TV with ample channels, granite counter tops in the dressing area and a great (and large) tiled shower. The tile that was used in the room was definitely upgraded from a normal hotel room tile.

I really liked the fact that the motel basically made it's own private parking courtyard. The entry to the courtyard is not gated but the fact that the motel is in the shape of a horseshoe with parking in the middle of it and a relatively narrow entrance next to the front office does make me feel better about parking my motorcycle in a somewhat secure environment when being 3 miles from the Mexico border. There were also lots of security cameras all around.

The staff was also exceptional and friendly.

The next time I have to stay in Del Rio, I will certainly stay at the Whispering Palms Inn.

Happy Trails.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OdisWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wpidelrio, Manager at Whispering Palms Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you! We appreciate your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed one night Oct. 31, 2011 and were mildly disappointed after the great reviews here. We had booked 2 double beds but had to change rooms because the a/c and refrigerator did not seem to be working well. The 2 bed room was small, with both beds pushed against a wall and about 24 inches in between. We switched to a king room, which was just as small, but it had walking space around each side of the bed. However, there was a very large lounge chair in the room and not really a place to put it without blocking the passage to the bathroom. We ended up putting it at the foot of the bed and making a very narrow pass-through to the bathroom area.

Room was clean, and wi-fi worked well, and there were free long distance phone calls! So we called home. Husband was impressed with the quality of the remodel and the fact that everything was new.

Didn't get to stay for breakfast, as it started after we usually depart. I had thought we would get a piece of fruit before we left in the morning, but the lobby was locked up tight with a note on the door to call a telephone number after hours. I wasn't going to wake somebody up for a banana.

I think we caught a special deal at $49 a night, and I see the rooms are now going for $68 and up. This place was great at $49, wouldn't be so special at a higher price point.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jujuju2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wpidelrio, Manager at Whispering Palms Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you! We appreciate your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Stayed there about two weeks, while moving into Del Rio. Extremely friendly staff. Rooms are new and very clean. They were able to accomodate our dogs, and treated us GREAT!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boydree74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wpidelrio, Manager at Whispering Palms Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you! We appreciate your review!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Modern, clean motel, next to a great steakhouse. Rooms very good, spacious, modern, flatscreen tv with hbo and a fridge.

Unbeatable for the price for an overnight stay while passing through.

Breakfast better than most and the owner is very helpful - free coke and even English tea bags. Be even better when the pool is finished.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mills-tours002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wpidelrio, Manager at Whispering Palms Inn, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you! We appreciate your review!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Rio
0.3 mi away
Best Western Inn Of Del Rio
0.7 mi away
Ramada Del Rio
Ramada Del Rio
#4 of 11 in Del Rio
528 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Del Rio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Del Rio
La Quinta Inn Del Rio
#7 of 11 in Del Rio
149 reviews
2.4 mi away
Studio 6 Del Rio
Studio 6 Del Rio
#8 of 11 in Del Rio
43 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel San Antonio
Hotel San Antonio
#1 of 3 in Ciudad Acuna
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Palms Inn

Property: Whispering Palms Inn
Address: 1300 Veterans Blvd, Del Rio, TX 78840-3622
Region: United States > Texas > Del Rio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Whispering Palms Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whispering Palms Inn is a brand new and remodeled Hotel in Del Rio, Texas with a modern sense of luxury. Whispering Palms Inn property has surveillance camera system which monitors all activity outside the rooms and street parking areas so you can rest assured your things are safe. Our hotel is conveniently located near the main strip of the city and you can also dine, treat yourself at our stylish beauty salon, and shop at a near by boutique right on our property. Front desk is also open 24 hrs for late night guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Whispering Palms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Palms Inn Del Rio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing