We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food poor waitstaff”
Review of Icon Bar and Grill - CLOSED

Icon Bar and Grill
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Welcome to our little place at the Lake! Whether you're an angler plying the waters of Amistad, a recreational guest of our hotel, or perhaps a "lake-local" resident from the surrounding area, or Del Rio.... Belinda and I are glad you came! We wanted to provide for you (and ourselves) a relaxed place to discover great food and enjoy the best view of any restaurant/bar within 100 miles. Belinda and I are committed to an ever changing fun and creative menu with unique weekly "off-menu" specials conceptualized by our kitchen staff as well as customer suggestions. We hope you enjoy your time at ICON Bar and Grill and look forward to meeting you there. - Byron Velvick and Belinda Juarez, Owners
Reviewed 14 February 2014

They REALLY need to hire more waitstaff. The food was excellent, but the waitstaff is horrible. They are totally lost, ignore patrons, slow, and not organized. Our food was great, but they could definetly use imrovement in hiring better or more waitstaff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank couple o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amistad L, Public Relations Manager at Icon Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

I'm very glad you were thrilled with your food during your visit and sorry to hear your service was less than thrilling. We are always striving to improve, and our goal is both excellent food AND excellent service for our guests--after all, we are here because of you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

What was once so so, is now a awesome place to eat. The new cook is GREAT with the food served, and the drinks are priced nicely. If they were to change anything, or let the cook leave, then I would think about the way things use to be, but as is now, it is a great place to have dinner and enjoy a well cooked meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank local p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amistad L, Public Relations Manager at Icon Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thanks for the terrific review! We think our cook is pretty great, too! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

We were excited to try something nice on a date. Very much a let down. Tho the chips and salsa were very good, that was all we ate and the service was crap. In the 1hr we sat there we saw our waiter once. Nice kid but clueless on the menu items, fish, and bar drinks. Some of the menu items weren't even offered anymore. We ordered shrimp pasta and ahi tuna. What should take 20 minutes tops took over 45 minutes. First time I've ever walked out of a restaurant...and won't be going back. Is zero stars an option?

1  Thank JustSam82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We were pleased when this place first opened. It isn't far from the lake and therefore it is near our house. The first couple of trips were fine but it gradually went down hill until we absolutely will not go there anymore. The food was really strange. The "catfish" was not catfish. Even the hamburgers were off flavor. What was on the menu was not necessarily what you got. When you would question them about it, they would either claim that it was correct even though the difference was obvious or they would simply state, "We were out of the xxxx so we serve this instead." It seemed that they were testing a new amateur cook at each visit. The last two times we were there, at least one thing on the plate was cold that should have been hot. Service has always been a problem here since they opened but it doesn't bother us any longer. We go elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Everything continues to be great here. From the great "blue" drinks to anything you pick on the menu. Give it a try for sure.

Thank rs08252014j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Icon Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing