We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was on OK, service was VERY lacking”
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
Ranked #29 of 81 Restaurants in Del Rio
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food was on OK, service was VERY lacking”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Applebees. You've probably been to one before so there isn't much different. This one is inside the mall but stays open later. We were asked if we wanted to sit at the bar or wait for a booth to be cleaned. we said booth and the host said, OK, I'll go check." 10 minutes later and he was still nowhere to be found. Another server came by and brought us to our seats. This place was packed, the food came out in an a timely manner and was of normal Applebees standards. However the service stunk. we saw our server a total of 3 times: When she took our order, when she brought our food, and when she brought our check. Empty glasses 5 minutes into our meal to the end. Obviously they don't care about customer service if they can maintain a packed house with these standards. The sad thing is I may eat here again if desperate or for drinks/apps.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rocky5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, GA
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not like the commercials”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Went in around 8 for dinner. The service was slow. The chicken tortilla soup was good there a two weeks ago, but this trip it was not good. The restaurant was all most empty and they sat us in the back by the kitchen, bathrooms, and serving station.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TWags52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Rio, Texas
1 review
“Awesome Place!”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

The management at this place is awesome! It has a very nice atmosphere even though it is connected to the mall. Love their oriental chicken salad! #trip advisor :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDoglovesHambone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Rio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Typical chain restaurant”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We ate here for a very late lunch today while shopping at the mall. My husband and I tried the salad and soup combo. Our server was nice and offered us the one-serving, with an option to change to the all-you-can-eat version if we decided we wanted more. We had the southwestern chicken salad (forgot the exact name). It was tasty. My husband had the tomato basil soup, and I had the chicken tortilla. Unfortunately, they were out of the French onion, which is what we really wanted. The soups were OK...nothing special, but fine. The salad portion was probably enough if you weren't very hungry, but I love a big salad, so I had seconds on the salad. This time, the shrimp spinach salad. It was very good, too. Our daughter had the fish and chips, and it was fine. Our server was very attentive and helpful. She gladly substituted steamed broccoli for coleslaw at my daughter's request. Overall, the service was good, and the food was fine. The restroom was relatively clean, which is a plus. Although this wouldn't necessarily be a destination restaurant for us, it was probably the best choice while shopping at the mall.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katmcw85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Good atmosphere, food is just average, service is good. Nothing special but consistently good. They frequently change their menu like all other Applebee's.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing