We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good”
Review of Skillet's

Skillet's
Ranked #19 of 81 Restaurants in Del Rio
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not Good”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Pork chops and eggs were over-cooked and service was terrible, our waitress didn't get our order right the second or third time and we had to wait for almost an hour.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Katelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Austin
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“homey style breakfast”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Really good food, reasonable prices, and gobs of combinations to get all kinds of stuff. I had my favorite of a couple of eggs, crispy potatos, sausage, a single (cathead-sized) biscuit, and gravy. It was truly divine. That biscuit was so light & airy! My husband enjoyed his perfect eggs over medium with bacon, toast, and a tasty waffle. Great coffee, friendly and attentive waitstaff. Nice change when you have had enough 'breakfast tacos' for the week.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eljay45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great buttermilk pancakes from scratch”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The ambiance is plain but there is good food, quick service and a waitress who gets it right the first time. Do you really need anything more?

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank pedalcrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Rio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food and Service”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Always consistently good, service is very good and friendly. You can always get a hot meal in this restaurant. Easy to get to with ample parking.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Greasy Spoon,”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

A recent trip to Del Rio, and I decided on Skillet's for breakfast. This used to be the Kettle, and from the looks of the interior, it seems like not much has changed in over 20+ years or so.

My silverware was dirty, which the waitress quickly replaced. My omelette was overcooked, dry, and tough. The shredded hashbrowns were a little greasy, but good. My pancakes were thin, and dry. Coffee was decent, and I was thankful for the caffeine. A small town greasy spoon establishment, yes, but a subpar one.

I spent less than an hour in Skillet's but it was enough time to notice a good cleaning wouldn't hurt the tables, or tableside condiment containers. No one was bussing tables long after customers had left, so if you're looking to travel back in time a few decades, just step into this Skillet's. It wasn't terrible, for a quick bite, service was friendly, but it wouldn't hurt to put a little effort into the overall experience for the customer.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janm175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Skillet's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing