We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Preservation of this Property is Amazing”

President Andrew Johnson Museum and Library
Ranked #5 of 26 things to do in Greeneville
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The official library of the 17th U.S. president.
Aledo, TX
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Preservation of this Property is Amazing”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The mansion and grounds are unbelievably preserved. Much of the interior is original, and the grounds are very well kept.

The amazing atmosphere and the way a person can feel the place come alive through the well done exhibits, is what sets this presidential home apart from other homes and museums. We especially benefited from the references to the slaves that worked there.

Well done!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank aledo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southport, NC
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great little museum with a great interpreteur”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We watched a 15 minute film witch gave me a much better view of his life. I did not know much about him and the impeachment proceeding had left me thinking his tenure was about scandals. Turns out he was man of principle and got trashed for it. The ranger was very helpful. Great <1 hour stop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank buckeyejoe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen County, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The President's Library”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is on campus of Tusculum College. GPs could not find it so I stopped and asked some students who had to then ask others. They told me it was small and it was. It was mostly exhibit panels, a few interesting artifacts including Lincoln's hand and face masks. President Johnson is sometimes called the worst president but he had a great deal to deal with - namely, he was trying to restore the Union after the Civil War. Good luck with that! And then there is the Library, not what you might think of when you think of Presidential Libraries. It is not of that caliber. It is a small room with his desk, some of his papers on it, and shelves filled with his books. That's it. You can probably go through it all in an hour.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank civil-warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, TN
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Historical value”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This is located in downtown Greeneville TN. It has great historical value concerning the 17th President's upbringing...doesn't take long to go thru and view..

Helpful?
Thank mdnMorristown_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mich
Level 6 Contributor
723 reviews
298 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“A smaller museum/ short term President”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

It was helpful to understand Andrew Johnson a bit more. Only took about an hour but since we go to most Presidential Libraries we wanted to see it. Low tech but informative. Again a nice way to see rural TN

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fastphilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed President Andrew Johnson Museum and Library also viewed

 

Been to President Andrew Johnson Museum and Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing