We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surfing the Web for a place to eat didn't let us down.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stan's Bar-B-Q

Stan's Bar-B-Q
Ranked #19 of 105 Restaurants in Greeneville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
145 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Surfing the Web for a place to eat didn't let us down.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Knowing nothing about Greeneville, we browsed the web for a decent place to eat. When you're between Johnson City and Knoxville, there's nothing besides fast food by the interstate, so you're going to have to drive a little of course. This place is about 20 minutes off I-81.

BBQ was good, not great. Was a little disappointed in the sauce, pretty bland with no spice whatsoever. Maybe they should offer a spicy version for people who want a little flavor?? What I would strongly recommend as one of your sides is the corn pudding, it's like getting desert early!

There is outdoor seating, however the view is of the parking lot and adjacent metal building, not very appealing. But still nice to enjoy on a good weather day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    39
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greeneville
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not so great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The BBQ is just meh - I've definite had better but it used to do in a pinch - before we encountered a very rude waitress who rolls her eyes when you ask for something ... Sorry ma'am but if you got my order right the first time you wouldn't be looking up inside your head so much ! I'm all set with this place .

Helpful?
Thank Teeter123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Will never eat here again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have always enjoyed stans, but the last time we bought a to go pack through the drive through we got home and found our buns had been chewed through on the bottom by what we beleive were mice. They had chewed through the plastic bag into the bun itself, I will never be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CamperCrawdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
100 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Experience Upon Returning to Stan's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stan's Bar-B-Q was formerly a favorite in Greeneville, Tennessee. However, for the past couple of years our travels to that area have been mostly on Sunday when Stan's was closed. We were in Greeneville recently on a Saturday and decided to visit again. We were definitely not disappointed with the food or the dining experience. Everyone in our party had the pulled pork which was tender and had just the right amount of sauce. There was only one type of sauce served on the table, but it was enjoyed by all in the group. The sweet potato chips were served with honey as a dipping sauce. We enjoyed the slaw and salad. The restaurant was well maintained and the service was quick and efficient. Please note this business is closed on Sunday. There is a large seating area outside for the warmer months. This was an overall good experience once again at Stan's.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tenntravelerofmtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Awesome food of the South!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Love the ribs and the pork with NC slaw sandwich. They have the best baked sweet potatoes and serve the best veggie burger in town. Outside seating available when the weather is nice. Varied menu and quiet enough to have a conversation with your meal.

Helpful?
Thank Bfnjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stan's Bar-B-Q also viewed

 
Greeneville, TN
 

Been to Stan's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing