We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The General Morgan Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Greeneville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Highly recommend this historical beauty. I lived in Greeneville a long time ago and returned for a funeral this past December 2013. I was so excited to finally stay here andThe General Morgan Inn is a real treat. Clean, comfortable rooms and excellent staff at all hours of the day. The main lobby is spectacular and was so beautifully decorated for the holidays. The little hallway in the back with local artwork and shops is so charming. Greeneville is also regenerating the downtown and we want to return with our kids for Tennesee's Civil War history trail. Great job!

Room Tip: I stayed on the 4th floor and there was a whooshing noise in the room all night, and I think it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ombaby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at The General Morgan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Thank you, Ombaby69! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I spend New years Eve there and had a very laid back good time. The Inn was so beautifully decorated from top to bottom. Our room was generous and very spotless. Two sweet ladies provided the entertainment in the lobby before dinner and afterwards. Our meals were wonderful. All in all the short trip over from Knoxville was well worth it. We will go back and play golf and hike in the spring and summer.

Room Tip: we stayed on third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at The General Morgan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Thank you, JOY P! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Ten of us traveled to Greeneville and spent the night at the Inn. It is so beautiful - greatly decorated - a lovely place to visit. The price is not too pricey and I highly recommend it. The Christmas decorations are worth a visit just to see them. Pictures by the fireplace in the lobby will be treasured.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the city street for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neighborhoodgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at The General Morgan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Thank you, Neighborhoodgroup! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We have visited General Morgan Inn twice in the past 4 years, and we enjoy its charm. The restaurant in house is nice, and the town is historic and quiet. It's on the historic hotel registry, and is the only one in our region. Overall, we have been pleased with them and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chamfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at The General Morgan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Thank you, Chamfam! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This hotel is a beautiful place with friendly staff. The bed/linens made me want to stay longer. My room was small compared to some, but perfect for me. Good bathroom, very clean. Great towels, The lovely high ceilings and period decor were a treat. Give it a try - I can't imagine you would be sorry.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccmgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at The General Morgan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Thank you, ccmgrad! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I just returned from 4 nights at the General Morgan Inn while attending the International Storytelling Festival in Jonesborough, TN. This is a GEM. It is a very well maintained, historic hotel with updated everything. The beds and bedding are very comfortable - a very important quality for me. Brumley's - the hotel restaurant - is also excellent. Staff is gracious and helpful. My friend and I made a reservation for next year during the festival. It's about a 20 mile drive to Jonesborough; we felt it was worth every mile.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lwkempka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at The General Morgan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Thank you, ccmgrad! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Greeneville doesn't have many hotels and there is a reason for that, the General Morgan. When you walk in the huge lobby it is like stepping back in time. Beautiful.The staff was so friendly and accommodating you would think I lived in town. I checked in around 7 pm and was very tired. The restaurant fixed me a delicious dinner of Peccata chicken to take to my room. When I got to my room I was surprised to find a cloth napkin and real silverware instead of plastic! That made the meal even better. I was in a spacious corner room across from the County courthouse. Yes they have wifi but the room was decorated as if from the past so I just put my computer away and relaxed as I would have 50 years ago. I plan on returning when I can spend a couple days visiting the historical sites.

Room Tip: There are elevators but I still had to go up 5 or 6 steps to reach my room once I got off the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelley511972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn C, Public Relations Manager at The General Morgan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Thank you, shelley511972! We're glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greeneville
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Greeneville
Hampton Inn Greeneville
#1 of 8 in Greeneville
339 reviews
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Greenville
Quality Inn Greenville
#4 of 8 in Greeneville
103 reviews
2.8 mi away
Andrew Johnson Inn
Andrew Johnson Inn
#6 of 8 in Greeneville
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites College Square
4 mi away
Knights Inn Greeneville
Knights Inn Greeneville
#5 of 8 in Greeneville
37 reviews
5.1 mi away
Nolichuckey Bluffs Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The General Morgan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The General Morgan Inn

Address: 111 N Main St, Greeneville, TN 37743-4919
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Greeneville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Greeneville
Price Range: £113 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The General Morgan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to rediscover the classic pleasures of travel at Greeneville’s Historic General Morgan Inn, the perfect place to spend the night – whether you’re traveling for an intense business meeting with clients, or leisurely touring the lush foothills of Northeast Tennessee. Independently owned and operated for nearly a century, the General Morgan Inn is once again a privately-owned, independent hotel catering to the needs of the guest. Our 51 beautiful guest rooms and suite are located in the heart of Greeneville’s Historic Business District. Don't forget to dine at our 4-star restaurant, Brumley's during your stay! Please visit our website to see more details about our restaurant hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The General Morgan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The General Morgan Hotel Greeneville
General Morgan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing