We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location for History”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Antietam
Ranked #2 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Location for History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

The location of the Inn at Antietam is perfect for history buffs visiting the park -- and it's close to other historical sites as well. Bob and Charles were delightful -- great stories, dry humor, really caring. Room was attractive and comfortable. Food was excellent. Advice was too. We stay at B&Bs whenever we can and this is among the best. Great value for the money in an area known to be expensive. Wish we could have stayed more than a couple of days. Trees were beautiful at this time of year and I loved the picturesque vistas wherever we drove.

Room Tip: Garden Room was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TypeWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    6
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
45
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gorleston-on-Sea, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

The inn was charming with lovely period rooms. The location was excellent for the Antietam battlefield site. There are numerous restaurants within a 5 to 10 minute drive. The delicious multi-course breakfast was wonderful and the hosts were lovely, as was their little dog Amy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oyster Bay, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed two nights in the penthouse, which was renovated with an eye towards detail. There was a small TV provided, no internet access, but the bed was extremely comfortable, and there was a separate sitting room with a view of the rear of the property. Charles and Robert were very friendly, had some good stories to share, and made a nice breakfast each morning. Don't expect a large hungry man meal, however we found the house and the owners to be charming, and fit in with the historic flavor of the area. The location is perfect for visiting the battle field, and Shepherdstown and Harpers Ferry are in close proximity.

Room Tip: We also looked at the Rose room, which is $40 cheaper and also has a separate sitting room, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drewman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn and found it to be very charming in it's decor. It's clean and serene in the setting. I liked the location for us to tour the battlefield, and also visit Shepherdstown and the bike trail. You get a nice breakfast - not a lot of food, but adequate. The one gentleman was very nice, but the other one was not very friendly. I have been to many bed and breakfast establishments, and I do feel this is a bit overpriced also.

Room Tip: We had the Rose Room - first floor, nice size and nicely styled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LMcDonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

This inn is charming and right next to the Antietam cemetery. Breakfast was delicious (my teenage son said it was the highlight of his trip) and the coffee kept coming! Bob and Charles are delightful -- with many entertainment stories to tell. You can be quiet and come and go as you please -- or spend time getting to know these delightful fellas! Amy the dog was so sweet -- and while others have noted the inn owners are "mature" -- they still have a twinkle in their eye and know how to make you feel at home with small touches like Andes mints at night and sodas in the solarium if you need them. We stayed in the Bluebird Suite -- perfect for hubby and I -- with a small, comfy suite and day bed for my teenage son. The inn is for sale as Bob and Charles plan to retire. This gem is very clean -- and while there was no TV in the rooms or even Internet access -- my husband and I found it to be part of the charm!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmcmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Wanted some place close to the Antietam Battlefield. This is next to the cemetery.
Price was $122 plus tax for a "suite". It was clean but not worth the price. There is no TV in room but a TV in tiny library. Guests are only allowed to watch it until 10:30 at which time the hosts go to bed. Therefore, we had to go to bed at 10:30. Also, no internet access. One host was talkative, the other very quiet. Both are very elderly and are ready to retire. Not a comfortable chair in the house. Breakfast was good and the coffee kept coming. There is no place else to stay or any place to eat in Sharpsburg. It is best to travel 10 minutes to Shepherdstown, WV for both.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gail g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Before we booked our trip, my significant other and i read the reviews.. As much as The Inn had several positives ones, we were concerned with the negative ones.

As we were checking out, I basically told my significant other that I have to read the bad ones again to figure out why they had such a horrible time. We had a wonderful time. Our room was clean, comfy and very peaceful.

After we checked in, we asked Charles about where we could go to grab a bite to eat and he recommended the Barvarian right across from the border in West Viriginia. After we drove around the town we chose to take him up on the recommendation and had a delightful time.

We came back and then sat on the swing on the front porch and just soaked in the peaceful atmosphere.

Breakfast the next morning was what we needed and it was great. Everything was very tasteful...it was a nice meal before we got on the road.

We headed over to Harpers Ferry as continued our mini getaway. Staying at the Inn was a great start.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chillaxin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharpsburg
3.6 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
4.4 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
9.3 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
11.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
11.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Antietam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Antietam

Property: The Inn at Antietam
Address: 220 East Main Street, PO Box 119, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Region: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Antietam. Located adjacent to the Antietam National Cemetery in Historic Sharpsburg, MD. New owners Miriam and Will Cunningham have rescued an old B&B and after extensive renovations are open again. We strive to provide you with the best experience as you tour Civil War country, cycle the C&O canal, or visit the area for arts, antiquing, and culture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Antietam Hotel Sharpsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing