We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Captain Benders Tavern
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Sharpsburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours
Hamburg, New York
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Picked this place as a potential lunch stop based on Tripadvisor rating before leaving on vacation. It did not disappoint. A little difficult to spot even with address in the GPS. Casual bar atmosphere. Service was good, food was excellent. I had a burger which was well cook, large and very tasty. My mom's fish and chips were also very good. Not many places to choose from in Sharpsburg, but after eating at Bender's I would be looking for anywhere else.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpyzek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    94
    30
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food with laid back atomsphere”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I first went here after going to the Memorial Illumination at Antietam. The food was really great and the service was fantastic. Since then we have been back several times in 7 months and have always left there satisfied with everyone. Everyone that we have taken there has enjoyed the food and service as well. We will definitely continue to go here and bring our friends and family!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BK_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Close to the Battlefield”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We found this place soon after leaving the Antietam Battlefield. Menu is very diverse and some of the things may not be what you are used to... Example - the chicken tenders are really chicken breasts covered in wing sauce and the mild BBQ is not mild. However, servers were quick and efficient and friendly. Portion sizes were large. The place got packed while we were there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Ordered quesadillas and onion rings for a quick lunch. The food was fantastic and the service had a personal touch that really made the experience memorable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conyers, Georgia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This place is about all there is......”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Biking through Sharpsburg on the C&O you don't have a lot of options but i stopped in with my brother-in-law for dinner to Captain Benders. Good food. Staff is....well....bar staff. But if you want a good plate of food and a place to rest you are in luck with this pub. Wide selection of beers and a little beer garden out back. Nice downtown scene and lots of tv's and dart boards.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Benders Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Captain Benders Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing