We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B and great location near Civil War sites!”
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 July 2011

1. During breakfast make sure Joanne tells the story of the house's history.
2. If you travel from Sharpsburg to Harpers Ferry, be sure to ask Joanne for her printed travel directions down Harpers Ferry Road - don't take the freeway! Harpers Ferry Road is much more scenic and enjoyable if your a history enthusiast!
3. Have dinner across the river in Shepherdstown WV. Quaint town to walk through.
4. Had a few videos to enjoy in room, nice antiques and Civil War books

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Clara Barton room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2011

We wanted to stay close to the Antietam battlefield and this B&B is very close. It was a nice place, but very expensive. In hindsight, I would have chosen a motel. We have not had much experience with B&B's and thought we would try one.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonTao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

we had never stayed in a BB and it was better than we could have ever hoped for. The room was clean and neat and plenty of civil war books and movies in the room. The breakfast was delicous and plenty of it. Joanne has changed my views on BBs for ever. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpcol86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Yes, my 10 year old son is now spoiled by the John Rohrback Inn and its hosts! He felt at home with the accomodations (including the hammock), loved the delicious breakfasts, the Civil War books and the Antietam dvd Joanne let him borrow. And of course he loved the cookies! We recommend this historic home to anyone who wants to relax in a clean and quiet getaway with hosts who are very accomodating and welcoming. We loved it!

Room Tip: Harper's Ferry Suite was great for a family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlewing65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We had not been to the Jacob Rohrbach inn in 5 years and were delighted to find that both the inn and the grounds are just as beautiful as we remembered them. The owners are very knowledgeable and welcoming - they supplied biking and hiking suggestions as well as videos and other resources about the Antietam battlefield and the surrounding countryside. Joanne is a wonderful cook and her breakfasts are some of the best ever. We would definitely stay here the next time we're in the area

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jstaubitz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

My teenage son and I were touring Antietam battlefield, and my wife booked us for the night at Rohrback Inn. We were in the "Harper's Ferry Room," I believe. It was clean, comfortable, and quiet. The antique desk held maps and pamphlets to local historical sites, and end tables were stacked with interesting books on local lore. The home-cooked breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious, with fresh fruit and just-baked goodies! Sat around a dining table chatting with amiable guests, who included several returning guests, and an Oscar-nominated actor doing some quiet traveling of his own! Obviously this is the go-to place in the area. An unexpectedly perfect stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian32978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Having previously visited from England as a couple in 2005, we returned with friends and were delighted to find that our enthusiasm for the venue was matched by their experience.
The friendly welcome and helpful (and humourous) advice about the locality were appreciated and we will definitely be back at the first opportunity.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Region: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range: £101 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eyewitness to history since 1804 this award winning Bed & Breakfast at Antietam Battlefield offers a luxurious accommodations that are brimming with historic charm and gracious hospitality. Guests enjoy our spacious landscaped grounds and gardens located in the center of an historic village, little changed since the Civil War. Five lovingly restored guest rooms are within walking distance of a restaurant, an ice cream parlor, a bakery, and of course the Antietam Battlefield. Just a short drive from the Inn are several wineries, a distillery, and a microbrewery, all of which offer a diverse tasting experience sure to please any palate. Shopping opportunities abound in the surrounding area, from antique and vintage stores to the Prime Outlet Mall, you will be sure to find something special. Within minutes of the Inn guests can visit four national parks; Antietam Battlefield, the C&O Canal, the Appalachian Trail, and Harpers Ferry, as well as South Mountain State Park. Bicycles are available for guests to explore the parks and scenic countryside. The Sharpsburg area includes many outstanding restaurants. From a casual meal to a fine dining experience, there is something here for everyone. Just across the river is Shepherdstown, West Virginia, home of Shepherd University, where you will find a great place to enjoy live music, festivals and other cultural events throughout the year. Within an hour’s drive, scenic country roads lead you to Gettysburg, Berkeley Springs, Skyline Drive and the Shenandoah National Park. Just 90 minutes from Baltimore, Annapolis and Washington DC, the Inn is the perfect destination for a weekend excursion or an extended vacation. Make the Jacob Rohrbach Inn your home away from home as you wander through the countryside and explore the Mid-Atlantic, knowing that at the end of the day you will be returning to a relaxed and welcoming retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing