We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Tradition I Intend To Keep”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“A Tradition I Intend To Keep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My girlfriend and I have stayed at the Inn twice now and we will continue to travel to the Inn for our anniversary. The hosts are wonderful, the room is very nice and the breakfast is wonderful. If you are in the Sharpsburg area I highly recommend staying at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinJovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    27
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
68
209
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Marvelous is the word! Paul and Joanne are delightful host/hostess. Very clean and quaint. Breakfast is off the chart for superb. Quiet and friendly and socializing was welcome from the other guests. Weather was perfect. Paul and Joanne's knowledge of the house and the area is helpful and useful. The town can use more leadership in enhancing and embellishing its history though. Two Churches we visited, the Church of the Brethren, and the Christ Reformed are a "must" to see and enjoy the architecture from yesteryear. The Antietam Battlefield & Museum & Gift Shop is worth an all day visit for sure. Also, the Dunker Church on the Battlefield is a humbling experience and a must see. Thank you again Paul and Joanne.

Room Tip: Any would be a pleasure to treat yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pataskala, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay. The rooms were comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and the owners were friendly. They gave us recommendations on what to do and see in the area. My husband is not a big B&B fan and even he raved about the accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Our stay was a wonderful time. Our hosts offered a great breakfast and helpful information about the town, battlefield , Harpers Ferry and restaurants in Shepardstown West Virginia .The history of the inn added to the experience I would go back again and my wife agrees. This is the best recommendation I could give.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeMartin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
153 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

"Unique" is an overused word but I cannot think of any other way to describe the Jacob Rohrbach Inn B&B. I have just spent three nights there in the Clara Barton Suite. Very comfortable and the whole building is in keeping with its early 1800s origins. That said there are all the modern facilities as well including free Wi-Fi.

The owners are a wonderful, very friendly and helpful husband and wife team, Paul & Joanne, and the breakfasts are absolutely amazing. Certainly no need for lunch!

Highly recommended. If you want a plastic motel this is not a B&B for you. However, if you do want something unique this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: My suite was great and I am sure all the other rooms would be equally good.
See more room tips
Green Features: Environmentally conscious - towels only replaced if required. That said enough towels provided to last yoy a long time.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alannevillenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My brother & I stayed at the Inn for a single night while biking the C&O Canal towpath. Joanne and Paul could not have been more gracious and kind to us. We stayed in the large Harpers Ferry room; it's a two-bed suite with a separate TV/ computer/ sitting area. The beds were firm and the linens crisp.
Breakfast was delicious, and served family style. This gave us the opportunity to talk with the other guests, which we enjoyed.
When you stay there, be sure to ask Joanne to tell the very interesting story of Jacob Rohrbach. She also has shadow boxes filled with items she found while putting in her delightful gardens.
My bike blew a tire while we were touring the battlefield. Joanne was very sympathetic, and volunteered to drive us over to the bike shop in Shepherdstown, WV. She and Paul were able to fit this into their busy days, the tire was fixed, and we got on our way without missing a step.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveBPittsburghPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News,VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here September 1-4, 2013. We stayed the first night in the Jackson Room - the wonderul spacious first floor room were you step UP into the bathroom - cool! Then for the remainder of our stay we were in the General's Quarters - a beautiful separate suite in the old summer kitchen. Both rooms/suite were beautifully decorated, immaculately clean, with all modern amenities - yet evoking the period of the Civil War. As we love history, this was perfect for us! Only minutes away from Antietam, Harper's Ferry, Frederick, etc. The grounds were also beautifully landscaped and maintained. The inn keepers were warm welcoming and VERY knowledgeable about the area, restaurants, etc. The breakfasts were fabulous - and the portions were not overwhelming. We even met the resident cat - Dusty- who was sweet and loved to be petted! We walked to Bender's Tavern each night for dinner and to Nutter's Ice Cream shop (each only a 5 minute walk)for ice cream which we enjoyed eating on the porch of the General's Quarters. We highly recommend Jacob Rohrbach Inn for serenity, outstanding customer service and wonderful accomodations. We hated to say good-bye!

Room Tip: The General's Quarters is separatem has a porch and is spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharpsburg
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
9.8 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Property: Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Region: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eyewitness to history since 1804 this award winning Bed & Breakfast at Antietam Battlefield offers a luxurious accommodations that are brimming with historic charm and gracious hospitality. Guests enjoy our spacious landscaped grounds and gardens located in the center of an historic village, little changed since the Civil War. Five lovingly restored guest rooms are within walking distance of a restaurant, an ice cream parlor, a bakery, and of course the Antietam Battlefield. Just a short drive from the Inn are several wineries, a distillery, and a microbrewery, all of which offer a diverse tasting experience sure to please any palate. Shopping opportunities abound in the surrounding area, from antique and vintage stores to the Prime Outlet Mall, you will be sure to find something special. Within minutes of the Inn guests can visit four national parks; Antietam Battlefield, the C&O Canal, the Appalachian Trail, and Harpers Ferry, as well as South Mountain State Park. Bicycles are available for guests to explore the parks and scenic countryside. The Sharpsburg area includes many outstanding restaurants. From a casual meal to a fine dining experience, there is something here for everyone. Just across the river is Shepherdstown, West Virginia, home of Shepherd University, where you will find a great place to enjoy live music, festivals and other cultural events throughout the year. Within an hour’s drive, scenic country roads lead you to Gettysburg, Berkeley Springs, Skyline Drive and the Shenandoah National Park. Just 90 minutes from Baltimore, Annapolis and Washington DC, the Inn is the perfect destination for a weekend excursion or an extended vacation. Make the Jacob Rohrbach Inn your home away from home as you wander through the countryside and explore the Mid-Atlantic, knowing that at the end of the day you will be returning to a relaxed and welcoming retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing