We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what the doctor ordered!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Towson, Maryland
2 reviews
“Just what the doctor ordered!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My sister accompanied me on a memory trip in honor of my 50th Wedding Anniversary, The Jacob Rohrbach Inn is in the area that my late husband and I often visited. The stay at the Inn was a perfect getway and the inkeepers, Joanne and Paul, helped to make it so. I so enjoyed the delicious breakfasts seated with a group of ten people in a family-like setting. We stayed in the General's Quarters, a charming comfortable cottage. I am already considering the chance to return again in the spring.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    27
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
66
203
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Our stay at the Jacob Rohrbach Inn exceeded our expectations. The proprietors, Joanne & Paul Breitenbach, were warm, welcoming and accommodating. The complimentary breakfast was a culinary feast. The accommodations were clean and comfortable - with a good mix of the original "civil war" era home along with today's modern conveniences. The setting was beautiful and the pace was relaxed. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the out-kitchen. It was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new hamster
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Three more words: don't miss it! For our 10th anniversary we chose the General's Quarters which was absolutely lovely in every way - private, quiet, spacious, elegant, historic - absolutely perfect for us. Before we traveled there, Joanne (a lovely person) had provided info on tours of the Antietam battlefield and we were very fortunate to have Bob Murphy as our guide. He is wicked nice and very knowledgeable about the battle of Antietam and the entire area.

The breakfasts Joanne makes are wonderful - they roast their own coffee there and it was delicious.

Joanne had also provided a list of nearby restaurants - before we left, we made reservations at Volt in nearby Frederick for our anniversary dinner. We were offered seats at the Chef's tasting table for a 21-course dinner - which was in fact 21 courses of big bites of just about everything on the menu. It was fabulous - if you can, make time to experience it - you can see the expert staff making all that you are going to eat, with the chef or sous chef directing everything. Also allow some time before dinner to see the shops on North Market St. in Frederick which include a fun place called RetroMetro that is very close to Volt. Before dinner, we had spent the day at the relatively new National Museum of Civil War Medicine that is only a few blocks away from Volt - it was a totally unexpected delight - see it if you can - it changes the widely held view that Civil War doctors were simply "butchers" and showcases all the other aspects of medical care - ambulances, hospitals, triage, nurses, hospital stewards, medicines of the day, illnesses of that period of history, embalming and funeral issues - every aspect of health and medical practices during the war. If you are interested in that kind of stuff, also see the Pry House on the Antietam battlefield that was used as a field hospital.

If you can, allow yourself a few days there to take a guided tour with Bob, go to Frederick, go to Volt, go to the NM of CWM, etc., but most of all, to spend a few days in the General's Quarters at JRI. It could not have been a nicer experience. There is also a sweet and friendly kitty who visited our private porch - a big plus if you are a cat lover.

Room Tip: If you can, choose the General's Quarters - but I got a tour of almost every other room and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aurolingus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Everything about our stay was fantastic. Joanne and Paul are so lovely. Not only did they prepare us for our bike ride to the battleground, but they were so hospitable to us even though we arrived early to check in. We got caught biking in a rain storm and when we came back they had towels and hot tea ready. The food was the best food I have had at a BandB. We loved it to much we are planning on sending my parents!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brwneyedgrl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

The inn is a beautifully restored historic home in the small community adjacent to the Antietam battlefield. The innkeeper, Joanne, is very gracious and very knowledgeable about the history of the area and the battle. Our room was clean, spacious and well- appointed, Joanne's breakfast was outstanding! The convenience to the battlefield is really a plus. Joanne also recommended that we slightly alter our trip itinerary and visit Harper's Ferry, WVA. A great suggestion, as it was well worth the visit and very close to Sharpsburg.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luna749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leechburg, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

My husband and I came down for an anniversary escape. Despite the rainy weather and government shutdown...we have a great time. The place is very clean and cozy. The breakfasts are amazing! Joanne and Paul provide a wealth of info about the house and the surrounding area. Great suggestions for dinner in nearby Shepardstown. We loved it and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTMT95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed two nights for our anniversary and it was wonderful! The Inn Keepers were gracious hosts, providing us with information on the area's amenities. We were particularly interested in biking around the area, and Joanne have us tips on where to go. Breakfast each morning was amazing with plenty of home-cooked food and discussion with the other guests; we all sat around the same table and enjoyed Joanne's history lessons on the inn and the Civil War. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharpsburg
3.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81
9.3 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Property: Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Region: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eyewitness to history since 1804 this award winning Bed & Breakfast at Antietam Battlefield offers a luxurious accommodations that are brimming with historic charm and gracious hospitality. Guests enjoy our spacious landscaped grounds and gardens located in the center of an historic village, little changed since the Civil War. Five lovingly restored guest rooms are within walking distance of a restaurant, an ice cream parlor, a bakery, and of course the Antietam Battlefield. Just a short drive from the Inn are several wineries, a distillery, and a microbrewery, all of which offer a diverse tasting experience sure to please any palate. Shopping opportunities abound in the surrounding area, from antique and vintage stores to the Prime Outlet Mall, you will be sure to find something special. Within minutes of the Inn guests can visit four national parks; Antietam Battlefield, the C&O Canal, the Appalachian Trail, and Harpers Ferry, as well as South Mountain State Park. Bicycles are available for guests to explore the parks and scenic countryside. The Sharpsburg area includes many outstanding restaurants. From a casual meal to a fine dining experience, there is something here for everyone. Just across the river is Shepherdstown, West Virginia, home of Shepherd University, where you will find a great place to enjoy live music, festivals and other cultural events throughout the year. Within an hour’s drive, scenic country roads lead you to Gettysburg, Berkeley Springs, Skyline Drive and the Shenandoah National Park. Just 90 minutes from Baltimore, Annapolis and Washington DC, the Inn is the perfect destination for a weekend excursion or an extended vacation. Make the Jacob Rohrbach Inn your home away from home as you wander through the countryside and explore the Mid-Atlantic, knowing that at the end of the day you will be returning to a relaxed and welcoming retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing