We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your Place To Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jacob Rohrbach Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sharpsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sharpsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kensington, Maryland
1 review
“Your Place To Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

We are big B&B fans ( (52 in the last ten years) and have experienced all kinds across the country. Jacob Rohrbach was a delightful discovery. The spacious Generals Quarters is filled with history and comfort. Joanne and Paul's hospitality is warm and helpful. The breakfast was scrumptious! The lengthy morning table talk with them and the other guests about the fascinating history of house and local environs was a highlight. You're a couple miles from the Antietam battlefield, quaint Shepherdstown and the wonderful Bavarian Inn, which we recommend for a memorable dining experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cowboybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    27
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
66
204
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

I took my boyfriend to see the Antietam Battlefields for his birthday. Both he & I highly value our privacy & had never stayed at a bed & breakfast before. Oh my word....we LOVED it! Joanne & Paul were so gracious & welcoming. We stayed in the Generals Quarters & loved every inch of it. The history was absolutely amazing & we found it full of lovely details. And the breakfast? I would give it more than 5 stars if possible. Joanne made sure we all had plenty to eat & there was a large selection of food as well as plenty of coffee & tea & juice. We can only hope to be able to visit the area again & we know where we'll be staying. If you book one of the fantasticly historical rooms here, you will not be sorry. This was a great experience for us!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emvannattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

Beautifully decorated to make you feel at home. Delicious breakfast and gracious hosts.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tigers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

The food, inn, and hospitality can't be beat. We will be back when in that area of the country.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank top313thband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addison, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

The owners always are helpful. Have good knowledge of the area and its history.
I particularly like the communal eating where most guests sit at one table. Most B&Bs sit their customers in separate tables which is not bad but the conversations are better between guests in this B&B. You get to know your fellow guests quicker and it is like a family dinner. It harkens back to the days before the advent of 'planes, trains, and automobiles'. The food is always good. We have stayed twice already and when we come back to this area, we will stay again at Joanne and Paul's.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dhk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

A warm welcome by our hosts, comfortable, tastefully decorated, very clean rooms, comfortable beds, plenty of heat and blankets to keep the November chill at bay, warm cookies, all the little details attended to, even fresh flowers in November in each room, excellent food and being from NYC we are particular. The hosts were friendly and helpful but not overbearing or in the way of our family time and privacy. We look forward to returning, we stayed at the Inn to be near relatives but not camped out and the Rohrbach Inn made our Thanksgiving a relaxing enjoyable interlude, teenagers, family and all!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babette17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

We stayed one night at the top end of our Skyline Drive trip, arriving via Harper's Ferry. Difficult to add to the many previous good reviews of this B&B; the hosts local knowledge, friendliness, the communal breakfast and the history of the rooms were all first class. We were lucky enough to have a military historian as one of the other guests, so we had particularly interesting tales at breakfast. It was only then that we learned of a previous guest's ghost sighting in the Clara Barton room where we were staying! We took up the offer of bike hire, which were well kitted out and in good order, with accessories and water provided. Lovely cycle along the C&O canal but through some poor navigation we missed the battlefield, ending up back in Sharpsburg at Nutter's Ice Cream shop just one street down from the Inn. Highly Recommended...but one scoop is enough as they are enormous. We then took the free self drive tour of Antietam battlefield which was excellently signed and well kept. In the evening, we ate at Captain Bender's Tavern nearby, good bar food, which is about the only eatery in Sharpsburg. There are several restaurants in nearby Shepherdstown , but we had had enough driving by then. Thank you to Joanne and Paul for a memorable stay (and for the recipe!).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twinkletoes16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sharpsburg
3.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
4.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
Hampton Inn Hagerstown
#1 of 21 in Hagerstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hagerstown - I-81
9.3 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Rohrbach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Rohrbach Inn

Property: Jacob Rohrbach Inn
Address: 138 West Main Street, Sharpsburg, MD 21782
Region: United States > Maryland > Sharpsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sharpsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eyewitness to history since 1804 this award winning Bed & Breakfast at Antietam Battlefield offers a luxurious accommodations that are brimming with historic charm and gracious hospitality. Guests enjoy our spacious landscaped grounds and gardens located in the center of an historic village, little changed since the Civil War. Five lovingly restored guest rooms are within walking distance of a restaurant, an ice cream parlor, a bakery, and of course the Antietam Battlefield. Just a short drive from the Inn are several wineries, a distillery, and a microbrewery, all of which offer a diverse tasting experience sure to please any palate. Shopping opportunities abound in the surrounding area, from antique and vintage stores to the Prime Outlet Mall, you will be sure to find something special. Within minutes of the Inn guests can visit four national parks; Antietam Battlefield, the C&O Canal, the Appalachian Trail, and Harpers Ferry, as well as South Mountain State Park. Bicycles are available for guests to explore the parks and scenic countryside. The Sharpsburg area includes many outstanding restaurants. From a casual meal to a fine dining experience, there is something here for everyone. Just across the river is Shepherdstown, West Virginia, home of Shepherd University, where you will find a great place to enjoy live music, festivals and other cultural events throughout the year. Within an hour’s drive, scenic country roads lead you to Gettysburg, Berkeley Springs, Skyline Drive and the Shenandoah National Park. Just 90 minutes from Baltimore, Annapolis and Washington DC, the Inn is the perfect destination for a weekend excursion or an extended vacation. Make the Jacob Rohrbach Inn your home away from home as you wander through the countryside and explore the Mid-Atlantic, knowing that at the end of the day you will be returning to a relaxed and welcoming retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing