We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Stir-fry with Chicken”

Maggie's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
259 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Try the Stir-fry with Chicken”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I loved it! I was ready for a normal stir-fry experience and was blown away. This dish is easy to overcook (slimy), undercook (raw), or dry (bad mix of sauce). This one was spot on. It comes on a bed of sweet and regular French fries. Wasn't sure how that would work, but it hit.

Wife enjoyed the Chicken Fajita, but not as much as my stir-fry.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    220
    87
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful service and food!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The place was crowded, good sign, the food must be good. We decided not to dine in and walk and eat to a nearby picnic area by the lake, since the weather was great. The restaurant is small, warm and humid inside. We were directed to the bar area to order our food. The receptionist did not even offer a menu, we read it from what's posted on the outside door. We waited outside for our food. They were okay with time, took 15 mins to prep it. Asked the guy if everything was in the bag, i mean condiments, and everything that was supposed to be included in a plain cheeseburger ( Maggie's Burger), he said yes. We got our food and walked to the nearby picnic area, and found out that our burgers were charred, dry, no mayo or ketchup, or pickle. The fries were dry, unsalted. Paid > $45 for 4 sandwiches, that are terrible and awful, left that charred/burned taste in your mouth. Luckily, my husband ordered salad that we were able to put in our burgers. We did not bother to walk back, it was not worth the effort. I do not know why people go this place. I could have made a better cheeseburger sandwich at my hotel kitchenette. Totally, bad experience! WILL NOT RECOMMEND this place at all!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 617cdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cute Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I wanted to go to Maggie's just because of all of the Flamingos! They have them everywhere, on the tables, walls, hanging upside down from the ceiling. It is a fun restaurant.

The food was just ok. Except for Maggie's secret sauce, that was really good! The waitress was fun and relaxed and we enjoyed visiting with her.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bleujean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Flamingo Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Maggie's is just what you would expect a small town restaurant to be. Fun place to be with a pleasant staff, and flamingo motif is always fun to see and wonder "Where did they get THAT?"

I've never had anything there that I would not order again. It's not fancy food, but good homemade dishes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ktb40352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Pere, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Food is very good. Staff friendly and attentive. Ate here on my last trip to Bayfield in February and decided to bring friends here for a weekend trip this summer. They enjoyed it very much. First heard about it through friends who have been in the area. Would go back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Janel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maggie's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing