We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good casual food--go early or get a reservation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maggie's Restaurant

Maggie's Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
145 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good casual food--go early or get a reservation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Maggies is a fun place, with good casual food. We had the chicken nachos while waiting at the bar, and they were very good and quite filling--plenty of cheese and chicken. For dinner we shared a 10 inch pizza which was plenty after the nachos. I ordered a bar drink and it was really STRONG. Careful there pardner. If you happen to have an irrational fear of flamingos you'll want to shy away--Maggie uses them in ALL her decorating.

We got here at around 5:30, and already there was a 30+ minute wait. By the time we were seated they were quoting times in the hour and a half range. It was good, but not that good. But I did hear that their pagers work all over town, so you can check in and then walk around the area until your number is called, And we also heard they take reservations.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SonofAslan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    219
    86
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We never expected that a small little place in the middle of nowhere would have the BEST fish ever! And the best margueritas, good service and good prices! Can't say brought about it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We had a terrible experience here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We showed up at Maggie's this past Sunday afternoon 2:30 pm. Two cars were in the parking lot. Upon walking in, we could see only half the tables were occupied and the outdoor eating area was also wide open. When we indicated we have 5 in our party (all adults) we were told there would be a 45 minute wait. I asked if we could eat in the outside area, we were told that was only for appetizers. Although we had 5 adults, they were not willing to split up our group to the open tables or booths. The young woman working the reception area seemed sarcastic and not that motivated to have our business. We left and went elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I really loved the food. Our family all enjoyed it. It was a long wait, but we had a buzzer that we could take shopping, so very nice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Illinois
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have been coming to Maggie's for 15 yrs. or so. It is not as good as it used to be. Our last visit was on July 27. We always order the whitefish livers, but we were told they had run out. We were there at 4:30pm! My whitefish was dry and my husband's pork was over cooked. We thought the cocktails were over priced at $10. We will never go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebann54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maggie's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing