We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
24
8
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
8
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast tray quiet neighborhood apostle islands downtown bayfield susan suite porch
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2015

We stayed here for two nights following Bayfield's big Applefest. Considering our hosts must have been tired after such a weekend invasion, they were wonderfully welcoming and accommodating. They were also non-intrusive and left us to come and go as we pleased. Our suite was delightful and comfortable. Breakfast was left on a tray outside our door by 7:30 each morning and it was delicious.

Bayfield is an interesting, artsy town on the Lake Superior shore. The guest house is just a block or two away from the shops and shoreline, albeit up a hill. Walking is completely doable if you are of average physical health.

The only drawback is minor (to me), but was major to my husband, a Green Bay Packer fan. The guest house, and apparently much of Bayfield, subscribes to Minnesota-based cable TV. It didn't have much to offer, especially the Packer football game. Instead we and hundreds of others packed into the Creamery, a downtown tavern that apparently was the only venue carrying the game.

All in all, a beautiful place to stay. Hope to come back again!

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank adunate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

My friend and I needed to do some "catching up" and Bayfield was the place to do that and more (shop, drink wine, shop, eat, drink wine). We wanted a B&B for the comfort and the home away from home atmosphere. The great big wrap around porch is so welcoming as you drive up and park in the free off-street parking lot. With only 2 rooms for rent, the house is always quiet and calming. The owners are very attentive and delivered a tasty breakfast on a tray each of the 2 mornings we were there (Sept. 18,19). Fresh fruit, yogurt, sliced pumpkin bread, apple streudel, plus lots of hot coffee. It was a great way to start the day. Plenty of space in our room too! Even the bathroom was big! It met all our expectations and we will probably be back next fall for another round of "catching up". Treat yourself to a stay at the Grey Oak Guest House. You'll be glad you did.

Room tip: There are only 2 suites and both are excellent
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015

This B&B is located in a nice neighborhood, seven blocks from the lake. There is free off street parking and you can walk to town, but the walk back is all uphill. The rooms are located on the second floor of the home. There are steep steps to the room. Susan was quite warm on arrival and provided us with great restaurant recommendations, directions to the Brownstone hiking trail that goes between Bayfield and Port Superior Marina, and suggestions and a map of the Apple Orchards. However, she left to be out of town for the rest of the weekend.

We stayed in the larger of the rooms, Swede Hill Suite Our room had a wood burning fireplace. The fireplace is next to the bed, not so convenient if you want to sit and watch the fire.

The breakfast consists of baked sweet bread, a coffee cake and sliced fruit delivered on a tray out in the hallway. Not sure if it was because Susn was gone for the weekend, but the fruit was frozen and the coffee cake appeared to be Sara Lee, not the freshly baked goodles that other reviews stated. The food is served on a tray and you get it when you are ready. The food is beautifully presented.

The Swede Hill Suite has a sitting room with a TV with French doors that separate the bedroom area from the sitting area. They have coffee/tea downstairs when ever you might like some.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank luannraej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

We stayed two nights at Grey Oak B&B. It is an old victorian home modified to be a Bed and Breakfast. Our room (suite) was comfortable and homey. The owners left us alone to come and go as we pleased but were very friendly in greeting us and bidding us good-bye. They provided a continental breakfast with danish and bread along with fresh fruit, yogurt and coffee. Good quality for the price. We would consider staying there again.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

My wife and I were very fortunate to have found a room in Bayfield with only one month advance notice, so do as I say not as we did. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised by having off street parking. The exterior of the Grey Oak was lovely. Our hostess greeted us and handled our luggage.
The first floor was nicely appointed with Victorian era furnishing and libations were available. Both the libations and the ample seating are intended to prepare the guest for the assent of the staircase. The Grey Oak was built in 1888 and the builders clearly held a different idea on how to built a staircase than the model style. Both guest room are on the second floor and must be accessed by this staircase. The treads were carpeted and very narrow. The staircase includes a Spiral at the top that adds to the difficulty.
The guest are rewarded with a beautiful room and a excellent breakfast.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PrevailingConditions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews