We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
24
8
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
8
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast tray quiet neighborhood apostle islands downtown bayfield susan suite porch
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Wow, really very pleased we decided to spend the night at Grey Oak. Our suite was beautiful and very comfortable. Breakfast was a treat (and delivered to the suite) so we could eat comfortably as we wished. Really will recommend this to others for a pleasant stay in Bayfield

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank Jim and Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We stayed at the Grey Oak on Monday and Tuesday night while traveling with our good friends from Door County. Susan grew up in DC and it was very entertaining listening to the banter about friends and relatives and who was doing what and where. We chose Bayfield to experience the Apostle Islands and were pleased to learn that Neal was recently retired from the park service and was able to share info that we would never have learned via the usual tourist channels. Our cruise thru the islands via the Apostle Islands Cruise Co. was educational, enlightening and memorable. The rooms at the inn were super comfy and the breakfast tray delivered to our room made for a great way to start our days. Thanks to Susan and Neal for making our trip to Bayfield comfortable and truly memorable. We would love to make a return visit!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016

To describe any B&B or hotel in Bayfield as "off the beaten path" is accurate. Bayfield and the Apostle Islands are simply among the loveliest places the Lake Superior region has to offer. The Grey Oak Guest House (while still within walking distance of everything - easily) is in a neighborhood just a little away from the town center. There are only two rooms in this 1880s era Victorian home, both on the upper level, but both are comfortable, elegant, and well-appointed. There's a woodturning fireplace for cold fall or winter evenings, and air conditioning for July nights. From room #1 there is a nice view of Lake Superior. Neil and Susan, the owners, are warm and welcoming people. Breakfast is delivered on a tray on the upstairs sideboard each morning and includes fresh fruit, sweet breads, yogurt, orange juice, and tea or coffee. A small selections of dry cereals is also available. We thoroughly enjoyed our three-night stay. Having visited Bayfield yearly for many years and have stayed at several established and, frankly, have enjoyed all of them. We will return to the Grey Oak Guest House primarily because of the extra level of privacy it offers.

Room tip: Room #1 has the better views - both are very comfortable.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bassbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We stayed in the the Brownstone Bedroom. It was very spacious with a sitting area and a large bathroom for a B&B. The Innkeepers were very helpful about Apostle Islands National Park and the town in general. There are only 2 rooms so it seems both private and intimate. The B&B is a few blocks from the main downtown area but walk was good after driving for a long period. There is also a public parking area very close to the downtown area that the Innkeepers told us about. The best part of the B&B was that breakfast was set out on a tray on the buffet near your room and you take it to your room and have an informal and relaxing breakfast while you prepared for the day. There were fresh blueberries and peaches as they were in season along with this delicious almond pastries. The rooms have AC which was appreciated as it was quite warm while we were there. But the evenings on the porch were relaxing. We would definitely recommend the Grey Oak Guest house for both those who love B&B's and those who would prefer a little more privacy.

Room tip: Both rooms are beautiful and spacious and the pictures on the website are accurate !
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AnnualAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Exactly what I want from a B&B. Nice quiet location with friendly hosts and a nice breakfasts.

Also, I am not a big fan of the lets all take at breakfast (most days) so the small size (only 2 rooms) and the nice breakfast (wonderful fruit, yogurt, breads...) for you to eat in your room was exactly right for me.

The rooms are quiet as they are separated from each other so even if the other guest is playing their TV loudly (you hear it in the hall but not your room). The biggest complaint I have in lodging in not having quiet rooms, I really liked this place and a quiet room was a big plus.

Good wifi and strong shower also.

Room tip: There are only 2, ours was great I bet the other is also.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curiouscatMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews