We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, but Confirm Amenities when Booking”
Review of Isaac Wing House

Isaac Wing House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Isaac Wing House
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Emerald Suite, looking forward to a relaxing soak in the single whirlpool tub after our trek to view the ice caves. Alas, there is no whirlpool in this room. When I brought our disappointment to the staff, especially since the whirlpool was the only reason we chose that room, they simply shrugged and indicated they should look into updating the information on the web site. Other than that, the accommodations exceeded expectations. The location is very convenient and allows walking everywhere in town. The off-season price was very reasonable as well.

Room Tip: If researching on line, I suggest confirming amenities, such as whirlpool tubs, to be sure they real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madison_WI_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Owner at Isaac Wing House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

We sincerely apologize for your disappointment regarding the whirlpool tub. Shortly before your stay, we completed the remodeling of the bathroom in The Emerald Suite. We removed the aging whirlpool tub as it received very little use from most of our guests. We failed to update the website which should have been done when the decision to replace the tub was made. Our oversight and our apologies.
To try to offset your disappointment, for a future stay we will offer the second night free in any unit including the much larger QEII Suite (which has a double whirlpool tub)..
Again we had no intention to deceive and clearly the mistake was ours for which we apologize.

Jim and Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We have had 2 fantastic experiences staying here. We stayed in both QE2 on the first occasion-very nice, spacious would be great for a medium to larger family or if you want tons of space-neatly decorated in a sailor theme. Emerald room on the 2nd, and it was fantastic, complete with couch-fireplace sitting area, queen bed etc. Everything was very clean, well put together, and they thought of all the nice amenities. What truly was outstanding though, was the owners-they went above and beyond in every element. They where very kind, allowing us some extra time to get things out in the late morning after coming in late the previous evening. We just stayed there to see the ice caves and they offered us their crampons-so sweet! They also recommend a trip to Duluth and they called in a favor and arranged us a great lake view hotel with a hot tub on the roof, getting us a discount of 20%. They are some of the nicest people and when we return to Bayfield, there will be no other place we stay. Plus, they love dogs and we have a pup that they treat so well, allowing us to stay in such nice accommodations with our "family";-)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Spent two nights in the QE2 room. The house is conveniently located in town so you can walk to shops and restaurants. Everything about it was as expected - very nice. Since it is an older home we could hear muffled noises from upstairs, but nothing that was inconvenient. We recommend you check it out.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirtbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had spent the day exploring the Apostle Island ice caves. Cold and tired we drove the 20 miles to Bayfield. Our rooms in the Isaac Wing House-the Phoenix suite were warm, spacious and welcoming. It is the off season so the rates were great! Friendly staff, clean, comfortable room w/character-just what we needed at the end of our adventure!

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom suite-the Phoenix or the QE11 were great for our traveling group of 3 friends. Phoeni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The Isaac Wing House is a wonderful guest house in downtown Bayfield, Wisconsin. The amenities are perfect. The decor is warm, cozy and inviting. My husband and I shared The Phoenix room with another couple. There was plenty of room, a separate bedroom with a queen bed and two queens in the main sitting room. A sweet little kitchenette with a microwave, small fridge, sink and dishes. They welcome dogs, which we have so that was perfect for us. Jim and Trish, the owners, are there to help you with whatever you may need...directions, advice for restaurants and sights to see. In the summer there are beautiful flower gardens on the property to enjoy. There is plenty of parking available on the street or in back. It's location could't be better. You are within a block from the ferry, restaurants, the marina...everything is within walking distance. A great place to stay in beautiful Bayfield!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We are across the street from the main building. Room is OK, but no help available for bags to third floor walk up. Internet very slow. AC really poor. We won't be back.

2  Thank Howard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Owner at Isaac Wing House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

During E-mail communications with the reviewer, he readily admitted that assistance was not requested with luggage which is always provided when requested. This was confirmed by the Bayfield Inn desk manager who recalled the reviewer's check in. If the front desk is busy, they frequently contact me for assistance as we live on site.
Our wireless internet is very fast. However there are several other nearby unsecured wireless routers to which the reviewer may have linked and may have slow speeds.
The air conditioning system is less than one year old and has been praised by previous guests for comfort and quiet. It is controlled by a remote which (as the sign says) must be pointed at the unit (like a TV). It has a selection for heat, fan, humidity control, as well as cool.
The common link in all three negative issues was that assistance was never requested. A simple request for help (The Bayfield Inn desk is staffed 24 hours a day) would have quickly resolved these issues and should have resulted in an enjoyable experience. Jim Bryan - owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful stay at the Isaac Wing House in Downtown Bayfield, Wi. The house is set up with very clean and tastefully decorated individual suites, our suite had a separate bedroom and bathroom with a great sitting area. It also offers beautiful gardens with parking in back of the House, we walked everywhere, the location is fantastic, the nights are very quiet. I walked out of the front door in the morning looking at Lake Superior directly across the Street, we walked to the Ferry, wonderful Restaurants and Shopping, we also walked in the neighborhoods looking at the beautiful older homes. If you choose to take a drive, the location is close to many Orchards and other Restaurants or different points of interests. We also felt the rates are very reasonable comparing to other Lodging locations. We are looking forward to staying here again next time we visit. I am already missing the relaxing wonderful vacation we had.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Isaac Wing House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isaac Wing House

Address: 17 S 1st St, Bayfield, WI 54814-5000
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Bayfield
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored 1872 home with 5 unique units from a suite to an apartment. All units have a full, private bath, free Wi-Fi, and off street parking. The Bayfield harbor and Lake Superior is just across the street and is visible from most units. The Isaac Wing House is known for its gardens. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing