We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, we did take out”

Pier Plaza Restaurant & Pickled Herring Lounge
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, we did take out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

We got our meal as take out and brought it on the "Evening Grand Tour" with the Apostle Island Cruises. We decided late to do the cruise, and needed our dinner to go. They were great about meeting our request! The chicken caesar salad was delicious, but a little heavy on the dressing. I wish I had asked for the dressing on the side since we were not eating right away. The chicken quesadilla from the appetizer menu was fantastic and served with sour cream and salsa on the side. They included forks, knives and napkins and put it all in an easy to carry bag for us. We had our own beverages, so didn't need that included in our order. It was a great way to have dinner and take the cruise.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Professor_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    147
    53
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
259 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good burger, great view (if you eat outside)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Solid bacon burger, with great sweet potato fries. Oddly enough, lettuce and tomato were extra charges. The atmosphere and view are the best.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great service, and the owners are wonderful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I love the food, and the chance to meet with locals, and visitors. The fish, sandwiches, and bar is superb. Keep up the great work Johnsons!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank charleshaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pub restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Ate here for lunch, had a whitefish sandwich which was very good. Wife had a cup of soup and a salad which were average. Prices were reasonable, view of the marina was nice, good service, average selection and atmosphere. Not bad but nothing special.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ace17267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food and view of lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Weekend trip to Bayfield. Had to stop at the Pier Plaza and eat out on the deck overlooking Lake Superior. Super friendly and helpful wait staff. I chose the fish tacos with sweet potato fries, and beverage of choice while enjoying the views of the lake and watching the boats come in and out of the harbor. Lovely stop to have a break on a sunny pleasant day!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pier Plaza Restaurant & Pickled Herring Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Pier Plaza Restaurant & Pickled Herring Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing