We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Customer Service”
Review of The Egg Toss Bakery Cafe - CLOSED

The Egg Toss Bakery Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Montgomery, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Customer Service”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Food is good, but our last visit the cinnamon French toast was cold. I told the bus girl and she took it back to nuke it. Our server noticed our plates were gone and asked what was wrong. She was so sorry for the cold food, she voided our bill.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebann54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    137
    27
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Santo Tomas
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“GREAT BREAKFAST, WEAK COFFEE”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Hard to figure out how a restaurant specializing in breakfast can serve such good food and weak coffee at the same time. Hell, McDonalds has better coffee.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milomccowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Open early, great value”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had breakfast here before going on a day-long kayaking trip, it was one of the few places open early enough for us to meet our 0800 reservation. The eggs benedict was delicious - the hollandaise was home-made and very creamy and scrumptious. I had a half-order, which was just the right amount. My husband had the special - ham, eggs (scrambled), potato (hashbrowns) and toast. He enjoyed it very much, especially the fresh raspberry jam. The service was great - very friendly and attentive. Great food for a good price! We recommend the Egg Toss for breakfast!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Professor_CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I originally went to The Egg Toss Bakery to buy a quick to-go roll for breakfast. However, I decided to stay for a full breakfast when I saw breakfast service was offered.

The restaurant is clean and well-decorated. The food was very good, and the wait-staff was very attentive.

Overall, a great experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oakdale6884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennesssee
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food and lots of it!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We really enjoyed this cute little breakfast place, for the atmosphere, food, service and large portions of tasty food. If you are going to be kyacking, biking or hiking, this will fortify you for the day ahead! We sampled the omelets, country fried steak and eggs, waffles and pancakes and enjoyed them all. The smoked chicken apple sausage was especially delicious.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bookandcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing