We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbeatable View and unbeatable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seagull Bay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seagull Bay Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
St Paul Minnesota Usa
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Unbeatable View and unbeatable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have been staying at the Seagull Bay Motel for several years. We absolutely love it. The view is the best view in Bayfield from any hotel/motel. The owners, Mike and Jeannie are the best and couldn't be more friendly. This year we only got an opportunity to talk to Mike, but he always has time to converse with his guests and really makes you feel welcome. It is not a fancy place, but is always clean, and the beds comfortable, and that is the most important thing to us, after we come back after a day on the Island or vineyard touring, or tooling around in town. It is always pleasant to come back and sit on the shared balcony. We have always found the other guests that stay there are friendly and we love the walking trail that takes us right into town. Our favorite spot in Bayfield! Best spot to have a glass of wine watching the sunset!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here as far as the view goes. We like the ones with the little kitchenette as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    78
    19
    1
    2
See reviews for
44
106
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you are looking for luxury, the Seagull Bay Motelis not your place. But if you want a beautiful view, clean and comfortable room, and basically all the things you need for a few days stay, within walking distance of town and on the lake this place is it. And if you go off-season as we did, the prices will make you think you have jumped back in time! Mike, the owner, personally showed us our room and opened the drapes to a great view of the lake. No fancy amenities like exercise room or pool, but the bed was excellent and we had everything we needed for a brief stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsinmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The Seagull Bay Motel isn't anything to rave about, or to complain about. The nicest part about it is it isn't too expensive and has a walking trail leading right to down town. The worst part about it was that they don't have A/C and rely on the lake breeze and loud box fans to cool you down. If you don't sleep well when it's hot I would not recommend staying here. I didn't get much sleep, and I felt gross in the morning.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have a better view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nfeldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This place was just wonderful. We got into town early and I called to see if we could check in. I was told come on in. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We stayed on a lakeside lower level room. It had a great view even with all the snow they had (it is winter still). Even with temperatures dropping to -12, the room stayed very warm. It was quiet and clean. While it is an older building, I found it much nicer and cleaner than most of the chains I have stayed in. Will stay here again on my next trip in the spring.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed here 2 nights in February. Rooms were nice and clean, nothing fancy, real comfy beds and lots of pillows, very reasonably priced. In the summer, it's booked way ahead of time, so book early. It's the best deal for the dollar in Bayfield, in my opinion.
Bring your own hairdryer, if you need one, maybe your own coffee, if you plan to use the little pot in the room. There was a little refrigerator in our room, great for leftovers from dinner.
Fabulous view of Lake Superior from our room, and right on the trail into town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toni w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great budget accommodations with plenty of in room amenities-fridge, coffee maker, and even a microwave. A true bargain at only $40 per night in the off season. I want to go back in the summer-when we'll be able to sit out on the deck and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gracie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had driven past this property many times on our way to camp on Madeline Island. When we decided to explore the ice caves, we checked into staying here. The location is great. On the hill heading into Bayfield. Wonderful view of Lake Superior and the Ice Road. Right on the hiking trail that goes down to downtown Bayfield. We heard that they will accommodate ANY pet!!! If you are looking for plush accommodations, this is not it. The room is still 1990, But the bed was very comfortable, there was a microwave and refrigerator which came in handy as most restaurants were closed when we were there. It was very clean and had awesome views. The owners were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and answered our many questions..... And best yet, we paid $40 per night...UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!! (summer is about 75$ still quite a deal!!) I would suggest booking early! We met lots of friendly people also staying there.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dentalDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
15.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Hotel Chequamegon
13.7 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
16.1 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagull Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagull Bay Motel

Property: Seagull Bay Motel
Address: 325 S 7th St, Bayfield, WI 54814-4799
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Seagull Bay Hotel Bayfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing