We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value and best boats in the Midwest.”

Superior Charters and Yacht Sales
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sail in the unforgettable Apostle Islands National Lakeshore on one of our late model sailboats. Join us for single or multi-day bareboat or Captain sailing adventures. Choose a Captained day trip through the crystal clear waters of Lake Superior with unforgettable views of the Islands. Your US Coast Guard licensed Captain will give you a chance to take the helm and sail the boat yourself. Sit back, relax and let the only sound be the water rushing over the hull of your private sailboat. For experienced sailors, select from our fleet of over 35 sailboats including many late model Jeanneau yachts. Step aboard your private yacht and enjoy skippering a well equipped vessel. Offering bareboat skipper sailing certification courses and advanced offshore sailing courses.
Grayslake, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best value and best boats in the Midwest.”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We returned with a crew of 10 for a week aboard the magnificent 49' benneteau Sanctuary. We had a great time in varied wind over 25kts. Captain Dave spent a couple of hours making sure we knew the ropes. Then we were off round the islands for a week in the magnificent wilderness. We will be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ThePumpDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Sailing" in no wind?”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were there - yes, the Apostle's - 7/29-8/1 - no wind. We motored to Stockton & Rocky - first time without wind ever - anchored at Stockton & for the first time in 40 yrs. the only sailboat In Presque Isle Bay - still hiked the Anderson trail - it's on my list for my ashes - yes, time to be serious & playful - have u thought of what is precious? For me it is sailing, scuba diving, nature & my wife - Have enjoyed all of these for many years at the Apostle Islands. Peace.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank oyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great selection of boats on Beautiful Lake Superior”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

I have used Superior Charters for many years. They have a amazing selection of boats. We are so lucky to have this asset. There doesn't seem to be a more complete sailboat charter business in the U.S. The marina is first rate. The Apostle Islands are such a beautiful place to sail. I usually charter for 4 days, but I chartered for 7 days in one instance. During our normal charter, we arrive late the first night and sleep on board. Then we leave the marina at around 9am, because the winds don't usually start to pick up until 11:30am. Then we head out to Stockton Island to anchor for the night, do a little swimming, eat dinner, drink a little wine and watch the sun set. Absolutely gorgeous. Then, in the morning, depending on the wind, we pick our next island destination for anchoring head out. Many times we take the dinghy to shore and explore the island or a light house. In the evening, the lake usually gets clear as glass and is absolutely gorgeous. Big boat sailing is an amazing experience and the Apostle Islands is no exception. The water is so beautiful and clear. Usually, in July and August, the water does warm up enough to allow for a refreshing swim and the sugar sand beaches on the islands are fabulous.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MauiJim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lac du Flambeau, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best place to sail in the Midwest”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We have sailed in the Apostle Islands since 2001 and, for the past 8 years (maybe more) while chartering a boat from Superior Charters. We always have boats that meet (and often exceed)our expectations as per the description on the website. The Apostle Islands are amazing. When we anchor, late afternoon, we take the dinghy to the nearby island and explore. Our 12 year old son loves to explore the sea caves and find treasures (rocks). The sunsets are exquisite and you can't find a better place to star gaze and look for satellites. No matter what else we do with our summers, we always plan at least 2 trips to the Apostle Islands via Superior Charters. We highly recommend it for sailors who would rather be away from the crowds and enjoy the outdoors.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MireilleMinocqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great 5 day trip to the Apostle Islands aboard a great 36' boat from Superior Charters.”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

A good week in the Apostle Islands. We had everything - 5 kts to 35 kts and saw 6 or 7 islands in 5 days. Grins is a great boat and took it all in - the crew had a good time and we will certainly be back. Everything worked well at Superior Charters.

The service was good, the boat was clean, ready and everything worked well. We got a good briefing and was given some excellent advice on anchorages which all turned out to be great. Our crew even met Captain Julian in his other persona as owner of the deli/ liquor store in downtown Bayfield - he topped up the advice given the strong winds and recommended a great anchorage on the lee side of Madelaine Island when we could not get into the sailing club because of the wind blowing down the harbour entrance.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/thepumpdoctor/sets/72157631128482100/

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePumpDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Superior Charters and Yacht Sales also viewed

 

Been to Superior Charters and Yacht Sales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing