We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couples Sailing Weekend”

Thompson Sail Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ready To Set Sail? Lake Lewisville Awaits!! THOMPSON SAIL CHARTERS OFFERS, USCG LICENSED CAPTAINED, SAIL CRUISES OF LAKE LEWISVILLE, TEXAS. TURN ANY EVENT INTO A GREAT MEMORY! *NEED CAPTAINS FOR YOUR CARIBBEAN ADVENTURES? *NEED SAIL LESSONS? SAILBOAT DELIVERY SERVICES? JUST CALL!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Clearwater, Minnesota
1 review
“Couples Sailing Weekend”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Captain Gregg, just wanted to say thank you for the amazing sailing experience on Lake Superior out of Bayfield, sailing around the Apostle Islands with our friends. Our weekend adventure was so much fun! We are still new to sailing, this being our third trip and there is just something special about letting the wind carry you across the water. We felt very safe at all times and appreciated the reminders of how to stay safe once the sails were up. Our favorite memory was sailing back late at night from Madeline Island after a great night of live music at Tom’s Burned Down Cafe. When you stopped the sailboat and then slowly turned the sailboat in a 360 degree turn while having us look up at the brilliant sky of stars, it was absolutely breathtaking! A one-of-a kind moment! Can’t wait for our next sailing trip with you! Penny and Scott

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sailing the Apostle Islands”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Captain Gregg has provided memorable experiences over the years, allowing me hands on experience in sailing his Bermuda sloop, Candyce B. throughout the Apostle Island group. The pictures taken do not do justice - to the memories created. Thank you Gregg, for your expertise, patience, and camaraderie in Lake Superior waters. Until next season. Jon L. (Hold a reservation for July, mid week.)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Pointe, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Annual Girls Getaway - Madeline Island 2013”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our experience with Thompson Sail Charters was a highlight of this year’s Girls Getaway Weekend! We were looking for something different to do in the area, since many of our guests had previously been to Bayfield & Madeline Island. There were 10 of us and we packed a cooler, sunscreen and cameras and headed out for a half-day excursion. Being that a few of the gals were a little unsure of being out in the middle of Lake Superior, our first priority was making sure that they felt safe. Everyone was very comfortable and walked away with of love of the water and the Apostle Islands. I have a feeling that sailing will become part of our annual getaway weekend for years to come.

Working with Thompson Sail Charters was also a breeze! Captain Gregg took the time to listen to what we were looking for when we first inquired about the charter and answered many questions from the time we booked until we sailed. He made sure that we had a boat large enough to accommodate a group of 10 gals that all wanted to be lying out on the deck and soaking up the experience.

Getting out on the water is something that everyone should experience when in the area! And if you are looking for a fun, yet safe charter, you really should look into Thompson Sail Charters.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LoreneWroblewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Captain Gregg has clarity, and focus in Sailing and will be very a great host !”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I had never experienced any Sailing before this July '13,
I was very pleased that Captian Gregg Thompson was very Safety orientated, before we even left the dock! He gave a brief description of what would happen, who would be doing what, and explained if an emergency would happen what to do.

I truly enjoyed my day on the sailboat, took pictures, loved the picnic lunch our group had and soaked up the sun, breeze and friendships!!! Laughing and learning, was very restful when I chose to just be quite and observe the environment!!

I woke up this morning -21 degrees below thinking of this summers trip and taking the "Love of my Life" with!!!
Thanks so much Gregg & Thompson Sail Charters!!!
"JP"
Julie Possehl

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JP56560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thompson Sail Charters also viewed

 

Been to Thompson Sail Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing