We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantatsic place to stay in beautiful Bayfield”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Artesian House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 16 Bayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We spent the final leg of our honeymoon at Artesian House and enjoyed every moment of our stay. From the gracious hosts and modern decor to decadent breakfasts and a beautiful natural setting, this place has it all. We felt so at home and look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lovely and serene Hemlock room, very much enjoying its large whirlpool tub.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaime J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Artesian House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

I had a very enjoyable stay of 2 nights at Artesian House B&B, Bayfield while visiting the Ice Caves along the Apostle Sea shore during March'14. My room was comfortable with a nice view of the outside and there was a large living room in the center for everyone to use. Christine has been extremely welcoming and helped me with the details related to visiting the ice caves, driving along the Ice Road on Lake Superior to Madeline island, etc. We also had nice & sumptuous breakfast and interesting conversation with other guests every morning. My only regret is, my stay was a bit short and I hope I can revisit the area and stay again at Artesian House B&B in future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrasunChoudhury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We spent a wintery night here. Our room was cute, sunny, spotlessly clean, and well-maintained. It was great to be surrounded by so many windows. The seclusion is definitely a plus here. It's only a few miles out of Bayfield downtown but on a beautiful secluded wooded lot. (The signage to find it is somewhat lacking and we drove right past it at first.)

Christine offered really helpful advice about what to do in town. She was very well-organized and clearly has a good mind for the business side of things. She easily accommodated some dietary restrictions and other requests; I think anyone could feel comfortable that their needs would be met here.

The main downside of this B and B is that all of the guest rooms are built around the central common room, which includes the kitchen, dining table, and lounge area. Noise traveled a lot: people coming in and out, breakfast prep, folks relaxing in the main room... even though everyone was considerate, there was noise. It was hard to feel "away from it all" at times because our room didn't feel very secluded in that sense.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNtraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at the Artesian House. We enjoyed the secluded wooded feeling of this B&B... Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The room we stayed in was clean and very comfortable. Christine was very helpful in leading us to some great restaurants in Bayfield and also having on hand brochures of things to see and do in the area. Thank you for a great stay at your house, we hope to come back to the area in the future for a visit. We would definitely stay at this B&B again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campingisthewaytogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My fiance and I stayed two nights in the whirlpool suite at Artesian House Aug 2013. Christine was more than welcoming! The B&B was great all around... The room was clean. The property was quiet and secluded from town. The bed was comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and full of local ingredients! What more can you ask for? Oh yeah, Christine helped us fix a flat tire the morning of our departure! Above and beyond what you would expect staying at a B&B.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This is beautifully updated bed and breakfast just 2.5 miles south of Bayfield. All of the rooms have access to a deck area. We enjoyed the large open common area which allowed us to visit with other guests. It was so comfortable. We stayed four days and enjoyed every minute of it. The guests were fun to share experiences and offer suggestions about the variety of things to do in Bayfield. We will definitely be back!

Pat & Mike

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the Artesian House in the Ironwood Room. The location is sweet, tucked away in the woods just a stone's throw to Bayfield. It has a peaceful secluded feel to it which works wonderfully after a day of exploring. The B&B portion of the home is artfully arranged on the first floor of the home. It is impeccably maintained and immaculately clean. My room was luscious in it's simple and tasteful decor and everything is of the highest quality including the linens, towels, body products and thoughtful touches including remote controlled rheostat lighting and ceiling fan, Bose sound system, wine glasses and corkscrew etc. My room had beautiful views into the woods and a deck which was perfect for reading and yoga.
Christine is a gracious hostess who is warm, friendly and an amazing cook! The breakfasts were delicious, healthful and the perfect start to a day outdoors. This is a great find at a very reasonable price. Access to a mini fridge and treats on the counter 24/7 were great surprises. All of this was topped off by making the acquaintance of the nicest group of Wisconsinite fellow travelers one could ever hope to meet!

Room Tip: Loved Ironwood!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
13.7 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
12.5 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
617 reviews
14.5 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
449 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
71 reviews
2.4 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#2 of 16 in Bayfield
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artesian House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artesian House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 84100 Hatchery Rd, Bayfield, WI 54814-4495
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Price Range: £81 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet Solitude on 25 Wooded Acres, Close to Town, Lake, Marinas, Fine Restaurants, Fish Hatchery, Berry Farms and Orchards, and Big Top Chautauqua. Travel Green Wisconsin Certified, Eco-Friendly Contemporary Inn with Four Large Guest Rooms Each with Private Bath & Outside Entrance to Spacious Deck. All Guest Rooms are on the First Floor, Wireless, Individual Thermostats for Heat, A/C, Solar Heated Hot Water, Artesian Well, Across from Salmo Lake Walk Trail to Beach and Fish Hatchery Trail. Healthy Breakfast Buffet 8-9 AM, Soaring Great Room with Wood Stove, Comfortable Furnishings with Organic Mattresses and Sheets, and Natural Views in All Directions. Free Ice. Open Year Round. Smoke Free and Pet Free. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing