We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Place to Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Ranked #2 of 16 Bayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at the Rittenhouse Inn last week, and experienced a wonderful getaway as always. Whether you stay at the Rittenhouse or the Chateau, both beautiful Victorian mansions, you won't be disappointed. Sit on the winding front porches in the vintage wicker furniture and view Lake Superior, and the beautiful surroundings.

The wonderful service and the friendliness of the owners and staff is unbeatable. The food at the "Landmark Restaurant" was amazing. Breakfast entrees were exceptional, and appealing to the palate. I highly recommend you stay here for an wonderful and fantastic experience. Mark , Wendy, and Jerry are gracious hosts.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room Nine. First Floor Spa Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WisconsinInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We called after they were closed for the night, but they had a large party that just arrived, so they fit us in...

Great food, excellent service. We would recommend, unconditionally. Not cheap, but worth it for the experience and the food.

Room Tip: Book ahead - it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank dewitthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have stayed twice at the Chateau, a stately home turned into a seven room facility and one of the Rittenhouse properties. First time was in a group of seven couples for a murder mystery weekend facilitated by the genial and erudite (and G&S afficionado) proprietor during the shoulder season, second time on our own. Fabulous dinners and breakfasts over at the Rittenhouse, as well as other notable eateries in town, casino up the road at the Red Cliff reservation (also worth a visit). The Chateau offers limited kitchen privileges (microwave, fridge, coffee), views over Chequamegon Bay and Madeline Island, wifi, off-street parking, splendid bedrooms, marvelous common rooms downstairs, wrap-around porch for sitting and wining, pergola and garden, and a painted-lady exterior. Wonderfully restored and renovated house with wood paneling and wainscoting that is seldom seen these days and check out the different woods used for the pocket doors. Recommend the Master room and the Turret room.

Room Tip: Master room or the Turret room for best views and fireplace. North room has a jet tub AND fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerWisconsinWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at the Rittenhouse Inn May of 2014. We were very impressed with the overall condition of the place including all of the rooms ------- which we toured. Many of the rooms, as well as the dinning area and front porch, had beautiful views of the lake and town.

The food was fantastic; both in taste and presentation.

The only thing better than the food and rooms was the service. One of their associates, by the name of Mike, treated us as if we were the only ones there.

Gene / Jana ------------ Mpls Minnesota

Room Tip: We had room 7 which was fantastic. See website for details. Room 10 was really awesome; we saw thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for the review! We're pleased you enjoyed our food, rooms and service. We agree: Mike is an exemplary employee who takes great care of each customer. We look forward to your return, and perhaps a stay in Suite 10 next time?

Kind regards, Mark and Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My fiancé and I stayed for 2 nights for our honeymoon, and I can't say enough about how accommodating they were. We were late and missed our dinner reservation, so they brought us up a little dessert snack from the kitchen. They had a few open suites, so they upgraded us from a more basic room for free. They were consistently kind and fun to chat with. We truly had a wonderful time.

Now, for our suite- we stayed in Room 11, and truly, it was amazing. Huge, sprawling, warm, and peaceful- everything we could ask for in a room, with incredibly tall ceilings, a fireplace, whirlpool, porch and cozy bed. We loved it!

Room Tip: Suite 11 is truly wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for the review! We're happy you enjoyed your stay and found our staff accommodating during your honeymoon. Thanks for the kind words about Suite 11, which is one of our favorite rooms at the Inn. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your return.

Kind regards, Mark and Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was my first time at a B & B and I was so pleased. Great service, room and location. Apparently there weren't any restaurants or bars open this April because of Ice Caves? But we had a great time none the less and made due. A view of Lake Superior that can't be beat and a log on the fire made this romantic. No tvs in room... breakfast was GREAT. Would love to return when the town is more alive. Fun, relaxing stay. VERY accomadating when I had to change res due to a death in the family. Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake View, 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgillMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for the review! We are pleased that your first time at a B&B was a great experience. You are right: Bayfield can be a little "sleepy" in April! It's all part of the charm. We hope you'll return during the summer and experience Bayfield when it's buzzing!

Kind regards,
Mark and Wendy Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I have been staying here since 1986 and are continually amazed at the quality of service and friendliness of staff. We LOVE the fact that there are NO TVs!!! Thank God!! We go to Bayfield to get away from the noise and the hustle and bustle of life. It is the place to go. While not the cheapest place around, it is consistent every year in their cleanliness, food and service. And for that, I will pay more. I have read some of the comments that people wrote concerning Rittenhouse where they rated it terrible and it seems to me that they have a problem either listening to cancellation fees and/or they are expecting to have surround sound TVs in their room. If that is your expectation, this place is not for you. As for other reviews saying that the employees were rude at breakfast, we have NEVER experienced that. It has been very courteous every time. And I would say that we have eaten a good 70-80 breakfasts there so we know of whence we speak! Will we be back? Yes, you can count on it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BongoDrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_Rit_Innkeeper, Manager at Old Rittenhouse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for the review! We know there are lots of choices for places to stay and dine in Bayfield, and the fact that this reviewer keeps returning after nearly 30 years is very special to us. Here is a couple who gets Bayfield! It's not about watching TV in your hotel, it's about experiencing all there is to see and do here, especially the great outdoors. It's about enjoying the silence and getting a needed change of pace from the stress of daily life. It's about reconnecting and reaffirming our most important relationships. We hope our Inn can be a sanctuary for travelers. BongoDrums, you're always welcome at Old Rittenhouse Inn.

Kind regards,
Mark and Wendy Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
15.4 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
14.0 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
626 reviews
16.5 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
462 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lucy's Place Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Rittenhouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Rittenhouse Inn

Address: 301 Rittenhouse Ave, Bayfield, WI 54814-5016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Price Range: £136 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Rittenhouse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Rittenhouse Inn is Bayfield, Wisconsin's first Country Inn Bed & Breakfast and gourmet restaurant offering 20 guest rooms in 2 Victorian homes and a private cottage. Accommodations include wood-burning fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and spectacular views of Lake Superior. A full service restaurant offers breakfast, brunch, and dinner, and showcases regional cuisine in season. The Inn is located blocks from Lake Superior and the Apostle Islands. This year-round getaway offers seasonal rates and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Old Rittenhouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Rittenhouse Hotel Bayfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing