We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine Hospitality”
Review of Pinehurst Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bayfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pinehurst Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Bayfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Iron Ridge, Wisconsin
1 review
“Divine Hospitality”
Reviewed 8 June 2010

I can't even begin to explain the feeling that you get when you walk through the doors of the Pinehurst Inn. The owners and staff are very friendly, informative and welcoming. If you are not sure where to go or what to do, they will help you find your way. They have several menus and detailed descriptions of local shopping, restaurants, attractions, etc.

We stayed in the whispering pines room. This room is beautifully decorated and very romantic. There is a huge whirlpool tub and fireplace.

The Pinehurst is located minutes from Bayfield. We picked it specifically because we wanted to be secluded by pine trees and wildlife.

Breakfast is absolutely delicious, and they are willing to cater to picky eaters, special diets, and allergies.

The rooms are expensive, but you get what you pay for. We didn't go to the spa, but there is one right on site.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsstehli6907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    31
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
192
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2010

My husband and I enjoyed a long weekend in Bayfield, Wis. One of our activities was dog sledding, and when booking this excursion, the owner recommended Pinehurst Inn for our accommodations. Our room not only was comfortable, but eco-friendly, and a spa, though we did not have time to partake in its services, was right on site. The innkeeper could not have been more hospitable, and his organic breakfasts (most ingredients are grown locally) were absolutely delicious. We are considering returning to Bayfield in the summer or fall. If we do, we'll definitely contact Pinehurst again.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZTraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, SC
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Pinehurst Inn 3 nights last week and absolutely loved it! The room was outstanding - very spacious with a huge fireplace and jet tub. The bed was so comfortable and the scenery was lovely. The home is just outside of the main city of Bayfield so it's close to restaurants and pubs, but still gives you the feeling that you are out in the middle of nowhere. The innkeepers are very eco-friendly and recycle as well as use solar panels to heat the B&B. Breakfast was delicious - we had pan fried apples and yogurt, plus homemade cranberry bread, plus quiche the final day. Coffee and milk and local ciders are provided too.

ADDITIONAL RECOMMENDATION: If you do end up staying here, consider doing what we did during the day, which was "mushing" with 40 exceptionally well trained Siberian Huskies at Wolfsong Adventures. It's about 20 miles from the B&B. The owners, John and Mary Thiel, will make sure you have a great time and stay warm. My husband and I went for Valentine's Day and have never, ever had more fun!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEB1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lino Lakes
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We had an awesome time at Pinehurst Inn! We stayed in the Brownstone room in the Garden House. The room was complete with fireplace and jacuzzi. That's all we can say is WOW!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10000smilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota, Montana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

We had a wonderful stay at The Pinehurst Inn. Our room was cozy and beautifully decorated. After a soak in the jacuzzi tub with lavender bath salts and a good night's sleep tucked between the most comfortable sheets, all our day-to-day stresses were alleviated. In the mornings we enjoyed a delicious homemade breakfast. We stayed in the off season, but even during the summer the rates are very affordable at this beautiful bed and breakfast. The town of Bayfield is charming and full of nice shops and restaurants/cafes. We ate just out of town at Good Thyme, which was delightful. We enjoyed ourselves so much, we fully plan on returning again!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnandmttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

We stayed for 4 nights. It was a great place to head out to explore orchards, shops and Madeline Island. The Enso on-site spa was great. Nancy & Steve have done a great job at building a green addition.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneyInnEcoRetreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Green, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2009

Beautifully located, landscaped, renovated circa 1900 mansion B&B a few miles south of bustling Bayfield. Innkeepers Nancy and Steve proved to be gracious, uniquely knowledgeable hosts. Their commitment to sustainability is quietly self-evident everywhere -- on the grounds, in the rooms and at the breakfast table. While embraced by the past, this historic B&B manages to plant itself seamlessly into a 'green,' comforting future. We're still congratulating ourselves for our choice of a four-night stay at Pinehurst. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gdansk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
13.3 mi away
Best Western The Hotel Chequamegon
12.1 mi away
AmericInn Ashland
AmericInn Ashland
#3 of 9 in Ashland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
14.0 mi away
Quality Inn Ashland
Quality Inn Ashland
#5 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Super 8 Ashland
Super 8 Ashland
#4 of 9 in Ashland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Inn at Washburn
The Inn at Washburn
#2 of 2 in Washburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
2.9 mi away
Old Rittenhouse Inn
Old Rittenhouse Inn
#1 of 15 in Bayfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinehurst Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinehurst Inn

Property: Pinehurst Inn
Address: 83645 Highway 13, Bayfield, WI 54814-4530
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Wisconsin > Bayfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-elegant accommodations providing perfect setting for relaxation. Enjoy comfortable, relaxing guest room, heart-and soul-warming breakfast, Apostle Islands, Bayfield and more. Try the Pinehurst sauna. Pinehurst offers a variety of specials and packages. We accommodate special dietary needs. Connecting adventure, environment and personal rejuvenation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing