We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deer in your back yard” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Deer in your back yard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was satisfied with the Econo Lodge, it's not the Ritz, but did not expect that!! Everything was satisfactory! Location was good, however, you cannot walk to downtown, like I was told. I booked thru a computer service and should have done directly. I paid $25.00 more, but was my fault! People at desk were helpful, room fine, clean & breakfast was decent.

Room Tip: Book thru Choicehotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumpkin52970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    101
    53
    18
    10
See reviews for
59
108
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent stay and service.Thank you to Heather, Allan and Dickey for saving our bike trip on the C&O towpath. If not for these people our trip would of ended.They went beyond the call of duty for us. Our room was a non smoking room, it was very clean, with a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was very good. If you plan on traveling the towpath this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We picked this hotel for a friend based on the GOLD status and the reviews... wow was I shocked to here about the trip when they got back today! Walking into the room (which was a smoking room) the stench was overwhelming - but that is not uncommon. The room was old and dated with a stale mildew like smell. Breakfast was ok, with hot items, which is odd for a Econo Lodge, but it did not make up for the lack of care in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Txtransplant2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We chose this hotel for our visit to Harpers Ferry because of the reviews. Our experience differed.
We were first given a room right next to the stairs (after being blocked by a woman and her three kids who informed us that they were part of a big wedding group and said we should plan on not getting any sleep). We asked to be moved a little farther down the hall and were accommodated with no hassle.
The room is basic with a queen bed, a fridge and microwave, which is what we expected. What we didn't expect, in a non-smoking room, was the reek of cigarette smoke. It would come and go, especially in the bathroom. We tried to run the bathroom fan (which sounded like it was about to give up), but it made no difference. We asked the front desk about it the next day and were told that they get that complaint a lot because there is a smoking room right below that one.
So if you don't want a smoke-stenched room, don't get #222.
Overall, the hotel is old and worn with chipped paint visible in various places. The breakfast was typical, in an overcrowded space that needs to be expanded.
For the price you pay for this hotel, I expected a better experience.

Room Tip: don't get 222 if you don't want to smell smoke all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank-Staunton-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here mainly because we were riding the C&O Canal and had limited options. From the friendly front desk service, to the ready rags and high-pressure hose to clean the bikes to the offer to keep the bikes in the rooms, the service is top-notch from my viewpoint. My wife and I thought the room updated and tasteful and the bed exceeding our expectation for Econolodge. The breakfast has a better selection than 95% of the ones we have experienced at traditionally, higher rated franchises. While there is a long hill climb from downtown Harper's Ferry, I'd recommend staying here if you're a cyclist or even if you are driving. Our expectations were exceeded by several levels!

Room Tip: A short cut through Primrose will allow cyclists to keep off Union St. If you are walking to the An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usafmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampstead, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

After taking my friend on the AT for the first time we ended up being able to hike further and faster than expected. I wanted her so see harpers ferry and what there was to offer. Since we didn't want to go further on the trail because we were due home the next day we stayed here! 10% off for hikers, laundry machines, a great hiker box, and coupons for 5$ off The Anvil restaurant. The shower was hot, the beds were soft, and mindless TV after days in the woods was welcomed. We will for certain be back. P.S. Kathy was amazing. Her hospitality was unmatched!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AndBmom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

After passing mile 1,000 on the Appalachian Trail and getting my pic at the ATC HQ, we called local hotels for lodging. I was tired of hostels and wanted a hotel with clean sheets and someone else cooking me breakfast. I always ask "Thru-hiker" rates vs "military" rates. Here they dropped almost 40% for my veteran status. Plenty of smiles and hot showers. Good breakfast too.

Room Tip: Ask for military discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
2.5 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
10.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry

Property: Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Address: 25 Union Street, PO Box 980, US 340 & Union St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425 (Formerly Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest hotel to Harpers Ferry National Historical Park near historic Harpers Ferry and just minutes from Hollywood Casino Charles Town. Whether you are looking to explore our country's history, enjoy the natural beauty of the mountains, or checking out the gaming and horse-racing action in Charles Town, the Econo Lodge is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry Hotel Harpers Ferry
Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry
Harpers Ferry Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing