We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confused and Rude”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Problem number one was when a reservation was made and my credit card was applied to another reservation's account. Oops! I had a reservation number, but it was under this other guy's name! That's the confused part. The rude part was the woman on the desk when we arrived, confirmation number in hand, acted as if we had done something wrong and was as ornery as possible. She did finally admit that yes, there was one more room available that weekend, and yes she would deign to allow us to pay her money to stay in it. But she was doing us a favor. The rest just tails off into normal crappy hotel stuff: TV wasn't connected correctly, notes in the room threatening to charge credit card if someone thought a towel or pillow was missing at some point in the future, mold on the bathroom ceiling, funny smell "masked" by chemical air freshener things. This really was the last room in town. I had called three other places the day before when we found out we'd be able to spend a night in this wonderful historical spot, so whaddaya gonna do? We do plan to come back to Harpers Ferry. We do NOT plan to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank d_odomok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We’re sorry that you had an unsatisfactory experience and we would like to address your concerns:
1. Reservation: Sorry for any confusion upon arrival. We hope you were able to get it resolved in a timely manner. Please let us know otherwise.
2. Front Desk Demeanor: Sorry you experienced rudeness which is atypical here as we strive for 100% guest satisfaction.
3. Other:
a. TV Connection-We recently installed 37” flat TVs and switched to Satellite, essentially doubling the channels and going majority high definition. The Front Desk and Maintenance are able to take care of any input issues.
b. Bathroom ceiling-The tile was replaced. The funny smell was reported as well and actions taken to address any unpleasant odors.
I am glad that we were able to accommodate you while the rest of the area was completely booked. We do hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with the stellar customer experience that you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

I was hesitant about staying at an Econo Lodge, but the positive reviews pushed me forward. This Harpers Ferry hotel is a real find. The rooms are clean and the bath and appliances appear to be upgraded. The staff is friendly and helpful with directions. The lady supplying the breakfast room (you can take a tray back to your room as an option) was working hard with a big smile. Warm and cold breakfast offered. All rooms upstairs are non-smoking.
Unfortunately many people smoke under the front canopy which is a turn off.
The property is an excellent bargain
Historic Harper's Ferry is just down Union Street, or drive a mile to the National Park and catch a shuttle. We also went to the Charles-town Races in the evening and toured the Hollywood Casino. Beginners luck - $20 slots paid for the hotel. Again, smoking a big problem in this area.

Room Tip: Non smoking rooms are upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank India12378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yclin2, General Manager at Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed the upgraded bathrooms and appliances. Thank you for trying our deluxe continental breakfast. Yes, all rooms upstairs are non-smoking and just a few are smoking on the ground level.
We thank you for your business and hope you will try your luck again the next time you come to Harpers Ferry/Charles Town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were riding the C&O Canal Towpath and arrived tired and muddy. The Econo Lodge had a hose for us to wash off the bikes. While it is a bit of a distance from the "downtown" area, it's not a bad walk. The room was clean and quiet with the usual amenities. Breakfast was pretty decent. One thing to note, while the desk staff was very friendly, they did not appear to know much about the area. We were told we wouldn't find anything open for dinner on a Monday night, but we actually found 4 or 5 nice restaurants that were open downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucyspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Title says it all. For an Econolodge, it's pretty upscale; apparently recently refurbished. Breakfast was typical low-end hotel stuff, but seriously; for this price and location, it's pretty damned good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kenblakely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

One wouldn't necessarily think "Econo Lodge!" for a romantic getaway, but I'll say: it certainly did the job for me and my wife recently. Making spur of the moment plans for a weekend get away to Harper's Ferry ruled out any classy B&B (which would have to be booked well in advance) and AirBnB (which didn't have any good local options).

So why was the Econo Lodge great?
-Reasonable price.
-Location is less than a mile from the center of Harper's Ferry (the ONLY hotel this close). You can walk into town either along Shenandoah Street or the Appalachian Trail. Both are scenic.
-Breakfast is a definite step above the usual carb-loaded continental fare at most bottom-tier chains. The food options weren't quite as large and diverse as you'd get at a Hampton Inn or Homewood Suites, but you at least get some protein (Eggs, sausage, yogurt) and there are several nice touches (like biscuits and gravy. Mmm...!).
-Updated rooms. The furnishings and bathroom had clearly been redone within the last few years and looked just as nice as ones you'd find in newer 2.5 or 3-star hotels. We watched a couple World Cup matches on the large flat-screen TV when we weren't out exploring and were more than happy to stay in and relax.
-Fridge and microwave in the room! Dining around Harper's Ferry is generally unimpressive, so being able to keep and reheat your own food from elsewhere is a plus.
-Reliable and sufficiently fast Wi-Fi. (Especially nice since the cell network is spotty in the area, but we had no trouble using Wi-FI calling.)
-Somewhat scenic view over the river and nice grounds with a gazebo, etc.

Sure, there were a few strange things - like one morning they put out completely green bananas (which wouldn't have been ripe & edible for a week), and the switch nearest the door in our room controlled an outlet to which the alarm clock was plugged in (so we had to reset it after accidentally shutting it off once). But whatever. Grab a different piece of fruit from the basket, avoid flipping that switch and move on with life. We're not high maintenance people and neither were most others who were there for the history, nature or who had come in from the Appalachian or C&O Canal trails. For the price, location and amenities? The value is great.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have a more scenic view. There's no elevator, so be sure to request a fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was satisfied with the Econo Lodge, it's not the Ritz, but did not expect that!! Everything was satisfactory! Location was good, however, you cannot walk to downtown, like I was told. I booked thru a computer service and should have done directly. I paid $25.00 more, but was my fault! People at desk were helpful, room fine, clean & breakfast was decent.

Room Tip: Book thru Choicehotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pumpkin52970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Excellent stay and service.Thank you to Heather, Allan and Dickey for saving our bike trip on the C&O towpath. If not for these people our trip would of ended.They went beyond the call of duty for us. Our room was a non smoking room, it was very clean, with a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was very good. If you plan on traveling the towpath this is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
278 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
2.5 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
8.8 mi away
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
Quality Inn Shepherdstown
#2 of 3 in Shepherdstown
145 reviews
10.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Kearneysville
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry

Address: 25 Union St, US 340 & Union St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425-0980 (Formerly Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Price Range: £60 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest hotel to Harpers Ferry National Historical Park near historic Harpers Ferry and just minutes from Hollywood Casino Charles Town. Whether you are looking to explore our country's history, enjoy the natural beauty of the mountains, or checking out the gaming and horse-racing action in Charles Town, the Econo Lodge is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry Hotel Harpers Ferry
Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry
Harpers Ferry Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing