We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for an overnight trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fine for an overnight trip!”
Reviewed 9 March 2010

I was making a spur of the moment trip to Harper's Ferry National Park, and checked in to the Comfort Inn on Union Street. It is a modest place, no bells or whistles. Slighty showing its age, but clean and comfortable. I think there were maybe one or two other guests in the place! This is the off season for the area, so it was very quiet! Continental breakfast OK, although either the timer or the temperature of the waffle maker was off--slightly underdone....

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    103
    56
    18
    10
See reviews for
64
109
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, MD
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We stayed here for a family wedding, and I cannot state enough how wonderful this staff was. They are absolutely awesome.
Yin, Randy, Allison, Travis....all of you made our exciting "wedding that turned into a blizzard" an event we will never forget.....
This was the only hotel within 30 miles that offered to shuttle us back and forth from a wedding/reception/hotel).
Randy and Yin went out of there way in the biggest snowfall blizzard in years to make sure we were all safe and got where we needed to be. The hotel was quaint, clean, and everyone was so helpful. Thank you so so much.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKster17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bernardino
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2009

We stayed at this hotel with a large group for a wedding - the team at the hotel shuttled us where we needed to go AND took great care of us during a snow storm!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperCr0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Yin, Randy, Alison and Travis could not have been nicer to us during our stay. They helped us through a nice little snow storm with flying colors.

If you go to Harper's Ferry, stay with them at the Comfort Inn.

Thanks !!
Kevin K.
Birmingham, Alabama

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KKBHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabrook, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

I am a serious Advanced Amateur Film Only Photographer mostly using a Pentax Spotmatic F or a Pentax K1000 camera until I switched almost entirely DIGITAL 13 months ago when I found a Digital Pentax SLR K200D camera that met all my requirements for a reasonable price.

Last December (2008), on the first Saturday, I attended Harpers Ferry’s (HF) Soldier’s Prayer Day festivities and took many Digital photos of the day’s events. One event was a National Park Service (NPS) Living History (LH) volunteer (Todd Harrington) doing TINTYPE (Civil War Period) Photographs of various LH volunteers and various Historical buildings in Harpers Ferry. I was VERY intrigued by the process and the MOST wonderful images Todd was creating on Ferrotype (aka Tintypes) plates and regular clear glass plates (aka Ambrotypes).

This spring, the NPS/HF Living History department announced that the Park Service in conjunction with Todd would be offering a 2 Day Workshop/Class in HF on October 10th and 11th, 2009 from 9am to 5pm each day. Needless to say I signed up for it. I attended the workshop both days and had a MOST unusual experience actually creating Photographs using Mid-Late 19th century Photography Technology.

Thus this is how I came to stay overnight (Saturday, October 10, 2009) at the Comfort Inn on Union Street in Harpers Ferry, WVA.

I made the reservation for my overnight stay on the phone on September 11th with the Inn’s staff member Mary who told me checking time was 3PM, I told her about the class hours, she said “NO PROBLEM” just guarantee the reservation with a Major Credit Card and you can check in anytime that works for you.

Saturday’s class ended about 6:00pm as we(class members had to finish up the day’s work) after 5:00pm. It took us that much time for all 4 class members to “VARNISH” (protect) the images we recorded on glass plates during the day. By the time I got to the Inn to check-in it was maybe 6:30pm or so. I was checked-in to the Inn and assigned to my room (Number 206) by Travis in less than 10 minutes. 15 minutes later after moving my luggage to my room I was back out the door for dinner at the Secret Six Restaurant in downtown Harpers Ferry. Had a wonderful dinner and went back to the Comfort Inn for the night. The Secret Six Restaurant is a MUST place to eat AS is the Comfort Inn being the MUST PLACE to STAY in Harpers Ferry.

After returning to the Inn from dinner I cleaned up and got ready for leaving the next morning, I showered before going to bed as I wanted to get up early to pack my luggage back in my car and avail myself of the FREE continental breakfast before checking out Sunday morning and leaving the Inn for the second day of the class.

Shower Head is a Water Pik Massage Shower Head, I liked it so much I showered
for using it for nearly 30 minutes as my back and shoulders were sore from all the bending and stooping I had been doing all day during the class. Fabulous Bathroom with plenty of Towels and Bathroom Linen.

After the wonderful shower, I “hit the sack” after calling the front Desk for a 6AM Wake-UP call. That's when I discovered the most fully luxurious PILLOWS I’ve ever seen or used. BEST and MOST COMFORTABLE Sleep I’ve ever had. PILLOWS are FABULOUS. I told this to, either Mary or Travis Sunday Morning as I was leaving and asked them to please inform the manager and could I please find out where they got the Pillows.

A couple of days later the manager called me and told me the name of the pillows and where the Inn had obtained the pillows.

The first chance I get, I am going to order some of the same pillows for my home as
my current home pillows are at least 10 years old and are due for replacement.

I rate the Comfort Inn on Union Street in Harpers Ferry WVA FIVE STARS on a scale of 1 to 5 where 1 is TOTAL DISSATISFIED and 5 is UTILMATE SATISFACTION. The entire STAFF is to be commended for their personable and totally friendly service.

Sincerely,
James W. Spinks
Seabrook, Maryland

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimSeabrook_Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, PA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2009

I stayed here for work, and chose the hotel based on my generally high opinion of Comfort Inns. I was shocked when I arrived. The hotel has a nice staff but as the kind desk clerk admitted, "this is one of Comfort inn's older properties." The building is frankly depressing- inside and out. There is no work-out room, the carpets are dingy, and rooms in the two story structure face either a busy road, or a parking lot. The room was old and didn't feel clean- It wasn't that they were obviously dirty but the carpets, linens, furnishings were just sort of gross. The bathroom was clean and everything worked fine, but I couldn't wait to get out of the room.

This Comfort Inn isn't really in Harper's Ferry proper, but the walk into town is only about fifteen minutes. The breakfast is standard Comfort Inn- so not bad, but in a very cramped room. In retrospect I should have chosen the Quality Inn, which has a gym, pool, and grounds that you can at least walk around.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSU_travel_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales, uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Really welcoming hotel. Clean and comfortable. Wxcellent base for harper's ferry. Sad that I had only booked one night. We will definitely be back. Special mention - lovely ladies on reception and in tavern.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemaryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.1 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.5 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
8.5 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Harpers Ferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry

Property: Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Address: 25 Union St, US 340 & Union St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425-0980 (Formerly Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the closest hotel to Harpers Ferry National Historical Park near historic Harpers Ferry and just minutes from Hollywood Casino Charles Town. Whether you are looking to explore our country's history, enjoy the natural beauty of the mountains, or checking out the gaming and horse-racing action in Charles Town, the Econo Lodge is the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry Hotel Harpers Ferry
Comfort Inn Harpers Ferry
Harpers Ferry Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing