We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cyclist Friendly”
Review of The Town's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Town's Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at The Town's Inn after our fourth day on the C&O and GAP bike trail. The Inn was easy to find off the trail, in the heart of the old town, not too far up the hill. It was a beautiful old preserved home from the 1800's that fit the quaint setting of the historical town. We stayed in the Appalachian room, which was beautifully appointed and matched the photos on the website. The newly renovated private bathroom was a very welcome sight after nine hours of mud and ruts on the C&O Towpath. The owner welcomed us and gave us the interesting history of the home. The staff made sure we had access to the hose to wash down our muddy bikes, and helped us safely secure our bikes on the private back porch. Their chef, Jeff, took to the time to greet us, and introduce his family who also work at the Inn. The Inn caters to cyclists and have one of the few restaurants that stay open late. A good meal after a long day of cycling is a treat. We needed to get on the road early the next morning to make our train back to Pittsburgh, and fortunately, the restaurant opened at 6am. The owner fixed us a lovely breakfast, and we were able to stock up on provisions for our long ride from items in their store. Will definitely stay again on our next bike ride to DC.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Appalachian Room which has a full sized bed. We found the full sized bed a bit smal...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scubasue_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for The Town's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

We were a group of 8 cycling the C & O Canal. We were staying at Harpers Ferry and much to our surprise most places shut at 6pm. This was the only place open after 7pm. We booked a table for dinner, they had no fries, bread to yogurt or ice cream.Quite bizarre seeing as they are open for breakfast as well.

The service was poor, the food arrived very random, no meals came compete, we had to keep asking for things we had ordered.

I don't know where else you would go, but I wouldn't be able to recommend this place nor would I go again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bikerchick39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karantownsend, Owner at The Town's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

We appreciate reviews and the opportunity to respond to reviews so that readers-of-reviews can make decisions based not only upon accurate facts but also upon context and so that we can make changes as needed to maintain the standards that warranted our “Trip Advisor Certificate Award” for 2012 and 2013 and will result in a 2014 award!

The reviewer commented, “much to our surprise most places shut at 6pm. This was the only place open after 7pm... they are open for breakfast as well..”

To put this comment in context, you need to know that I decided to address not only the “most places shut at 6 pm” problem but also the “most places don’t open ‘til 11 a.m. problem” in Harpers Ferry when I took over the restaurant in 2011.

The reviewer’s comment actually reveals the goal of the Inn, which is to serve delicious, nutritious, healthy, homemade, fresh-from-the-kitchen cuisine from 6 a.m. - 10 p.m. every day of the year.

We’ve achieved our goal --- but our tiny kitchen ( smaller than kitchens in most suburban homes ) and lack of storage space in this 1840 building means that sometimes we run out of a couple of items on the menu since everything is fresh and a specialty.

The reviewer commented, “The service was poor, the food arrived very random, no meals came compete, we had to keep asking for things we had ordered.”

To put this comment in context, you need to know that daily restaurant revenue in Harpers Ferry ( a tourist town ) is totally unpredictable, which is why other restaurants don’t stay open since the expenses ( especially staff ) of staying open when no or few tourists are in town are huge. Our little restaurant seats patrons in 3 areas: front patio, dining room, back patio.

We explained to this group that only 1 cook, 1 server, and the owner (me) were working from 7 p.m. - 10 p.m. and that all of the items they ordered from our a la carte menu would not be delivered at the same time. All of the food that was ordered was prepared fresh and delivered in a reasonable amount of time, and no one in this group of 8 complained about the service that the server and I provided. The group left a 15% non-required gratuity.

The reviewer commented, “they had no fries, bread [or] yogurt or ice cream.”

We had run out of fries and ice cream because of the unexpectedly (tremendously) huge demand for our hand-cut-from-fresh-potatoes-fries and homemade peach cobbler topped with ice cream throughout the day --- so we were unable to offer fries and ice cream from 8-10 p.m., although we had plenty of cobbler, cheesecake, fresh fruit, etc. We had bread, but the reviewer wanted a free basket of bread, which we do not provide. We had plain yogurt that we served in generous portions to everyone who requested yogurt. We were out of only vanilla yogurt.

We hope that this response is helpful and that you will visit our historic little Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Inn is charming and centrally located in town. The third floor room was more than enough space for the 6 of us. Home cooked food comes out of the kitchen. It's a great stop for travelers doing the Appalachian trail and C&O bike trail. Some people may not like the noise of the trains during the evenings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The Inn is a classic bed and breakfast and a lot of thought and care went into rendering a very old historic building into accommodations that are comfortable and well executed. We stayed in the Appalachian room which had a gorgeous private bathroom (green slate shower) and the room was immaculate with a double bed with nice linens and very sweet with a fireplace and two sitting chairs. Given how old the building it is - it is on the smaller side- but we were comfortable. The 3rd floor has a library of a range of books - nothing contemporary - but some English anthologies and some Christian literature. This is where the Shenandoah room is and appointed with bunk beds which were occupied by 4 young women who seemed pleased. The restaurant seems to be a separate business and it is true that breakfast is not included. Nonetheless it is right in the center of lower town and is central to the train station and other restaurants. Staff are very friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thgmhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My wife and i just got home from a 2 night stay at The Town's Inn and really enjoyed it, We were celebrating our 30 year wedding anniversary. We don't get away very often and this was perfect for our needs. The location was perfect and the service was great. We ate a few meals there and loved it, especially breakfast. Karen and her staff work very hard to make everything right. Parking is a pain in the you-know-what, but that's a function of the location. We love Harpers Ferry and staying at The Town's Inn is a perfect way to see it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stopped at the Town's Inn after bicycling from D.C. along the C&O canal. The staff was very welcoming and our meal was delicious. The inn was a charming place to relax before we continued on to our campsite. I would book a room here if I were to do the long distance ride again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was the first time my husband and I stayed at an inn like this. The location is perfect, and centrally located to explore the remaining historical buildings within the park. You can tell that the innkeeper, Karen, is personally involved in maintaining the inn, supporting the sorrounding businesses, and the maintaining the historical integrity of Harper's Ferry. Our bedroom, the Appalachian Room was cozy and sweet. I loved the large, step-in shower!!
Her manager and assistant manager, created a wonderful evening ambience for my husband and I at the inn's courtyard. (They could use some more plants) Our candle lit supper was made with locally prepared meats, fresh vegetables and fruits. The portions were good and tasted delicious. Thank you for making our stay there wonderful!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mdm.Bovary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
297 reviews
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
263 reviews
1.7 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
834 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
0.4 mi away
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Harpers Ferry
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town's Inn

Address: 179 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range: £89 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***Rates starting at $120*** This family-friendly historic Inn (circa 1840) is located in the center of the Harpers Ferry living history village situated at the confluence of the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers, just steps from the C&O Canal Towpath and Appalachian Trail, as well as the storybook train station served by Amtrak and MARC trains. Open from 6 a.M. - 10 P.M. Every day of the year, the restaurant on the first level of the Inn offers indoor and patio dining featuring popular cuisine, including homemade specialties and healthy options. Also on the first floor is a Sundry / Snack / Supply Shoppe which has been described as a "high-end convenience store, a mini-health food store, and an old-fashioned country store with local products." The second floor consists of two bedrooms with beautiful slate-tile private bathrooms. A parlor containing a treasure of books, toys, and games is situated on the third floor, along with another bedroom. Free WiFi is available. Step outside and enjoy river views, river sports, hiking, bicycling, museums, shopping, and more in this quaint town that is adjacent to the Harpers Ferry National Historic Park and surrounded by other national parks, farms, and Civil War battlegrounds. Although located only 60 miles from DC, the Inn is "a world away" from life in modern urban and suburban cities. We invite you to travel "over the river and through the woods to Grandmother's house" for relaxation, recreation, and retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing