We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So homey!”
Review of The Town's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Town's Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We went camping on a winter night near harpers ferry and wanted to warm good food in the morning. Nothing seemed to be open until we got here. Great coffee and comfort food. Everyone was very friendly as well.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank 577Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

My husband, sister-in-law and I were visiting Harpers Ferry for the Ghost Tour! It is such a beautiful historic town and we arrived a little early before the tour so that we could stop and have dinner. Pretty much everything here closes early. The Town's Inn was the only place still open! We are so cold and hungry, but we didn't want to go in because it just looked like an Inn and not a place to just go eat. Luckily, we saw a sign for the dinner specials so we went in and gave it a try!
All of the food is home made and so delicious! This location is so beautiful and historic inside! I would love to come back and stay here!
The cook came out and took our order and he had such personality! He sat down with us to get to know us and gave us a few laughs. I ordered the French Onion soup with a side of Mac & Cheese and it was amazing! My husband ordered the Chicken Pot Pie and it looked perfect!

If I am ever back in this area I would love to stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ToryDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

As we were touring Harpers Ferry, we were looking for a quaint and historic place to eat that would also have great food for a reasonable price. This place was that and more. The food is all homemade and tasted amazing. The chili is great and the cider was awesome. The service was really good too! Some people have commented that it is slow, but what they fail to realize is that this is a small, local establishment and the people are not only serving the food, but also assisting with seating and cooking, etc. Having said that, we can't complain at all about the service--it was great and our server was really nice and accomodating. If you are going to Harpers Ferry, this is a must!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anonymous X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Had a very lovely home cooked dinner here last week of September 2013 [the exact date escapes me].

We had hiked Maryland Heights overlook trail the day before and that day had walked all over Harpers Ferry thinking to have a nice relaxed dinner to round out our visit only to find most eateries folded about 5pm.

Not here...........open until 10pm declared on the sign. What a unique place. Jeff was personable and attentive: TRY HIS SPECIAL RECIPE FRIES. The food, altho a la carte was not in any way expensive, was delicious and served with smiles and stories.

The charming little dining room doubled as a sort of country store & pantry. if you are an apple butter lover, do BUY A JAR OF PUMPKIN BUTTER.

HIGHLY RECOMMEND. Don't pass up this experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamaZ5775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I were passing through Harper's Ferry on our way home recently, and decided to stop in this little, historic town to walk around and maybe grab a bit. We ended up at the Town's Inn for dinner and we HIGHLY recommend it. There was just one gentlemen handling the cooking and serving duties, but he was extremely hospitable and the wait for our food was still reasonable.

We ordered the chicken pot pie and the Shephard's Pie (both were homemade), and they were fantastic. The desserts were amazing as well, and they have a small, but good selection of beer and wine. If you're passing through Harper's Ferry take the time to grab a bit at this little Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Had a couple of issues with the room and bathroom door locks, but the hospitality of Karen, Hal and his wife more than made up for it. The room was quiet and very nice. The dining was quaint, home made, good quality food on the menu and open longer than virtually anyone else in town. If you are lucky enough to try it I highly suggest trying the breakfast skillet and the "Town's Inn Blend" coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjparker71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My friend and I hiked into Harper's Ferry on Columbus Day morning with sore backs, heavy packs and in need of a hot cup of coffee. We looked up and down the streets and at the top of the main road, we saw a fan whirring and a light left on at Town's Inn. Ah! We were thrilled. What we found inside exceeded our expectations in the best way. The well-worn floors and the country decorations were appropriate for the area and the old building. Jeff, the chef, was there to greet us, bring us huge mugs of coffee and chat with us about his passion for food. He talked about making everything himself - the rubs, the pulled pork, hand-cut French fries, the peach cobbler (my friend raved about it), the curry spice mixes, and the love he puts into the menu. We tried an omelette and a bagel. The food was delicious and fresh, but the love was really the thing to come back for. Jeff was entertaining and as welcoming as you'd expect at your best friend's house. He said he'd been cooking for 30 years and when asked how long he expected to be doing this, he answered "until I die... I love cooking for people." And there you have it. I'd recommend this place to anyone passing through just to meet Jeff and try the food he says has soul in just the right amount for Harper's Ferry. We stayed at our table and played checkers until the train came and were grateful to have found such a sweet place to rest our bones.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dkeefe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
282 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
869 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
310 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
1.7 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town's Inn

Address: 179 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range: £85 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Town's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***Rates starting at $120*** This family-friendly historic Inn (circa 1840) is located in the center of the Harpers Ferry living history village situated at the confluence of the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers, just steps from the C&O Canal Towpath and Appalachian Trail, as well as the storybook train station served by Amtrak and MARC trains. Open from 6 a.M. - 10 P.M. Every day of the year, the restaurant on the first level of the Inn offers indoor and patio dining featuring popular cuisine, including homemade specialties and healthy options. Also on the first floor is a Sundry / Snack / Supply Shoppe which has been described as a "high-end convenience store, a mini-health food store, and an old-fashioned country store with local products." The second floor consists of two bedrooms with beautiful slate-tile private bathrooms. A parlor containing a treasure of books, toys, and games is situated on the third floor, along with another bedroom. Free WiFi is available. Step outside and enjoy river views, river sports, hiking, bicycling, museums, shopping, and more in this quaint town that is adjacent to the Harpers Ferry National Historic Park and surrounded by other national parks, farms, and Civil War battlegrounds. Although located only 60 miles from DC, the Inn is "a world away" from life in modern urban and suburban cities. We invite you to travel "over the river and through the woods to Grandmother's house" for relaxation, recreation, and retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Town's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing