We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, friendly, noisy”
Review of The Town's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Town's Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Washington DC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint, friendly, noisy”
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We stayed at the Towns Inn for Memorial Day weekend and although the staff and accomodations were nice, the inn was quite noisy at night. There was a very loud train that ran several times at night and kept us up. Also the Inn is on the main street in Harpers Ferry. Also the bed was poor quality and was on a decline so you felt like you were falling over all night.

The price was a little high for what you get (no breakfast is included, and the ONLY restaurant that is open in the morning was very overpriced for the value...a side of bacon was 5 dollars!)

Staff was very nice and helpful and it was one of the only b&bs in the area that let you bring a child.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NBartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    55
    12
    15
    18
See reviews for
52
67
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Wow, I can't say enough good things about The Town's Inn. My wife and I stayed there with some extended family 2 weeks ago after a long hike.

I believe it's the only lodging down in the historic part of Harpers Ferry. It's right on High St., overlooking the confluence of the two rivers, the mountains, and (conveniently) the train station. It's steps from the Appalachian Trail and right on the primary shopping/eating street in Harpers Ferry. In essence, it's where you want to be if you're visiting Harpers Ferry.

There are two adjacent 19th century homes that make up this inn: one is a bit more like a bed and breakfast while the other is more rustic and hostel-like and is the one we stayed in. Our extended family rented the entire house (the "Mountain House") which was perfect for us as there's a decent amount of common space (some board games and plenty of reading material are provided), a kitchen, and 2.5 shared baths for the whole house. The shared bathrooms were *beautiful* (slate and other exposed stone), modern, and clean. Clean washclothes and towels were provided. The kitchen was handy; the Inn offers the ingredients for make-your-own pancakes/waffles at the very reasonable rate of $1/person, which is what we did for breakfast. Free coffee, tea, and even bottled water(!) were available in the rooms. There's free wifi though we didn't use it much. Our family particularly enjoyed hanging out on the Inn's 2nd-floor balcony overlooking the historic town. It was an ideal place on which to read and shoot the breeze.

The house was gorgeous and rustic. It is decorated and maintained in a way that is accurate to its 19th century history: spare but charming. Thankfully there are window a/c units and microwaves in the bedrooms.

We felt as though we were being welcomed into the innkeeper Karan's personal home. She was happy to help in whatever ways possible; she had food recommendations, recommended a fantastic walking tour of the town, and even gave us a ride to church on Sunday. Between the 19th-century inn and the 19th-century town we truly felt transported to another place.

There are some potential negatives to be aware of. They didn't detract from our experience, but are important to note:

- Harpers Ferry is built on a rocky crag. The stairs from the parking lot up the hill to the Inn is steep. The Inn is old and there are no elevators. I'm sure Karan would do whatever she possibly could to accommodate you, but it's probably not the best place for the handicapped.

- There are no TVs in the Inn. This wasn't an issue for us but might be for some.

- I don't know about the other house, but we stayed in the more rustic Mountain House and I would say that you won't have a whole lot of privacy. The walls and floors in an old 19th century house are pretty thin.

- Trains run right through Harpers Ferry. I don't know how often they run but members of our group mentioned being awakened by at least one during the night.

We found The Town's Inn a unique experience. It was very clean, comfortable, and convenient; the shared bathrooms and lack of TV were not an issue for our group. The inn seems to be a VERY good value for an area with not very many lodging options. We found it cheaper than staying at the old Comfort Inn up the road! My wife and I will certainly be back for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Historic Inn nicely remodeled, lots of charm. Stayed in a the Mountain View room for a very good price ... less than half the cost of what is offered at B&Bs in the area. If you've ever stayed at a pension in Europe, that's what this is like. Not a lot of frills, but a nice place to sleep. We loved it. Very nice to be able to stay right next to the historic NPS area. Check out the town ghost tour at 8pm.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chezfugu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2008

We had a wonderful stay at The Town's Inn. The location in the lower town provided a perfect backdrop to be in the heart of the historic district. The innkeeper was incredibly welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the Appalacian room which had a private bath. The shower stall was made of beautiful slate. Other rooms are small, with a bathroom a couple of doors away. Many have bunk beds which would make them perfect for families. We would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Harper's Ferry.

  • Liked — Really gave a feel for being a part of the history of the town
  • Disliked — noise from the restaurant dowstairs
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank NewJerseyAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2008

This is a brand-new Inn in Harpers Ferry. It's actually two buildings next door to each other -- both of them built in the 1840s, I believe. Most of the structure is original, but it's been tenderly restored! (And the bathrooms are completely new.) Lots of great antique furnishings and personal touches.

They have a nice website with lots of pictures and details. We stayed one night in the Potomac Room in the Heritage House and enjoyed it thoroughly. The owner, Karen Townsend, is very friendly and enthusiastic about making everyone happy and comfortable. There is a cute restaurant downstairs, and you can walk to pretty much everything you would need to get to.

Note that the Inn straddles the line between hostel and Inn. (Karen says she hopes to cater to backpackers, cyclists, and families.) You can rent by the bed or by the room. This is not the place to go for the precious traveler. The stairs are steep and narrow, and the walls and doors don't provide much in the way of sound insulation. But there's free high-speed internet wifi! And there are small refrigerators and coffee makers in the rooms, with bathrobes for making the short trip down the hall to the gorgeous slate-tiled showers. If you want a really unique experience in Harpers Ferry, right in the middle of it all in gorgeous old architecture, consider Town's Inn.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank athomas24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.9 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.7 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
8.7 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town's Inn

Property: The Town's Inn
Address: 179 High Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***Rates starting at $120*** This family-friendly historic Inn (circa 1840) is located in the center of the Harpers Ferry living history village situated at the confluence of the Shenandoah and Potomac Rivers, just steps from the C&O Canal Towpath and Appalachian Trail, as well as the storybook train station served by Amtrak and MARC trains. Open from 6 a.M. - 10 P.M. Every day of the year, the restaurant on the first level of the Inn offers indoor and patio dining featuring popular cuisine, including homemade specialties and healthy options. Also on the first floor is a Sundry / Snack / Supply Shoppe which has been described as a "high-end convenience store, a mini-health food store, and an old-fashioned country store with local products." The second floor consists of two bedrooms with beautiful slate-tile private bathrooms. A parlor containing a treasure of books, toys, and games is situated on the third floor, along with another bedroom. Free WiFi is available. Step outside and enjoy river views, river sports, hiking, bicycling, museums, shopping, and more in this quaint town that is adjacent to the Harpers Ferry National Historic Park and surrounded by other national parks, farms, and Civil War battlegrounds. Although located only 60 miles from DC, the Inn is "a world away" from life in modern urban and suburban cities. We invite you to travel "over the river and through the woods to Grandmother's house" for relaxation, recreation, and retreat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing