We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay, even in the off season!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Spiral staircase to second floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dabar68
1 review
“Great place to stay, even in the off season!”
Reviewed 11 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Our house was rented through VRBO over the same weekend so we opted to get out of town. We saw the great reviews for the River keeper Inn and decided to check it out. We had a wonderful time! Since we regularly rent our property, it's always interesting to see how other people do things and we really learned a trick or two that we'll take back home with us. Great communication with the friendly owners who let us bring our two small Dachshunds with us. The amenities were perfect with plenty of room for us and the dogs. You could put up two couples with the sleeper sofa or a couple of kids. Two couples would be a little tight but you wouldn't be tripping over one another

I thought the spiral staircase was quaint and made the best use of the space. A previous reviewer commented on the smallish size of the shower but we found it more than adequate. We would definitely like to come back in the summer (our stay was in Dec) to fully enjoy all this beautiful property has to offer. Pricing was extremely reasonably and pictures do not adequately convey how beautiful it is here!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2016
Thanks so much, you guys are great. Hope to see you again some day.

Bill and Robin
Riverkeeper Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
958snow
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Serenity”
Reviewed 20 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The cottage was adorabable. The view of the river, and the sounds of nature were so relaxing. The location was a short drive to everything.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Thanks for the kind words. We enjoyed having you. Please come back again.

Bill and Robin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BmoreBlon...
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I had one happy teenaged grandson!”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My 14-year old grandson is a HUGE fishing enthusiast, and he had no problem catching fish here. The owners are VERY accommodating and friendly, the location along the Potomac is very picturesque, and the little "cottage" is adorable! The only thing that detracted from our stay was the tiny shower stall, and the very tight spiral staircase. As someone who has lower back issues, these were a bit of a challenge for me. Everything else was just wonderful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the easy access to the water, and I loved the double swing.
Liked least: I disliked the cramped conditions of the tiny shower stall. I would suggest either using a removable shower head, or installing an outside shower for the summer months.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thank you for the comments. If we changed anything, the shower will be the first. Your grandson is quite the sportsman. Hope to see you again some day.

Bill and Robin
Riverkeeper Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanjeff
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Incredible Stay!!”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My family and I has such an incredible stay at the Riverkeeper Inn! The location and views are wonderful!! We had our toddler with us and it was such a memorable trip for all of us. It was really nice having our own "house" with access to a kitchen, living room, ect. The use of the dock and kayaks made it so fun. We took our little one kayaking for the first time and he loved it! He also loved driving around in Bill's golf cart. Bill and Robin are generous hosts and we plan on making this an annual trip for our family.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Thank you for the kind remarks, we look forward to having you back. See ya next year.

Bill and Robin
Riverkeeper Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RODNEY M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great 30th Anniversary "Honeymoon"!”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Pictures cannot do justice to the awesome beauty of this riverfront experience! While this property does not offer the seclusion of a mountain cabin, it is located in a very attractive, quiet, private, riverfront neighborhood. And while the cottage is part of a newly renovated 2-car garage situated near the owners' main house, it is very cozy and accommodating and a couple dozen steps puts you on the gorgeous riverbank.

My wife and I came from 2 hours away for our 30th wedding anniversary getaway, and spent a couple of days touring nearby Harpers Ferry and the surrounding river region. But the highlight was relaxing on the double rope-seat swing on the quiet deck by the river as the sun set over the mirror-smooth water. The waterfowl honked their 'goodnights' while the frogs and crickets joined the chorus. The flashing of the fireflies complimented the winking stars in the darkening sky. It was even dark enough to spot an occasional satellite drifting silently in it's orbit.

Owners, Bill and Robin were excellent in making sure that we had everything that we needed for a comfortable and memorable stay, while remaining "invisible" most of the time that we were there. They graciously accommodated our children and grandchildren who came by for an evening with us by the river. "Captain Bill" gave us a wonderful guided boat-tour of several miles of pristine, unspoiled Potomac splendor. The memories we each took with us from that evening will linger for a lifetime!!

We definitely hope to return to Riverkeeper Inn....maybe even make it a yearly tradition.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pictures cannot do justice to the gorgeous riverfront accommodations and experience!
Liked least: After our initial surprise of the cottage being a renovated garage behind the owners' main house, which sits between the cottage and the river.....everything was great!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Thank you very much. It is an awesome feeling seeing how we can impact people lives, by producing smiles, happiness and joy. See you next year.

Bill and Robin
Riverkeeper Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocoa8432
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Cozy and up to date guesthouse with great access to Potomac River”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Great access to Potomac River whether to kayak or to sit by the river and read. Biked the C & O canal towpath along the Potomac from Shepherdstown into Harper's Ferry for lunch, and back again in the afternoon. Enjoyed museums in Harper's Ferry, the Antietiem Battlefield, kayaking on the Potomac, and quiet, restorative evenings sitting by the river. The guest house is behind the main house, but still has some views of the river. Great for two people and very comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Thank you that was very nice of you. So glad you were able to take advantage of all we have to offer. Please come back.

Bill and Robin
Riverkeeper Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rschex
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My Husband and I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend(to avoid the crazy beach traffic) for our "Baby Moon" as I was 6 months pregnant and we were pleasantly surprised at this little oasis in WV. We had been to Harper's Ferry before but never realized the river could get so wide and deep. You can go for a swim, through a fishing line off their dock, float down the river on tubes, take out the 2 person kayak, or just hang out and enjoy the views. For a holiday weekend, it was not too crowded or busy. The sleeping quarters is a newly renovated detached garage converted into 2 level guest house. Comfortable bed, clean and updated, kitchenette has everything you need- We only ate out once. They even had an Italian espresso machine!

There's lots to do in the area, river adventures, fishing, zip lining, Casino, Shepherdstown, and much more so whether you just want to sit by the riverside and go out and explore, you will not be disappointed here!

The owners Robin & Bill were very accommodating and provided any help or information we may have needed while there. Great people and wonderful place. We will definitely be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words. Hope to see you again some day.

Best regards,
Bill and Robin
Riverkeeper Inn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing