We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay in Harpers Ferry” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jackson Rose B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Jackson Rose B & B
Ranked #1 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Juneau, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in Harpers Ferry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We have been visiting Harpers Ferry for years but had never stayed the night. I found the Jackson Rose while searching for places to stay. I am very happy we chose it. The owners were very nice but not intrusive. We had a beautiful room, the Linden, and had access to the other areas of the home, the living room, porch, and a TV room which we didn't use. The breakfast was delicious and the company of the other table mates was something to look forward to. We will definitely be returning someday!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
139
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Jackson Rose during a getaway weekend to Harpers Ferry in May, and we absolutely loved it. Our room was very comfortable and secluded, and each morning's breakfast was incredibly delicious. There were homemade muffins and biscuits, still hot, and delicious lemon crepes with a fruit topping...and plentiful coffee. Deb and her husband are wonderful. We really enjoyed talking with the other guests (two other couples), too -- they were a lot of fun.

The B & B was a bit of a hike from downtown, but we enjoyed the exercise. When we would come back from a long day out, there would be something fantastic waiting for us at the B & B, like homemade ginger snaps and sherry. Amazing! It was also nice to be very close to two good restaurants for dinner, the Canal House and the Anvil, each a short walk away. We made use of the Jackson's Rose's great movie and game selection, too -- we took some Trivial Pursuit cards to our room and had a great time with the nostalgia.

I highly recommend the Jackson Rose!

Room Tip: While the Garrett Room involves more stairs and is smaller than the others, it's secluded and re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

We arrived hot, tired and stressed after a difficult time at Dulles. An hour after arrival the wonderful welcome, along with fresh lemonade and home made cookies, as well the serenity of our cool bedroom restored our energy and enthusiasm.
We stayed for 4 nights and each morning the breakfast was exceptionally good. One of the advantages of staying in a well-run B & B is the local knowledge the owners can give you, such as where to eat and where to park. Deb and Phil helped us get the most from the area.
Harpers Ferry is a lovely place to visit, and it is possible to walk into town and back from the B & B.
So, a lovingly restored house in a historic town, with exceptional hospitality and food. What more could one desire?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gibjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

This lovely B&B was a sheer delight in every aspect. The late 18th century home has been beautifully and faithfully restored, and is warm and welcoming in every way. Deb & Phil are available when needed but never intrusive, so we felt like we were in our own home (with a few other house guests.). We were offered cold drinks and a small snack when we arrived, which made unpacking less of a chore. Even though all the rooms were filled with other guests, it was very quiet at night; the rooms must be very sound proof. There are no TVs in the bedroom, but a large one was in the cozy study. We enjoyed not having one so temptingly available, but if you have to have one in your own room, you won't be happy with this aspect.

The breakfasts were wonderful! Plenty to eat (too much?) and VERY tasty. Homemade jams and muffins, fresh garden peaches that were so juicy, tasty omelets, etc. Deb and Phil both do the cooking and obviously know how to do it well. The bed was comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. By the way, we were visiting during a serious heat wave, but this B&B was kept properly air conditioned and exceedingly comfortable. Such a delight to return to at the end of a hot day.

The inn is a short walk (1mile) from the Harpers Ferry historical area and National Park, for those who like to stroll. We parked in the park parking lots and took the shuttle.

We will DEFINITELY return to the lovely Jackson Rose!

Room Tip: We had the best room, called the Jackson Rose room. It was certainly wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

This bed and breakfast was absolutely exceptional. The building itself and it's gardens are such a beautiful site to see, and the interior is also a pleasure to experience, but beyond that what makes this B+B so memorable are the hosts.

Phil and Deb were incredibly nice and warm, genuinely good energy. The breakfasts they serve here were the best I've ever had in any B+B or hotel I've been to. My girlfriend and I had come here as a relaxing getaway, but since we are active people, we couldn't help but exhaust ourselves each of the four days we had stayed, but every time we had a chance to interact with the hosts, there was a genuine positive interest in our experience with our entire trip. On the last morning, while savoring yet another incredible breakfast, Deb had asked if we had heard of a band/song that reminded her of Brooklyn (since we are from Brooklyn) we told her we hadn't unfortunately and thought that was the end of the conversation, yet a couple minutes afterword we start to hear a very beautiful song subtly playing in the background, and realized Deb or Phil had actually put it on for us to enjoy! It was such a heart warming experience... not to even mention the freshly baked cookies Deb had given us in the middle of our third day there while we were trying to rush to a local battlefield for a re-enactment...

Maybe I shouldn't mention this for future customers (sorry Phil), but Phil even in the very beginning while I was first trying to reserve a room months in advance, was gracious enough to work out a bulk package deal with me, knowing I was on a budget but would spend more than a couple of nights there. Thank you Phil.

This B+B is just phenomenal on so many levels, and the culture of the gracious hosts just absolutely warmed our hearts. We would without hesitation comeback to Harper's Ferry just to stay at the Jackson Rose!!!

Thanks again Deb and Phil and we hope to see you again!

-Patrick W

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus,ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

This was our first trip to Harpers Ferry and my husband and I were truly impressed with the B&B. The history behind the house is fascinating and it's been beautifully restored to reflect the Civil War time period. We stayed in the Jackson Rose room which is in the front of the home overlooking the front yard and street. It was very quiet and comfortable and roomy. Knowing that "Stonewall" Jackson actually stayed in this room while using the home as headquarters made it all the more interesting. The two common areas are comfortable and inviting. Phil and Deb were extremely interesting and gracious hosts. Deb's breakfast was delicious; homemade muffins, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, sausage, fried potatoes, and toast plus juice and coffee. We would highly recommend this B&B...another huge plus, they have onsite parking and plenty of it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakelover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Phil treated me to a little tour of his B & B when I arrived. I was exploring the Civil War and was curious about what daily life might have been like "back in the day". This was easy to imagine here in this excellently restored (neat & clean) house. Plus my hosts had put a looseleaf book on the desk in the Stonewall Jackson room where I stayed that had a detailed history of their house and a mini bio of Stonewall Jackson. Included in this book was a "Things to Do" list of nearby wineries and directions to the Harper's Ferry National Park which was located just down the road. Rangers there provide a shuttle bus to the historically restored town (a "must see"). Deb's breakfast, served by Phil, was delightful - there were homemade biscuits and homemade jams, omelets and good coffee - Deb and Phil are warm and friendly hosts and I look forward to returning to their B & B.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBD270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
2.4 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
6.3 mi away
Carriage Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jackson Rose B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jackson Rose B & B

Property: The Jackson Rose B & B
Address: 1167 W. Washington Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Region: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1795 Federal-style home listed on the National Register. Original heart of pine wood floors, high ceilings and warm ambience takes one back to simpler times. Full lavish breakfast, private baths, queen-size beds. A comfortable and quiet retreat from daily cares. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing