We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Jackson Rose B & B
Ranked #1 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

After searching and reading reviews of about every B&B in the Harpers Ferry area, I settled on The Jackson Rose to surprise my boyfriend with a weekend getaway. The Jackson Rose was the perfect spot tucked away from the lower town area. It is beautiful, well maintained, and quiet.

Phil and Deb are wonderful host who make sure that you are enjoying your stay without being intrusive. They are a great help to understand what to see in the area when you don't do much research beforehand. They also provide a wonderful, home cooked breakfast each morning that will fill you up for a day on the trails and in town.

I definitely recommend The Jackson Rose as a place to stay, and we will hopefully return for a visit there in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garrett Room - it's the third floor with a very comfortable bed and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
143
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

If you're going to Harpers Ferry, why wouldn't you want to sleep where Gen. Stonewall Jackson slept? The Jackson Rose (ask the proprietors the story behind the name) is a beautiful ante-bellum home a short walk from the historic downtown. (You may want to skip the nearby Anvil restaurant, though.)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inmaineforanight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

What can I add to what's already been said? Great hospitality in a fine old house - the icing on the cake was staying in the room where Stonewall Jackson once stayed. Our only regret is that we only spent one night at the Jackson Rose!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is an excellent B&B. It was clean, nicely decorated, and the food was wonderful. I believe everything was homemade--even the spreads for the bread. We really cannot stress the quality of the food enough. The proprietors obviously know what they are doing, and they do it well. Not only were the breakfasts among the best we have had, but the afternoon snacks were delicious (and a welcome suprise) as well. The owners are more than willing to provide recommendations and answer questions, and pay attention to every detail--right down to nice music during breakfast. We will certainly be returning and telling others to check it out as well. Can't go wrong with this B&B!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. Our stay could not have been better. The owners, Deb and Phil were the perfect hosts! They gave us some great suggestions on places to visit around the local area. The Harpers Ferry area has a tremendous amount of charm and history.
The Inn is historical and charming.
The breakfast that Deb and Phil served each day was nothing less than amazing. Homemade muffins, jam, and syrup! They incorporated fruit from their yard into the meals. Delicious! I would highly recommend the Jackson Rose for a great stay in wonderful Harpers Ferry!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddy021807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield Peverel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We had one night at this lovely bed and breakfast in Harpers Ferry and we wished it could have been more.
Deb and Phil are great hosts, they made us feel so welcome.
Comfortable bed and fantastic breakfast, the muffins are just something else!
Roy the dog is very friendly and is quite willing to pose for photographs!
If you are staying in Harpers Ferry please check out this accommodation as it is perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

My partner and I recently stayed here during our travels to the states and had a wonderful stay. Phil and Deb are very helpful and genuinely take an interest in their guests and the quality of their stay. Our few days here were the best of our trip and I'd recommend staying here to anyone. Just this morning I caught myself day dreaming of the wonderful breakfasts we were greeted with each morning!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
2.5 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
8.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jackson Rose B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jackson Rose B & B

Property: The Jackson Rose B & B
Address: 1167 W. Washington Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Region: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1795 Federal-style home listed on the National Register. Original heart of pine wood floors, high ceilings and warm ambience takes one back to simpler times. Full lavish breakfast, private baths, queen-size beds. A comfortable and quiet retreat from daily cares. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing