We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immediately booked my next stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Jackson Rose B & B
Ranked #1 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I may have found the perfect option for stress-free travel to DC. I booked my first stay based on other reviews and was happy to find everything precisely as perfect as promised. The train station is less than five minutes away, and the 6:50 train gets you to DC in time for 9:00 meetings--without navigating beltway traffic. I've stayed upstairs and it's quiet and comfortable. I'm sure I'll be back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Halfiron02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed one night at the Jackson Rose and really enjoyed the history of the building and the incredible hospitality of Deb and Phil. They (and their great dog, Roy) were friendly, welcoming, and made us feel welcome. We're really glad that we decided on the Jackson Rose and will stay there again if we return to Harpers Ferry.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We were picked up at the train station by Phil who gave us a brief over view of Harper's Ferry on the drive to The Jackson Rose. Deb showed us to our room and soon returned with wine and nuts for us to enjoy while we settled in. Breakfast both mornings was fantastic and we also took delight in the sherry and ginger snap cookies still warm from the oven which appeared on the dining table late Saturday afternoon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My wife and I recently visited Harpers Ferry and chose to stay at the Jackson Rose B&B due to its historical significance. Being a former history teacher, I requested from Deb (her and her husband Phil are outstanding hosts!) the Jackson Rose Room which is where "Stonewall" Jackson stayed during the spring of '61. It was already reserved but we were still glad to be able to stay at the house. To our surprise, upon arrival, Deb lead us to the Jackson Rose Room and shared that "another couple canceled their plans and I knew you wanted to stay here." So we got to stay there after all.

The B&B is very well done and a beautiful place inside and out. The room was fantastic in comfort and decor. Our two night stay was superb as we shared the place with a nice couple from Philadelphia who stayed on the same floor. We had a shared TV room on the same floor and a shared living room with fireplace downstairs that Deb graciously started a fire in as we perused some books about the Civil War. Each room has its own small bath.

Though our stay was in December, the property was still gorgeous. We hope to go back sometime in the summer or Fall to see everything in full bloom. Again, it was still an amazing stay. Deb and Phill served breakfast each morning as we, and our visiting neighbors, had fruit, handmade muffins, French toast and juice on morning one and fruit, handmade muffins, sausage and omelets on morning two. They did a fantastic job as both breakfasts were delicious.

The home is less than 1/2 mile from historic Lower Harpers Ferry and within a 30 minute drive to Antietam Battlefield and historic Shepherdstown. The Harpers Ferry Battlefield is within a couple minutes drive.

It was like stepping back in time and made our weekend in Harpers Ferry that much more meaningful. We read many of the comments left behind in the memory book in the room and NOT ONE person made a single negative comment about the Jackson Rose.

It was worth every penny! We will stay there any time we return to visit Harpers Ferry.

Thanks to Deb and Phil for a great getaway!

Room Tip: All rooms are similar as if you are living in the 1860s. The Jackson Rose Room is a bit more special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We really enjoyed the friendly welcome and delicious breakfast. The history of the Jackson Rose was clearly represented. Our room was nicely decorated in the historic period. Everything went well during our stay. Deb and Phil are excellent hosts. We hope to return to a truly wonderful B & B experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jackson room facing the rose garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very nice, very historic B&B just outside of Harpers Ferry, WV. It's a short drive or a medium walk down hill to the town. Hosts were very pleasant, engaged in making the stay enjoyable and then staying out of the way. Breakfasts were excellent and there were some very good cookies waiting when we got back in the evening.We were there out of season, but it was still a very enjoyable time. But be forewarned: the Jackson Rose is the highlight of the trip. There isn't much in Harpers Ferry or the surrounding area unless you like the local history and a tour of Antietam battle field. If you are a hiker or biker you will be well rewarded. There is the casino in nearby Charles Town, but it is a sad, sad place. Even nearer Shepherdstown is more enjoyable even though it is smaller, probably because it is a college town. A little longer car ride will take you to Frederick MD, and there are some vineyards over the border in Virginia. If you are going to the area, stay at the Jackson Rose.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are fine, but if private TV is important to you, get the Garret room. We did not ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drynoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We recently spent two great nights at the Jackson Rose. We were pleased to be in the Garret Room at the very top of the house, which is very private and has plenty of space to spread out. Deb and Phil are wonderful hosts...Deb's breakfasts are just incredible! Very sophisticated and elegant while still being down-home delicious. The weather turned cold while we were there, but our room was cozy even as the wind blew around the house. Harper's Ferry has lots to see, our only complaint is the lack of good restaurants. We had a good dinner at the Anvil one night and then rode over to the Mediterranean Café in nearby Charles Town for our second night. Sadly, we had to cut our trip short but would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FITravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
308 reviews
8.2 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
0.7 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Harpers Ferry
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jackson Rose B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jackson Rose B & B

Address: 1167 W. Washington Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
Region: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range: £83 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1795 Federal-style home listed on the National Register. Original heart of pine wood floors, high ceilings and warm ambience takes one back to simpler times. Full lavish breakfast, private baths, queen-size beds. A comfortable and quiet retreat from daily cares. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing