We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Cozy Anniversary Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Ridge Hollow B&B
Ranked #7 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for our 3rd anniversary for one night in the upstairs room. It was like staying in a friend's house, but not in a creepy way :). It was such a comfortable place. The furnishings, the vibe, the hosts, everything. And the food was delicious. When we come next time, we want to stay in the room downstairs which looks fantastic.

Room Tip: There is no pool or fitness center :). We stayed upstairs in the Nest Room, which was so beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneChildress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

The pictures far from do this incredible bed and breakfast justice. Absolutely amazing room, which was larger than any hotel. They cooked us a delicious breakfast each morning and provided the paper and great coffee. Enjoyable conversation and plenty of ideas of things to do in the area. I was very unsure of the whole bed and breakfast idea, but would highly highly recommend them! I plan to return again shortly. One of the best weekend trips I've ever had!! Lisa & Doug

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Husband and I stayed in the Forest Suite for our anniversary weekend, and we were so pleased with everything about our time at this B&B. It is an entire floor of the house and includes a back entrance, porch with two comfortable hammocks, large living room with television and pool table, bath (with shower, no tub), queen bed, and sauna.

The house is just over 1 mile from lower town Harpers Ferry. We walked a lot, enjoyed tasty breakfasts made by Peggy, and slept well.

Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candomama2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My girlfriend and I took a few days to get away and decided to stay at West Ridge Hollow. It was the best decision we could have made. We were lucky to stay in the Forest Room which is the entire lower level. The sauna was awesome as well as the hammocks on the deck. Peggy made the most amazing breakfast. Fresh fruit, yogurt and granola, delicious french toast and sausage the first morning. The second morning we had fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, sausage, mini cheese quesadillas, avocado and fresh pico de gallo. French press coffee in the mornings as well. The perfect start to the day. Peggy and Jay were fantastic, so easy to talk to and never made us feel that we were imposing. We were a little skeptical of the bed (we have never slept on a tempurpedic mattress) but we were pleasantly surprised. We slept so well!! I have nothing bad to say about our stay at West Ridge Hollow. From the room to our hosts (including Bones the dog) to the location and scenery, everything was perfect. We plan on going back next year.

Room Tip: You won't find anything better than the Forest Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the downstairs room.......which is actually the entire lower level of the house. There is an area with a pool table, couches and flat screen TV which leads out to a deck with 2 inviting hammocks. From there one can take a few steps to a walking trail located behind the house. There is a room with a sauna, full size fridge, utility sink, a couple of chairs with a counter/cabinet. The bed is very comfortable and there is a large closet in the bedroom. Honestly, there was so much space and all of it immaculate!
We had french toast one morning and eggs the other....very tasty and served up with the day's Washington Post.
Peggy and Jay are very friendly and helpful in explaining what things are available to do in the area. The location of the B&B is in a quiet neighborhood and just a 15 minute walk to the historic area. Peggy even offered to do a small bit of laundry for us! The Canal House and Anvil Restaurants are just a short walking distance from the house.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fly_momFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We had not had a weekend away since our first child was born, five years ago. This was the best trip for quality time away. We were greeted with kindness and shown great hospitality. We stayed in the Forest room, which was perfect. The mattress was so comfortable and every room was spotless. The pictures of West Ridge Hollow on the website do not do the place justice. It was much more than what is shown in the photos. The breakfasts were awesome, as was the company. Not to mention the beauty of Harpers Ferry and the C and O canal. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saralyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This was our first experience staying at a B&B. We spent a long weekend at West Ridge Hollow in the Forest Room, which is actually a very large suit of rooms. Peggy and Jay were very welcoming and gracious hosts. Peggy's breakfasts were yummy...especially the blueberry pancakes! The room(s) were very clean, large and comfortable, especially the bed. I slept like I would sleep at home, it was so comfortable.

Our stay was very peaceful and relaxing and we would definitely do it again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harpers Ferry hotels
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
282 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Light Horse Inn
Light Horse Inn
#5 of 11 in Harpers Ferry
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Town's Inn
The Town's Inn
#8 of 11 in Harpers Ferry
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Harpers Ferry
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Ridge Hollow B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Ridge Hollow B&B

Address: 1250 W Ridge St, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425-7046
Region: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range: £64 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the quiet of a forested hollow. The rest of the Historic Park is steps away. John Brown. Appalachian Trail. C & O towpath. Murphy's Farm. Loudoun County wine country is just a short drive! Or just sit on one of our porches in the forest canopy. If you're lucky you'll see foxes playing on Bolivar Run below our house. Se Habla Espanol! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing