We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for Civil War discovery!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harpers Ferry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We did a Civil War trip and visited lots of battlefields in the area, so this KOA was a great base for Harpers Ferry, Antietam, Monocacy, Gettysburg and Manassas. We had a great stay . It was a lovely area and we could walk to the Harpers Ferry National Historic Park, which we also really enjoyed! Only issue was the change machine in the laundry room was not working, and once we were settled at our RV site we didn't feel like heading back out to get change somewhere else. So we were perturbed about that, but the next morning everyone was so friendly it was hard to be mad at them. They had a roll of quarters for us and we did laundry the next night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyK643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Affordable and gorgeous setting. Great value for families. I rented a deluxe 1 room cabin for myself and my 3 children, which was perfect for us. We stayed 2 nights and went to the pancake breakfast. Very friendly and fun atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamacarla3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My girlfriend and I went with some friends at the end of October and had a good time. The grounds were clean and so were the bathrooms, I couldn't comment on the showers as we had only stayed one night. It's a very relaxed environment and that includes the staff, we didn't see anyone actually monitoring the grounds which was fine but some people have a problem with rules not being enforced if other sites get too loud or rowdy, which did happen but we like seeing people have a good time so it didn't bother us.

Now, I've read the reviews for KOA and one of the biggest complaints was how close most of these sites are to each other but I thought "how bad could it really be?" Well, these people weren't wrong, it's a bit ridiculous. We arrived after our friends had already set up the tents and upon arrival I was puzzled and said "Why do you have 3 tents?" in which the response was "We don't, meet our neighbors." It literally overlapped our site. Camping never sucks when you're in good company but sharing space with strangers? Just hope you get a good neighbor. Overall, the people were respectful, polite and we didn't have any issues but due to space, it's not my first camping choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K_The_Hon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

There are so many things for kids to do. Weekend before Halloween is a blast! The staff is incredibly nice except for the teen who oversees the bouncy pillow. She is nasty to adults and kids alike. Beware! But everyone else could not be any nicer. Free pancakes and great list of activities. We are going to come again next year making it our third year in a row. Highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank joeybagz312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

KAO is the kind of place that is geared towards kids; with unlimited access to the pool, movies, miniture gold (although the turf in in poor condition), bouncy house, and other amenities, it is a kid's paradise. Having written this, it is not such a wonderful camping experience. The sites are in extremely close proximity to one another (this cannot be understated) and it is dense with people. For people who want to experience nature, this might not be a good fit. However, if you get outside the sire, the trails in the area are unparalleled.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DevelopmentWorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is one of our favorite campgrounds. We stayed for four nights over the holiday weekend and did not have any problems. There are plenty of things to do in the area. Crowded? Yes gotta expect that on a holiday. Noisy? Not anymore than you would expect. Rough roads? Yes- it is in the woods and is a rustic location which we love. The condition of the roads is what slows vehicles down which we appreciate as the grandchildren are riding bikes and walking around.no complaints about the staff. Some of the sites could be better but that's true everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyandPat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The Harpers Ferry area is great. There are so many things to do. The campground is okay. Our RV site and those around us did not drain well when we had rain. They have a nice pool and several activities for the kids. The daily fee is near the highest we have paid anywhere and we have visited many nice campgrounds over the past several years. But it doesn't stop there. Add on daily activity fees for children and adults, daily pet fee, daily extra car fee, etc. It soon adds up to make a pretty expensive stay.They do not honor Good Sam and you pay the daily rate even when you stay for the whole week. Plan on it being crowded on the weekends. In spite of the high prices it is still pretty popular. Since it is the only campground this close to Harpers Ferry, we think it is worth it to visit the Harpers Ferry area. It is a pretty neat place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harpers Ferry hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
282 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Town's Inn
The Town's Inn
#8 of 11 in Harpers Ferry
201 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Light Horse Inn
Light Horse Inn
#5 of 11 in Harpers Ferry
48 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Armory Quarters
Armory Quarters
#3 of 5 in Harpers Ferry
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harpers Ferry / Civil War Battlefields KOA

Address: 343 Campground Rd, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425-5168
Phone Number:
Region: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Harpers Ferry
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Harpers Ferry Koa Hotel Harpers Ferry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing