We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel of a place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 11 Harpers Ferry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Hubby surprised me for our wedding anniversary with a trip to Harper's Ferry. Tony and Cheri definately have a wonderful gem in Camp Hill. We stayed in the Carriage House which is large and spacious with a full kitchen. Fall is our favorite time of year and everything inside and out was decorated for the season. The accomodations were very clean and homey. Cheri advised us to crank up the AC since it was very warm for October. Tony had many suggestions of places to eat and things to do. They are just a short walk to the Appalachian trail. Tony gives you many selections for breakfast, and we opted for the famous blueberry pancakes! They did not dissapoint! And Cheri's fruit dish was so pretty we hated to eat it... but it too was phenominal! If you are looking for a quaint, quiet, relaxing place...this is definitely for you! We will be making this an annual trip!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emgraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

My Dad and I stayed in the Carriage Suite (as we wanted separate bedrooms) and we absolutely wanted to be in Harpers Ferry. The suite was exactly what we needed and then some. Tony was great, he let us leave our bikes on his back porch so we didn't have to crowd our suite and breakfast was incredible! The only (very, very small) downside was that the beds weren't exactly hotel beds. Fortunately, we had done enough hiking and biking that we didn't care. We would definitely return!!!

Room Tip: Carriage suite was big enough for two adults. more and it might have been a little cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed as part of a group on a Pittsburgh to Washington, DC bike trip. We loved the accommodations, and the breakfast was fantastic. More than that, though is Tony, the owner. He did everything imaginable to help us out, including advising us about local take-out food (we were in no shape to bike to a restaurant!), and accommodating the extra two people who joined our group at the last minute. I feel like I have a friend in Harper's Ferry now.

The location is not quite ideal for bike travelers. It felt like a long, steep way uphill from the C&O Canal to Camp Hill. Maybe the "Hill" in the name should have forewarned us. We made it, but it meant walking our bikes a fair distance, as it was too steep to ride. Of course, it was a breeze on the way back to the canal the next morning.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My now-husband and I stayed here for three nights as our honeymoon and we just loved it! Tony is a wonderful host- considerate, friendly, and helpful. He pointed out things we could do and recommended shops when we decided to go antiquing. Also, he's an excellent cook! Day one we had pancakes and bacon, day two was eggs, bacon, and toast, and day three we opted for waffles and bacon (I don't like sausage, but that's an option as well). Every meal was accompanied by fresh fruit and orange juice. He serves whenever you would like, so if you're not an early riser that's okay. We enjoyed chatting with him sitting outside on the porch but he never pried or made us feel like he was watching us. The rooms were clean and homey with all of the amenities you could need. Even the comforter on the bed smelled clean, which impressed me because so often those things are neglected. We would definitely stay here again, maybe for our anniversary!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scarlett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We loved everything about Camp Hill. I stayed with my wife and two adult children on our family vacation to the D.C., Virginia, West Virginia, Maryland, and southern Pennsylvania areas. We rented the Carriage House which was perfect for our needs. It is in reality a small house with bedroom, loft, kitchen, living room, and dining area. Tony was the perfect host and the breakfast was amazing...we especially enjoyed the blueberry pancakes. My adult son was recovering from ACL surgery. When Tony found out we wanted to go to mass and that the walk would be too much of a challenge for our son, he took all four of us personally and picked us up after the service, which is really above and beyond the call for an innkeeper. We truly appreciated it. If you have never been to Harper's Ferry, you will find it charming and beautiful as we did. We plan on coming back for a fall trip at some point and will stay at Camp Hill again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUV99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here for a three day weekend this past weekend, and enjoyed it very much. Tony seemed like a really nice guy, cooked us a great breakfast both mornings, and helped us find several places around town that we'd like to explore. Would definitely stay here again, thanks for putting us up!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weezulman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My husband and I just got back today from a 2 night stay for our anniversary. We had an amazing time!

First we stayed in the carriage house. It was perfect. The size, the open big doors, a fridge, the amazing yard that was perfect to have my morning coffee in.

Second Tony made sure we felt welcome and was a huge help in picking restaurants and hiking trails. Even suggested a book for me to read when he saw I was a reader.

Breakfast was super yummy... we do not like too fancy a breakfast and it was just great home cooking. The blueberry pancakes were out of this world and the fruit dish his wife makes was fabulous.

We will be back!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harpers Ferry
1.5 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
304 reviews
8.4 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Knights inn Knoxville Harpers Ferry
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
0.3 mi away
The Ledge House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast

Address: 701 Washington Street, At McDowell Street, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425-6998
Region: United States > West Virginia > Harpers Ferry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Harpers Ferry
Price Range: £118 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully equipped two private suites / vacation rental apartments. We are family friendly. Located in the Historic District of central Harper's Ferry. The Carriage House is a large unit with private entrance, two beds, full bathroom, kitchen, living room, and dining room area. The Trundle is an economy unit with private entrance, queen size bed, full bathroom, and kitchenette. The gorgeous shared yard has a picnic table and swing to enjoy the summer weather. There's internet access & cable television. A good breakfast is delivered to your suite according to your selections from a menu! Come tour American History, hike the Appalachian Trail, bike the C&O Canal, see nature's wonders, and access Washington, DC by commuter rail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Lily Garden Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Hill Hotel Harpers Ferry
Camp Hill Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing